Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south africa

Conveniently situated and easy access to transport

Posted May 5, 2016
Pros: Location to public transport , town center
Cons: No hot water from shower only Luke warm and central heating makes the room very stuffy and could not be turned down.
Location: Shops nearby cater for all that I require
Good breakfast, comfortable beds, the shower in my room did not get hot, but otherwise fine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Tired old building but central

Posted Apr 15, 2016
Pros: The staff.
Cons: As I wrote above - the breakfast. Not a lot too ask!
Location: Central, but we were not there on a break, so sightseeing and activities were not on our itinerary.
The reception staff were superb, as were the waiting staff. The Queen room was a good size as were the beds. The breakfast let the whole show down. On both days, the fruit juice dispensers were almost empty. The trays of bakery product were almost empty. This was at around 8:am. The cooked breakfast was really disappointing. The bacon was so dry it was almost inedible. Hartlepool is lacking in quality hotel facilities. This hotel would have scored decent points just by serving an honest breakfast, cooked properly and offering value for money. If that was significantly improved, we would stay there again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Nice hotel, friendly staff, FREE parking (at weekends) and ideally situated for Hartlepool FC . Great value
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: Central location, but not too noisy to sleep.
Location: Shopping centre over the road. Plenty of places to eat nearby. Historic Quay in walking distance.
Visiting family in County Durham. Massive bed and very spacious room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Nice old building, very clean. Basic but reasonably priced for what you get.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester UK

Good in general

Posted Apr 3, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, bed comfort
Cons: The shower and deep fried mushrooms (Why?) at breakfast
Location: the adjoining Indian restaurant was absolutely superb.
I stayed here while on business in the area and was pleasantly surprised after my last stay here. However in the first room I was allocated, the wi-fi didn't work. I reported the issue and was moved to a room where the wi-fi was ok. The room was pleasant and spacious; the bed was comfortable and the shower was definitely an improvement on the last time although still not very powerful. The breakfast was also a big improvement on my previous experience. All good except for the deep fried mushrooms. All the staff I dealt with were very nice and the adjoining Indian restaurant was absolutely superb.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northants

lovely old building - in need of refurbishment

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Bedroom was nicely furnished and bed was comfortable.
Cons: Water heater could be improved- although mentioned to staff on Monday it was worse 24 hours later!
Location: Located in central Hartlepool within easy walking distance of some very good restaurants and other local amenities
hotel as described however could do with a refurbishment - shower was not very powerful and water was cold on both days was resident. Service was slow although staff were friendly and polite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Nice hotel close to football and town

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Beautiful rooms, good size, good breakfast, really friendly staff, good parking. Only slight negative is the room was a bit too warm but otherwise it was spacious, comfy, perfect.
1 out of 5
by Wedn from Yorkshire

3 days of heat from broken radiators do not go!

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: The furnishings are really nice
Cons: While I understand this is an old hotel, It does need to come with a health and safety warning if you are thinking about booking ring and check before
Location: Main town, which is rather run down, yet close and easy to access Marina.
I have just returned from a recent business trip and have stayed at this hotel which I really like, however the heating is broken and the room temperatures and corridors are around 45 celsius which is just over 100 degrees!!!!!
5 out of 5
by Win&bob from Richmond North Yorkshire

Grand at The Grand

Posted Jun 19, 2014
Pros: Hotel ideally situated for all local attractions. ( Free car parking close to hotel)
Cons: A key for lift ( to access basement restaurant from bedroom floors) for hotel guests would be helpful.
Location: Near the sea -marina - museums - shopping centre- Close to countryside -not far from Durham
Welcoming check in by lovely receptionist Amanda. Waiting and bar staff all polite and obliging. Beds very comfortable. Rooms clean and tidy.