Ratings based on 25 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will stay here again

Posted Aug 11, 2015 on Hotels
Very friendly, welcoming staff. Very decent food and hotel comfortable although rooms rather elderly and in need of some redecoration.
3 out of 5
by Gina from Leeds

Very expensive for a poor quality nights sleep

Posted Aug 1, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed here after a wedding at the nearby Rockliffe hall, which is less than a mile down the road. Hotel VERY expensive for what it is - you do not even get breakfast. The room was large and clean, however the floor was very uneven which was interesting after a few wines! Upon entering the room it smelt like a fish and chip shop due to the window being wide open straight above a working kitchen. Terrible nights sleep due to noise in the hotel, there is 0 insulation in the walls. Every time you flushed the loo or turned on the tap the pipes made an unnecessary amount of noise and banging. This could also be heard if your neighbour did the same. Reception staff seemed stressed and unapproachable. Pro of the hotel is that it only took us 15-20 mins to walk back from Rockliffe and the surrounding area is lovely.
4 out of 5
by Grant from Scarborough

Posted Jul 30, 2015 on Hotels
Room was noisy in morning due to being next to a main road and no double glazing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from V

Somewhat jaded but near to Darlington City.

Posted Jul 11, 2015
This hotel has recently changed ownership. The availability of menus seem to be an issue. What food was listed, might not be complete or available. I could not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by John from Windsor

Good value but needs TLC

Posted Jun 10, 2015 on Hotels
Good value, large room and bath, a bit scruffy round the edges. Small TV, hard bed, free wi-fi, tea/coffee in room. Great value food and drinks although closed at 8pm on Sunday and only served fixed price menu, no a la carte. God priced drinks and friendly young staff. Nice freshly cooked breakfast only complaint no fresh fruit only dried.mgoid parking easy to find. Nothing nearby.
3 out of 5
by robert from Manchester

Fair do's.

Posted Jun 7, 2015 on Hotels
Felt like I was in a hotel in Blackpool. Staff were very nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2015
Ask for a room facing the rear if you want a quiet room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Good location, comfortable accommodation.

Posted May 4, 2015
Welcoming staff, very spacious rooms. However, breakfast was very poor, as was the attitude of the chef. For this reason I would not recommend this hotel to a friend. Sack the chef and I would be willing to try staying again.
4 out of 5
by Bill

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 27, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not a gastro pub - slept on a camp bed

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: beds, food
Location: location fab and the golf club food was amazing - should have just stayed there
advertised as a gastro pub - this is was certainly not - oh sorry we have changed and dont do food like this anymore - even though on their web page it says GASTRO PUB. Also we booked a room for 3 people and we got a double bed and a camp bed Wedding at the hotel that wekend so no where to sit at the bar - was not advised a wedding was taking place in the public areas. Emailed the hotel twice about or disapoinment and we did not get a reply