Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, quaint hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Lovely, friendly staff. Only negative was being charged for checking in two hours early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Great, well priced, hotel in a great location.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
The hotel is a great little find, tucked away. The castle is a good drawcard too. Great for overnight stays or if considering a stop mid point around scotch corner for example. The room we had was a twin. It didn't have a fridge and was minimal in terms of cupboards for clothes but good hangers/hanging space. Comfortable beds as well. The breakfast was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Yorkshire

Very nice short stay at Walworth Castle Hotel

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Lovely and quiet, nice setting, nice and warm despite cold weather outside.
Cons: A little attention to detail in our room. The central heating was turned down so the room was cold when we went in. The loo roll holder was loose.
Location: We visited Eggleston garden, Locomotion, Barnard Castle and Piercebridge Roman road and bridge.
We booked this stay last minute, not sure what to expect. Receptions staff gave a warm welcome us and booking in was quickly completed. We where given all the necessary information necessary, The staff who served breakfast where very nice and made us feel as if nothing was a bother. Breakfast was good,plenty of choice from the menu.
4 out of 5
by Annelie L

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic venue, friendly staff & Value for money

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
This was a fantastic visit. On arrival we were offered a complimentary upgrade the the bridal suite. The food was excellent and the staff extremely friendly
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Castle type Hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2016
I booked a surprise November weekend break for us in a fantastic Castle in the middle of County Durham. The place is awesome to look at inside and out. Briiliant I thought. We arrived to a nice welcome after a 4 hour drive. Room key didn't function and needed reloading. ok. Unpacked, adequate storage but mildew all around windows / curtains / condensation on sills. Went to the lounge and fancied a afternoon tea, cake, sandwich cream tea but was told I needed to book 24 hours in advance. It was 1500 in the afternoon and thought this would be a staple delight at such a hotel !!!! First night slept ok. The food looked good quality but prices I felt OTT so ate out elsewhere. The 2nd and 3rd night were runnier by the hotel heating turned off at night - woke at 2pm due to coldness and small duvet - no extra blankets in room. Asked a manager and his reply was to use the available heater in the wardrobe whatever the cost in electricity. Tried this for 1 hour but the noise was like a hovercraft. Eventually got to sleep but the cleaners used excessive noise and banging in next room area on day of departure - 07:30am. What a shame as with a little more effort this could have been great.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dorset

Very attractive, quiet hotel.

Posted Nov 23, 2016
I had a very spacious, clean room. The bed was comfortable and it was very quiet. The staff were polite and helpful. Overall, excellent value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend break in a castle turret

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Favourite thing was the room we stayed in, overall it was a very comfy hotel.
Cons: I personally can't fault the hotel
Location: Durham and Richmond are good places to visit
The hotel was better than expected and we got a suite with the bedroom in a turret. The staff were very friendly and always helpful. The Farmers Bar was comfortable and served very tasty food.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
The main building is very characterful so pulling into the hotel is quite a spectacle. However, the room I stayed in is part of a newer annexe that is attached to the side. I had booked the hotel as it offered 2 restaurants. However, it was Halloween night so Hansards was fully booked for a prvate party which was disappointing for me. I therefore had to eat in the bar/restaurant. As per other reviews, the annexe rooms are slightly smaller, but everything I needed was to hand. I must point out that breakfast was great in the bar/restaurant with all cooked items cooked upon request.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels