Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Switzerland

Great hotel in pleasant rural setting

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Cons: Breakfast service was a little slow and two of the menu options were unavailable
Stayed for three nights while visiting ralatives in the area. It's a very pleasant hotel in a great setting and friendly and helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Sussex

Perfect stopover

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: The location. It is quiet, the rooms are a generous size, ample parking.
Location: Close to Durham, close to the moors and other attractions.
Stayed here whilst visiting friends in nearby Kirk Merrington, so perfect location, beautiful grounds, quiet but not too far off the beaten track. Although we didn't try the restaurant they seemed well priced and offered a good choice. It is close to various attractions in the county, including Durham itself and very close to the moors. No qualms about recommending it, in fact we wanted to stay an extra night but sadly it was fully booked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from preston, lancashire

Nice hotel, lovely location, great breakfasts

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Clean, friendly staff, good food
Cons: I noticed the floor in the brasserie which is the same room used for breakfast had not been cleaned from the night before
Location: Beautiful location, very peaceful, low and high force is a must do walk, Durham very compact and walkable
Lovely location facing a big deer park which unfortunately was closed for the winter but they still came right up to the fence. Ate in the brasserie on both nights, excellent food and very friendly staff. Would definitely stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Room with view

Posted Feb 13, 2017
When we arrived the hotel receptionist was very pleasant and we were given a room with a lovely view over looking the dear park. The room was satisfactory the down fall was the mould around the corner of the bath. Evening meal was excellent and staff very pleasant. We went down to breakfast for Nine and had to wait for the table to be cleared when there were other tables available for us to sit. Breakfast was OK but had to as waiter for our toast
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 21, 2017
Excellent peaceful location. Staff attentive. Breakfast very enjoyable. Some updating of rooms required but overall very good value.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from coventry

beautiful hotel, quiet, in lovely setting

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: the character of the building and the way it was presented . the peace and quiet and the deer park.
Cons: the shower and water issue that we experienced with our bathroom.
Location: quite close to both Durham and beamish not to mention the dales and high force.
The hotel was fantastic. It really looked special and was decorated and dressed to be special. We arrived and checked in easily. the staff were very friendly. On the whole the room was clean, although bit's of confetti had been missed in the corners of the room. The only real issue we had was that the plumbing had a problem with water hammer every time the toilet was flushed and the shower operation was somewhat erratic. We did report this to reception when we checked out, so hopefully it will be resolved. there was plenty of character to the hotel and grounds and feeding the deer in the park in the morning realy finished off the stay. we would definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herts.

Hotel a bit chilly

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Pros: Good location, lovely grounds and good setting.
Cons: Insufficient food options for non meat eaters.
Location: Durham nearby.
Staying in November would have expected heating to be set a bit higher. No heating on in corridors and room and lounge on the chilly side. Informed Reception and heating turned up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay at the Whitworth Hall Hotel

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Cons: The bathroom was too hot and the extractor fan didn't work.
Beautiful stay, staff and service were excellent. Loved every minute and would definitely go back, especially around Christmas time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet and peaceful

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: It was in a tranquil setting and the staff were friendly. The bed was very comfortable which is extremely important!
Cons: The only downside was that elements of the room could have done with a bit of freshening up.
Location: Very close to Durham and easy access to Newcastle too.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016 on Hotels
liked the deer park, but the menu was limited ran out of beef at 7pm! The staff were extremely good and friendly the hotel was very clean and tidy.