Ratings based on 129 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but refurbishment needed

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Some lovely parts to the hotel and the food was relatively good and not too expensive. The room ok but there was a need for work on the bathroom with the shower being low down. Some of the wings were tired and the carpet had seen better days as had the lift. The gym and "pool" were very outdated. Having an actual key was nice but all added to the feel that modernisation was needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from hampshire.

short stay, staff were very helpful.

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: quiet and easy to access from the motorway.
Cons: bathroom needs an extractor fan, the room could do with a fridge and maybe a safe.
Location: town centre is a short drive away and it has everything a decent town needs.
bedding was too heavy (but the outside temperature was very high) would be good in the winter. bar prices were a little steep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Convenient hotel for family visits

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: The ground floor cottage rooms are great for those who can't manage stairs.
Cons: Padding on the fire doors would stop folks banging them as they walk through.
Location: South park is nice to walk around and don't miss the Railway Museum
We stay here when visiting Darlington as it is very convenient for where we want to be in town and provides easy access rooms for my parents, who cannot manage stairs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oxford

Good in parts

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: The staff and the setting my room was very nice and had just been refurbished.
Cons: Some parts of the hotel are a bit tired and need updating. The food menu could be a bit more varied too many meals with chips.
Location: The hotel is close to the A1.
I stayed 5 nights and enjoyed the stay until the fifth night when the hotel held a wedding reception. The disco started at 7.00pm just below my room and lasted until midnight and was very loud. Afterwards the guests returned to their rooms and ran baths and had showers until 1.00am. I was not warned about the event. I was having an early start in the morning a few hours of disturbed sleep was not enough. The hotel is okay the staff are very good the food is reasonable. The problem for me is that when and if they have a wedding reception (I suspect they have a lot) the hotel is taken over and the event is in the middle of the hotel which will cause sleepless nights for any guest not part of the event.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good. No Wifi and Bad Odours.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
When I arrived in the room there was a foul small as if the drains were blocked. In fact it smelled like a dead rat. Additionally there was no WIFI in the room, only in the bar area. I needed to do an online assignment so this was not acceptable. I could have contacted reception and changed rooms, but as I wandered along the corridors there was no wifi anywhere else apart from the bar area. As I was booked there for the whole week this was not acceptable. I checked out early after 1 night.
5 out of 5
by qibo from 中国上海

享受真正的英国农村味道

Posted May 18, 2016 on Hotels
是我们本次旅行中最好的酒店,有英国庄园的味道,房间整洁,有早餐服务,新鲜可口,酒店前后一片草地,鸟语花香。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good stop over with gym

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Business stop over, good gym and sauna set up. Will use again.
3 out of 5
by Angela from Sandwell

Disappointing.

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
Room was rather tired, wallpaper was stained. Bed was poor in that we rolled into the middle. Worst thing however was that our room was directly above a very noisy party. Breakfast was ok, selection was good but apart from melon the fruit was tinned. Prebook breakfast else it costs a few quid more than the £10 each charged. Staff were friendly and helpful. Was overpriced for what it was.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good choice.

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
Good hotel with friendly welcome. Pleasant rooms and very good food. Swimming pool very small, but never mind. I've never stayed in the area, so was taking pot luck. I picked a good one.