Ratings based on 169 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Thetford, Norfolk

Visiting family and carryinh out private business

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: DVD player facilities
Location: Ideal for my requirements which included visiting Newcastle and Whitley Bay
Excellent all round, especially the attentive staff. The meals were also very good and the assistance I received (being disabled) was first class
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel with nice grounds

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: OK but thats all
Cons: Breakfast!!
Location: Garden pleasant.
Comfortable stay but breakfast too corporate and tasteless!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok, it is close to town and transport links

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: Close to transpoet links
Cons: Put staff in the bar !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
The hotel room was clean and comfortable. The bar service is deplorable. The bar seems to be a it of an after thought to the management of the hotel. Somebody need to tell the management that bars require staff !!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old not my cup of tea

Posted May 20, 2017
The shower was very good but the shower Curtain stuck to you while showering and I thought was a bit dangerous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice hotel and very relaxing

Posted May 15, 2017
Lovely clean hotel we upgraded to the superior double and it was like having a flat it was huge! Only thing that is a slight let down is the pool as quite small and a shame the saunas are single sex so if you are with your partner have to go in the saunas separately apart from that though lovely hotel close to Darlington and a gorgeous place to have a relaxing couples break. Also recommend booking if you want dinner in the Havelock restaurant as we had a 45 minute wait as we didn't book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked because it has a pool. Pool was closed

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Staff were friendly. Overall furniture in common areas and hallways ate shabby.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Average

Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel was clean but looking really dated
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

One night stay at Blackwell Grange

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: An established hotel just outside Darlington & very near to where my relative lives so it is a convenient stop on thiose occasions when I am visiting.
Cons: The fabric of the hotel is beginning to look very tired. I have been staying there for over almost 20 years so it is easily visible.
Location: Just outside Darlington & very near the motorway network so it is a good location for access to this part of the north east.
I booked at this hotel as I have been staying here occasionally for many years & it is close to my relative whom I was visiting. My main point of criticism was that there was no heating in the room as the radiator valve did not work. The fact that it was so loose & wobbly indicated to me that others had tried to tamper with it but without success. Had I been staying with my wife (she wasn't with me on this occasion), she would have had me reporting this to reception straight away or changing the room, as it was a cold night. In the event, I reported it at checkout the following morning. Otherwise the stay at the hotel was OK as the food is good, service is OK & the staff are fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Expedia said breakfast around £10 - actually nearly £14 each. Restaurant food was excellent and better value than breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: LOCATION/SETTING
Cons: MANGEMENT
OVERALL MANAGEMENT POOR. RECEPTION STAFF NOT IMPRESSIVE! FOOD POOR - DRY AND UNINTERESTING. A GREAT LOCATION /IMPRESSIVE BUILDING BUT DREARY..........