Ratings based on 163 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Old not my cup of tea

Posted May 20, 2017
The shower was very good but the shower Curtain stuck to you while showering and I thought was a bit dangerous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cumbria

Nice hotel and very relaxing

Posted May 15, 2017
Lovely clean hotel we upgraded to the superior double and it was like having a flat it was huge! Only thing that is a slight let down is the pool as quite small and a shame the saunas are single sex so if you are with your partner have to go in the saunas separately apart from that though lovely hotel close to Darlington and a gorgeous place to have a relaxing couples break. Also recommend booking if you want dinner in the Havelock restaurant as we had a 45 minute wait as we didn't book.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Booked because it has a pool. Pool was closed

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Staff were friendly. Overall furniture in common areas and hallways ate shabby.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Midlands

One night stay at Blackwell Grange

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: An established hotel just outside Darlington & very near to where my relative lives so it is a convenient stop on thiose occasions when I am visiting.
Cons: The fabric of the hotel is beginning to look very tired. I have been staying there for over almost 20 years so it is easily visible.
Location: Just outside Darlington & very near the motorway network so it is a good location for access to this part of the north east.
I booked at this hotel as I have been staying here occasionally for many years & it is close to my relative whom I was visiting. My main point of criticism was that there was no heating in the room as the radiator valve did not work. The fact that it was so loose & wobbly indicated to me that others had tried to tamper with it but without success. Had I been staying with my wife (she wasn't with me on this occasion), she would have had me reporting this to reception straight away or changing the room, as it was a cold night. In the event, I reported it at checkout the following morning. Otherwise the stay at the hotel was OK as the food is good, service is OK & the staff are fine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Expedia said breakfast around £10 - actually nearly £14 each. Restaurant food was excellent and better value than breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: LOCATION/SETTING
Cons: MANGEMENT
OVERALL MANAGEMENT POOR. RECEPTION STAFF NOT IMPRESSIVE! FOOD POOR - DRY AND UNINTERESTING. A GREAT LOCATION /IMPRESSIVE BUILDING BUT DREARY..........
3 out of 5
by Sarah

Just ok

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
Restaurant was full so had to eat out, rooms not as nice as shown
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Darlington

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Lovely stay, nice evening meal and lots of choice at breakfast
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Underwhelming

Posted Dec 20, 2016 on Hotels
Ok visit. Corridors to room was quite tatty. Room clean but bathroom looking very outdated. Fixed shower head very low, would be a nightmare for a tall person. I'm only 5ft5 but had to bend down to rinse shampoo off. Stayed for £59 so get what you pay for I suppose. Didn't use bar, dining or leisure facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Great location as we were attending an event at the rugby club over the road. We booked room only, which was very good overlooking the main entrance, as were the staff. Only downside was the noisy disco from a function room below us, although it finished at 12.30am.