Ratings based on 335 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Good place to stay near the hospital.

Posted Oct 7, 2017
With its proximity to both Duke University hospital and the VA hospital it is great. The hotel had a very comfortable and relaxed atmosphere. I will definitely be staying there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Dear Matt, We appreciate you taking time to review the Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham - Near Duke University! Our location is one of our best assets. Thank you for pointing out how close we are to both Suke University and the VA Hospital. It seems like you had a great visit and we hope your wonderful experience will bring you back again soon. John Henry General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Sep 29, 2017
Cons: Staff could be more personable and friendly. They were NOT rude or disrespectful - just not very upbeat in their assisting with check-in.
Nothing specific. No thank you. XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Good location for me

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location and comfort
Cons: Shuttle to the airport
Location: VA Hospital
I was visiting my brother at the VA Hospital at Duke and this fit the bill. Friendly staff, clean and comfortable room and the breakfast and dinner menu was good. I will stay again when visiting my brother.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Johnnie, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Was great

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Cons: Front desk staff
Location: Above
Wonderful because so close to hospital enough said
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay, seems like most convenient

Posted Jul 17, 2017 on Hotels
We were supposed to check in at 3pm and requested to check in early and were unable to do so, which was fine. We arrived at the hotel at 2:45 or so (so still early), but our room wasn't ready. We checked with the front desk every 15 minutes or so and couldn't get into our room until 3:30. I felt bad because the woman at the front desk was clearly uncomfortable and felt bad about the whole situation, but also annoyed because we were exhausted from our trip. I felt they could have given us something in exchange for the inconvenience. The hotel room was clean and modern. The walls are a little thin so I could hear a lot from the hallways. The cleaning crew also arrived early (at 10am) which seemed odd. We also left a "do not disturb" sign on our door while we went out and returned to find our room cleaned and a few things moved around. We ultimately didn't care (that the bed was made), it just seemed weird that we said no and they came in anyways. In terms of location, we thought it was closer to the Duke campus than it is (not Duke Hospital). We ended up taking a few Uber rides because the walk was longer than we thought, but wasn't ridiculous by any means, just added to the cost of the trip. I believe there is a free shuttle, but we didn't use it. We could also print our boarding passes at the front desk (aka use a laptop set up in the lounge) which was nice.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel.

Posted Jul 11, 2017 on Hotels
It was a very pleasant stay at this hotel. It is nice and new. Contemporary furniture and very modern. It was only one night but I wish could have stayed more. Great location to visit Duke.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for the wonderful feedback. We wish you could have stayed longer also. But instead we will invite you back for another great experience. Thanks again for being our guest and hurry back! Best, Kevin Barbour General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

I give this hotel a high rating!

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Professional and friendly staff, very clean & great with kids!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One and Done! ;(

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great location & nice new rooms... , limited parking, noisy halls, very small bathroom/shower parking guard smoking a LARGE cigar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 3, 2017 by Kevin, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us at Cambria Hotel & Suites Durham. We are glad that you liked our location and nice rooms, but we apologize for the issues that kept your stay from being perfect. We hope to have you stay with us again for a much better experience. Sincerely, Kevin Barbour General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Shuttle drivers are excellent , on time , often early .