Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Hot water
Location: Restaurants, shopping
There was not enough hot water. It kept going in and out. I don't like cold showers
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kill devil hills nc

Mold in bathroom and all on the entertainment ctr

Posted Aug 30, 2017
We got back to our room in the evening. We noticed an awful odor as we walked the hall and should've known then. We saw extension cords running in 2 adjacent rooms on the first floor and something very loud coming from those rooms. Obviously we know now it must've been fans drying out the rooms to remove mold. We went up to our room again the elevator smelled weird but we just weren't sure what it was. We got to our room 111 and as soon as we walked in it was a very strong bleach smell Again we should've known then but it was late and we'd been at unc Dr appts all day. My husband went in the bathroom to shower where the exhaust fan cover was hanging and I could see mold all over the ceiling under it. It was just blowing a mold odor. He then said we needed to leave but we weren't sure where to go. We looked around the room and found the entertainment center with mold/mildew all over the bottom and sides. I took pictures and we ended up staying and left early in the morning. I added a few pictures I took I do have more
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Evelyn, Hotel Management
The Comfort Inn University Durham Chapel Hill’s team would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have replaced to air conditioner in the room which was causing the problem you were having. Unfortunately, in the south our humidity can be a challenge and the air conditioner was not conditioning the air. Thank you for making us aware. Evelyn Stapleton General Manager
5 out of 5
by Alexis

Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Evelyn, Hotel Management
The Comfort Inn University Durham Chapel Hill’s team would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We appreciate your comments about our team and hope to see you back here soon. Evelyn Stapleton General Manager
4 out of 5
by Ray

Had a good stay!

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Hotels
Had a good stay. Breakfast had a good virity of items to choose from. Very friendly stafff . The hotel was in the final stages of being remodeled during our stay which didn't inconvenience us in any way. The only complaint during our stay was the quality of the WiFi, we could barely connect at times unless you stood near the room door.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2017 by Evelyn, Hotel Management
The Comfort Inn University Durham Chapel Hill’s team would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are in the process of upgrading our WiFi. We appreciate your comments and hope to see you back here soon. Evelyn Stapleton General Manager
4 out of 5
by Tamara

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Evelyn, Hotel Management
The Comfort Inn University Durham Chapel Hill’s team would like to thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We have replaced to air conditioner in the room which was causing the problem you were having. Unfortunately, in the south our humidity can be a challenge and the air conditioner was not conditioning the air. Thank you for making us aware. Evelyn Stapleton General Manager
4 out of 5
by Mary

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 4, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
Recent rennovations not well done. Trouble with sink and shower.
4 out of 5
by Austin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Connie

Posted Jun 14, 2017 on Hotels
First floor had a funny Odor!!
5 out of 5
by Heather

Great beds, gross pool

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
This was an amazing hotel!! The only problem we had was getting clean towels and washcloths. The beds in this place we great!! The bathroom room was really little but we made it work. I was disappointed that they didn't clean the pool so my kid was unable to swim the whole time we were there.