Ratings based on 709 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Hotel well located for attractions in Durham

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location, room amenities and spa
Location: Good location just over the river from the peninsula where the Cathedral and Castle are located. Also handy for a wide range of restaurants
We particularly chose this hotel for its great location within walking distance of the Cathedral and the Castle – which is what you go to Durham to see. Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly. We had booked a de-luxe room and it was large and well-equipped. The bathroom was also large. Heating was efficient. The room was at ground level and not far from Reception, which was entirely appropriate as we had pre-warned the hotel that we would be bringing my wife’s Guide Dog in training. Throughout our stay, staff were helpful and accommodating in relation to our GSD puppy (which was of course impeccably behaved throughout). The leisure spa is very good, although the pool is oddly shaped and is perhaps mimicking a Roman precursor. It looked good but some of the columns in the pool were slightly intrusive, although this was never a problem at the times that we were swimming. The Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all well maintained and splendidly hot – which was great as there was snow and ice outside. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful. Everything that you would want and expect in a buffet breakfast and all freshly cooked. Nothing ever ran out, as staff were quick to replenish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Very good check in experience. The leisure facilities were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Staff are superb.
Cons: Undo the "renovation" of the bar and dining room.
Rooms are exactly as expected and very good for the price. Excellent breakfast. Location is perfect for Durham and good car parking on-site. The best part of the place is the staff; superb; never found better anywhere; nothing is a trouble for them. And they take in interest in folk. The only slight issue we had is that some fool (presumably at management level in Marriott) decided to "renovate" what (when we were last there a few years ago) was a really nice dining room and bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Not bad, not great

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Room was really big, nice comfy bed, modern tv. Great location. However there was no air conditioning and although it is January the room was REALLY warm! Struggled to sleep. Saw a couple of silverfish in the bathroom, but otherwise looked clean. No facilities to make tea or coffee in the room. No minibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Enjoyed staying in Marriott hotel. The room was more than adequately furnished. the staff were friendly and helpful as well.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yarm

The room was absolutely freezing all night.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Heating system in hotel is Air Conditioning and very loud, so needed to be turn off to sleep. The room was absolutely freezing all night. No spare duvet or blanket. Had a lousy sleep waking up every hour trying to keep warm. Location of hotel excellent for a short walk into the city centre. Hotel Staff at checking were very friendly, although room wasn't available until 4pm. Breakfast staff were great and so was the breakfast. Checkout staff never asked about the stay otherwise I would have seriously complained and asked for a refund. We would stay again but A/C needs sorting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

In the quieter but cooler part of thr hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Position and staff
Cons: Would have liked the room warmer when we arrived
Location: Very central
No central heating . Air con on cool ,but electric radiators did eventually get the room warm.. on special deal so this is what you expect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Very pleasant and enjoyable stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Nice hotel in the centre of town. Had a bit of trouble as the lights in our room didn’t work, but the hotel staff were very helpful and got someone up ASAP. Disappointed with the facilities as the jacuzzi was luke warm and the sauna not very hot. The mulled wine, hot chocolate and mince pies at reception more than made up for this though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Excellent hotel with an excellent location overlooking the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury UK

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Foyer and reception very high class. Car parking very easy and excellent value
Cons: No - Hotel was amazing cannot fault it
Location: Center of Durham easy 1 minute walk to high street
Great hotel reception and foyer helpful and professional staff.. Room very high quality and very clean We even had two large LCD TV'S