Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yorkshire

A good central location .

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: The location.
Cons: Air conditioning in the rooms, complimentary water, free and extended car parking, an earlier check in time (3.00pm late for a leisure trip).
Location: The Cathedral and castle and a boat trip on the river.
A conveniently located hotel just short walk to the city centre and cathedral area with the advantage of a pool and small gym. We were not aware of the limited car parking spaces (not able to reserve) and a discounted charge is made for parking. The staff were friendly and the complimentary welcome drink was appreciated, Many areas of the hotel was 'tired' and in need of a refurbishment, mould and rust in the bathrooms and a loo in one room didn't flush properly. No air conditioning in our bedrooms and the rooms were hot and stuffy. No robes (a problem if you wish to use the pool) or complimentary water in the standard bedrooms. Breakfast in the hotel prohibitively expensive ( a family of five) but the on site Starbucks offered a solution. As this was a late booking the rooms were expensive and didn't represent good value for money, we expected higher standards from Marriott and would probably have been better staying at a Travel Lodge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Somerset

Practical central location for the Old City.

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: Rooms good, spar facilities very good, location excellent.
Cons: Restaurant catering. Atmosphere in the bar was sombre to say the least. Bar staff not really up to speed on different drinks.
Location: Central - Cathedral,castle and whilst we were there and for the immediate future the "Magna Carta"exhibition at the University library - castle green.
The hotel and staff were great. Facilities are what you would expect for this standard of hotel. Unfortunately the restaurant was not up to the same standard and in my opinion let the hotel down. Arriving later on the first evening we decided to use the restaurant and the starters were inedible (returned to kitchen) the main courses were poor. The staff said that they had just moved to a new menu? Service charge was also applied and I was unaware of this until checkout - Be aware. Parking is also a cost incurred at the hotel car park. A complimentary days parking was supplied by the hotel for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Hotel was in a central location

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Pros: The location overlooking the River.
Cons: I am a member of the leisure club and the staff were not sure if I was entitled to a discount with my card, but after a few enquiries it was confirmed
Location: Central location close to the Cathedral and Castle and all bars and restaurants
Staff were very pleasant and helpful. My only criticism was the price of drinks - way over the average in the area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

City Centre Hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Free Wi-Fi should be standard
Hotel located within easy walking distance of the city centre. Nice room although décor & fittings could do with some tlc
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Marriott, Durham

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Food not great: no proper restaurant, only a "smokehouse". Was overcharged on gratuities (supposedly due to a "keystroke error" on the part of hotel staff. On registration I was not asked for a imprint of a credit card but after a bar supper, which I charged to the room, and while getting ready for bed I was phoned by the desk to say I had no credit and had to pay "immediately": I refused to settle up till the next day and this was accepted but unwillingly The location is good and the gym/ pool is fine The room was immaculate. But on the whole it was an uncomfortable and unsettling experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Elgin

Very central hotel.

Posted Aug 8, 2015
We were only there overnight but the hotel was very close to the cathedral and the old quarter which we wanted to see. An excellent location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern England

Good location near historic town centre.

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: The room servicing.
Location: Historic town centre.
There was a large area of the carpet in our room which was soaking wet. The heating did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 2, 2015
The ensuite was a tired, three dimensional tiling. However it was clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 19, 2015
Cons: Bathrooms were looking a little bit tired.
Location: Excellent room overlooking the river.
Quiet hotel excellent location rooms were a little bit tired, no working air con just room fan but did not spoil the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hull

Nice hotel close to all amenities

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Where it is situated and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly
Cons: We thought the breakfast prices were very expensive and the standard rooms look and feel tired
Location: location is fabulous close to Durham cathedral ,castle and shops.
we were greeted by 2 extremely pleasant and most helpful staff at reception. As I had made a mistake with my booking dates on Friday 3rd when we arrived the lady had a standard room available for this night and we could transfer into our booked room on Saturday. The standard room was ok very spacious with a king bed but it was an extremely hot evening and there was no air con and we did not manage to get much sleep as it was stifling.there was a fan provided which was totally inadequate. We transferred into our deluxe room and what a difference,it was certainly worth the extra cost for the room .