Ratings based on 501 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect location in Durham

Posted Nov 14, 2016
You couldn't get a better location in town if you want to visit sites, shops, restaurants, and the colleges. Also convenient to train station.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wales

Excellent hotel for city centre visit

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: Staff always friendly. Great service. Great parking.
Cons: It's a little bit dated!! Rooms looking tired but are comfortable.
Location: Fab location for historical visits
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Good location with matching service

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and helpful staff and a very convenient and central location.
Cons: Some of the fixtures are older but that is a small matter.
Location: The hotel is within a 20 minute walk to the cathedral, one of the more wondrous ones in England, and the castle and the walk along the river Wear.
We stayed in the river-view rooms which were a bit of a hike from the check-in and along a narrow corridor after a ride to the third floor in a "cozy" elevator/lift. The rooms were very clean and tidy but some attention to smaller things could be better. For example the heat didn't work in one of the rooms and a telephone cable was broken. Both items attended to promptly upon notice. Another thing is the lack of mixing taps. How on earth a nation which invented the steam engine and other marvels of the modern world still do not have mixing taps!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Good Hotel, great location

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Clean, friendly, comfortable, quiet yet convenient for City
Cons: Just lacks character, very dull public areas
Location: Fantastic, couldn't be better placed for Durham City centre
Very good, Clean, friendly, comfortable, quiet, yet convenient, couldn't be better placed for Durham City centre Just lacks character, very dull public areas.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Durham visit

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: This hotel is downtown Durham
Excellent location- hard to beat. The hotel itself is nice, clean and cozy. The room itself (we ended in the Thurlow suite) was roomy and nice. However the beds where very disappointing. We ordered a 2 bed room as we where a family travelling together. The mattress in the main bed was soft, so with each movement the whole thing shook the other one awake. The second bed was even worse- it was a sleeper sofa with a narrow bed with a thin mattress and the metal frame sticking out into the teenager who slept there. Disappointing for a hotel of this class, and especially since I have recently stayed at the Radisson in Durham which was great. Everything else about this hotel was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice comfortable hotel very well situated

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Durham is very pretty and full of character and history.
Was not impressed by first room and distance to lifts etc but was moved and this room was very good, warm comfortable, clean, and walk in shower which I liked. The hotel was very good, food etc and well situated for sightseeing in Durham. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Extensive breakfast choice
Cons: No free wifi in rooms, I assumed that all hotels offered this to guests these days
Location: Durham cathedral a 10 minute walk away
Pleasant hotel and staff were friendly. Rooms were of a good size.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitby

Close to centre

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Spent two nights in this hotel, and was brilliant for quick access to The centre of Durham. We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Facilities great, swimming pool, sauna and gym. We booked into the beauty spa for a couples massage, very relaxing. The only downside... the room was rather hot!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

pleasant Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Peace and quiet. Cleanliness of room. quality of everything.
Cons: The beds were a bit lumpy especially for bad backs.
Location: We arrived at about 11 pm in the dark and struggled to find the hotel due to nearby roadworks throwing the sat nav off course.
we stayed for one night after dropping out daughter at Newcastle uni. We were in a family room. It was extremely clean and neat. Very pleased that we didn't hear any noise at all from other guests so were able to sleep well. It seemed to be in a separate annex to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast had plenty of choice and the quality was good. Would consider staying here again if we visit Newcastle again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

awesome hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: immaculate, beautiful linens spacious rooms, 2 double beds. 2 tvs
Cons: nothing
Location: 5 minute walk to the cathedral, the castle, walk along the river, lots of little stores,
hotel was lovely...super beds, lovely sheets, 2 tvs, shower robes and slippers in the room. excellent full english breakfast included and cheap parking, 5 minute walk to cathedral and castle.