Ratings based on 486 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Nice comfortable hotel very well situated

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Durham is very pretty and full of character and history.
Was not impressed by first room and distance to lifts etc but was moved and this room was very good, warm comfortable, clean, and walk in shower which I liked. The hotel was very good, food etc and well situated for sightseeing in Durham. The staff were very helpful and friendly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Convenient location

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Pros: Extensive breakfast choice
Cons: No free wifi in rooms, I assumed that all hotels offered this to guests these days
Location: Durham cathedral a 10 minute walk away
Pleasant hotel and staff were friendly. Rooms were of a good size.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whitby

Close to centre

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Spent two nights in this hotel, and was brilliant for quick access to The centre of Durham. We had a lovely room overlooking the river. Facilities great, swimming pool, sauna and gym. We booked into the beauty spa for a couples massage, very relaxing. The only downside... the room was rather hot!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

pleasant Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: Peace and quiet. Cleanliness of room. quality of everything.
Cons: The beds were a bit lumpy especially for bad backs.
Location: We arrived at about 11 pm in the dark and struggled to find the hotel due to nearby roadworks throwing the sat nav off course.
we stayed for one night after dropping out daughter at Newcastle uni. We were in a family room. It was extremely clean and neat. Very pleased that we didn't hear any noise at all from other guests so were able to sleep well. It seemed to be in a separate annex to the rest of the hotel. Breakfast had plenty of choice and the quality was good. Would consider staying here again if we visit Newcastle again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

awesome hotel

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: immaculate, beautiful linens spacious rooms, 2 double beds. 2 tvs
Cons: nothing
Location: 5 minute walk to the cathedral, the castle, walk along the river, lots of little stores,
hotel was lovely...super beds, lovely sheets, 2 tvs, shower robes and slippers in the room. excellent full english breakfast included and cheap parking, 5 minute walk to cathedral and castle.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

Nice hotel with pool and spa

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Pros: The room was quite large, with an extra large bathroom and a view of the river, pleasant, helpful staff and an excellent pool and spa.
Cons: The room wasn't cleaned very well after the first night's stay, but taken care of once we requested more cleaning.
Location: Walking distance from train and bus stations, shopping and all the major sights including Durham Cathedral, Durham Castle and the Market Hall.
Staff were all very pleasant, we had a large room overlooking the river, nice and quiet.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Spa was lovely. Room big, we also got bar and Starbucks vouchers which were a bonus
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Essex

Short break to visit family

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Lovely sized room in a standard room. Great bathroom facilities and large bed. Had a working tv and free wifi. Did get hot in the night but other than that a great stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Great location close to the city centre

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, easy parking
Cons: Rooms are a little outdated but great size, clean and comfortable
Location: Close to everything - couldn't have been better - shops, bars/restaurants, castle/cathedral - all an easy stroll away
Great location - 2 mins walk to the city centre, 5 mins walk to the castle and cathedral. Secure car park. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Nice bar and has a Starbucks on site for coffees/light bites.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
A brilliant and very comfortable overnight stay with a great welcome, free room upgrade and relaxing morning swim. My wife's first trip to beautiful Durham and the Royal County was the perfect place to stay.