Ratings based on 703 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Staff are superb.
Cons: Undo the "renovation" of the bar and dining room.
Rooms are exactly as expected and very good for the price. Excellent breakfast. Location is perfect for Durham and good car parking on-site. The best part of the place is the staff; superb; never found better anywhere; nothing is a trouble for them. And they take in interest in folk. The only slight issue we had is that some fool (presumably at management level in Marriott) decided to "renovate" what (when we were last there a few years ago) was a really nice dining room and bar.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

Not bad, not great

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Room was really big, nice comfy bed, modern tv. Great location. However there was no air conditioning and although it is January the room was REALLY warm! Struggled to sleep. Saw a couple of silverfish in the bathroom, but otherwise looked clean. No facilities to make tea or coffee in the room. No minibar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Enjoyed staying in Marriott hotel. The room was more than adequately furnished. the staff were friendly and helpful as well.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Yarm

The room was absolutely freezing all night.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Heating system in hotel is Air Conditioning and very loud, so needed to be turn off to sleep. The room was absolutely freezing all night. No spare duvet or blanket. Had a lousy sleep waking up every hour trying to keep warm. Location of hotel excellent for a short walk into the city centre. Hotel Staff at checking were very friendly, although room wasn't available until 4pm. Breakfast staff were great and so was the breakfast. Checkout staff never asked about the stay otherwise I would have seriously complained and asked for a refund. We would stay again but A/C needs sorting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

In the quieter but cooler part of thr hotel.

Posted Dec 17, 2017
Pros: Position and staff
Cons: Would have liked the room warmer when we arrived
Location: Very central
No central heating . Air con on cool ,but electric radiators did eventually get the room warm.. on special deal so this is what you expect
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Very pleasant and enjoyable stay

Posted Dec 2, 2017
Nice hotel in the centre of town. Had a bit of trouble as the lights in our room didn’t work, but the hotel staff were very helpful and got someone up ASAP. Disappointed with the facilities as the jacuzzi was luke warm and the sauna not very hot. The mulled wine, hot chocolate and mince pies at reception more than made up for this though!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Excellent hotel with an excellent location overlooking the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aylesbury UK

Posted Nov 26, 2017
Pros: Foyer and reception very high class. Car parking very easy and excellent value
Cons: No - Hotel was amazing cannot fault it
Location: Center of Durham easy 1 minute walk to high street
Great hotel reception and foyer helpful and professional staff.. Room very high quality and very clean We even had two large LCD TV'S
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel in Durham

Posted Nov 23, 2017
Pros: Great room and bathroom - very comfortable bed and pillows. Breakfast was plentiful and staff incredibly warm and helpful.
Cons: The car park looked somewhat crowded.
Location: Easy access to the town centre and the university. I visited the Oriental Museum which was fab.
The hotel is about a 15 minute easy walk from the station (downhill going). The staff were all lovely and the room was very spacious with an enormous bathroom. From the outside it looked a little dated but inside everything was up to date and re-furbished. It was great to have a pool for an early swim before breakfast too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Amazing, central and good facilities!

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Lovely reception staff and warmly welcomed by flapJacks and complimentary wine on arrival! Room quiet as requested (thank you!) and we used the swimming pool too. Great location in Durham - perfect for Lumiere 2017! We will be back!