Ratings based on 731 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gloucestershire

Central to Durham

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Perfect for visiting the University - everything within walking distance. Great eateries within minutes or the hotel has great restaurant. Shall be back!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks Kent

Marriott Hotel in Durham

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: The swimming pool which is why we chose that hotel
Cons: Not to charge to park your car.
Location: Near city centre. We were able to walk to city centre with shops, Cathedral, and castle. We, also walked along by the river.
I was surprised that I had to pay £7 per night to park my car. This is the first time I have had to pay to park in an own hotel car park. The breakfast was good. The evening meal was expensive and the dinning room was very empty so no atmosphere. The menu did not show that a 12.1/2 % service charge would be added. We asked for it to be removed and that was done without any fuss. The swimming pool was great with very good ladies changing rooms. Very close to city centre so no need to use car. Every thing else was as you would expect from a 4* hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel - don't pay for overpriced breakfast

Posted Feb 14, 2018
Pros: Room size - and telly.
Cons: Cheaper cost of breakfast
We stayed here for two nights in a lovely room. It is in the heart of Durham and so handy for everything. We didn't drive but the parking fees looked high. The one thing we shouldn't have done is accepted the breakfasts offered to us on check in. £12 each per breakfast meant we paid £48 for two breakfasts where there was no porridge or poached eggs on offer. Should have save our money and gone to a cafe. Otherwise a lovely hotel to stay in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knott End on Sea

Good hotel and very central.

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Stayed for two nights in a standard room with my husband, the room and bed were comfortable but the room and little small. Breakfast was delicious. Dinner also good. All the staff were excellent and gave 1st class service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Preston

Good position relative to town centre.

Posted Feb 13, 2018
Pros: Excellent breakfast staff attentive and very friendly full marks.
Cons: Employ a team of interior designers and heating experts.
Location: Located very close to town centre, no difficulties leaving and finding hotel after a day out. Close to Cathederal which is a must see.
This hotel is getting very tired. Bedroom furniture old fashioned but not in a good way. Bathroom requires ripping out and bringing up to date. Communal areas cold and tired.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Fabulous front of house, patchy housekeeping.

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: Lovely building in a good location. Super breakfast. Professional and kind reception staff.
Cons: Housekeeping are dropping balls. Breakfast was very busy with people queuing behind us. Carparking is short of spaces for quests.
Location: Easy to walk up into Durham to look at the university and beautiful 'island' town.
Super helpful front of house staff were let down by lazy room cleaning. In our room, the Barnard Room, the hotel bottle of mouthwash was half used, the shower gel was virtually empty - both clearly pre-used and not refilled. The carpet had bits on it so not fully vacuumed and the tiles above the bath were smeary. On the plus side the room was very large, warm and comfortable and the bathroom beautiful with a large bath and separate shower. Towels were clearly new and the sheets were crisp and white. The building is old, characterful and well refurbished. Breakfast was busy and we had to sit in the bar where the staff forgot to bring my promised tea, however the food itself was absolutely delicious. We arrived late and there wasn't enough room in the car park so the staff kindly found us a place elsewhere. The majority of other guests were using half term to show their teenagers the university.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

very_uncomforfable_bed

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Pros: location
Cons: quality_of_food and_tired_decor
Location: close_to_town_centre
beakfast_was_blandーbathroom_was_out_of_dateーーーーーーroom_was_scruffy_and_expensive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, UK

Hotel well located for attractions in Durham

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Pros: Location, room amenities and spa
Location: Good location just over the river from the peninsula where the Cathedral and Castle are located. Also handy for a wide range of restaurants
We particularly chose this hotel for its great location within walking distance of the Cathedral and the Castle – which is what you go to Durham to see. Check-in was quick, efficient and friendly. We had booked a de-luxe room and it was large and well-equipped. The bathroom was also large. Heating was efficient. The room was at ground level and not far from Reception, which was entirely appropriate as we had pre-warned the hotel that we would be bringing my wife’s Guide Dog in training. Throughout our stay, staff were helpful and accommodating in relation to our GSD puppy (which was of course impeccably behaved throughout). The leisure spa is very good, although the pool is oddly shaped and is perhaps mimicking a Roman precursor. It looked good but some of the columns in the pool were slightly intrusive, although this was never a problem at the times that we were swimming. The Jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were all well maintained and splendidly hot – which was great as there was snow and ice outside. The buffet breakfast was varied and plentiful. Everything that you would want and expect in a buffet breakfast and all freshly cooked. Nothing ever ran out, as staff were quick to replenish.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2018
Very good check in experience. The leisure facilities were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2018
Pros: Staff are superb.
Cons: Undo the "renovation" of the bar and dining room.
Rooms are exactly as expected and very good for the price. Excellent breakfast. Location is perfect for Durham and good car parking on-site. The best part of the place is the staff; superb; never found better anywhere; nothing is a trouble for them. And they take in interest in folk. The only slight issue we had is that some fool (presumably at management level in Marriott) decided to "renovate" what (when we were last there a few years ago) was a really nice dining room and bar.