Ratings based on 676 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, great location

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Comfort, friendly staff, great location.
Cons: One of our towels provided was dirty, it looked as if it had makeup on it, but other than that we were very pleased with everything.
Location: Right in the centre of Durham, 10 minutes from the cathedral and castle, lots of shops and resturants nearby and right by the river.
Fantastic hotel, very cosy and the bed was very comfortable. All the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. We ate breakfast at the hotel and were very impressed with the range and quality of the food. The location is right in the centre of Durham, only a short 10 minute walk up to the cathedral so very convenient. We made use of the leisure facilities which any hotel guest can use and were impressed with those too, very clean and relaxing. I would definitely stay here again and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to a friend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Good choice for weekend visit to Durham

Posted Nov 6, 2017
I stayed at this hotel whilst visiting my daughter at university. The hotel is well located to the town, with all shops, the Cathedral, the Castle and the river a short walk away. The rooms are a reasonable size - though functional more than luxurious. The hotel has a complex layout - getting to our room involved going up in one lift walking across a walkway and going back down in another lift. The room, however, offered a beautiful view of the river.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fife

Expensive hotel that is well past its best.

Posted Oct 30, 2017
Pros: Leisure facilities were good. Location was good.
Cons: Pretty much everything other than above.
Location: Good central location with everything nearby.
Arrived on time at 3pm, but told room would not be ready for 40 mins. When got access room was not fully made up with no toiletries, bin liners, etc. Was what sounded like a student party next door until 2am the first night. Room not made up the second day until we asked at 3pm. Car park was very busy so you could not really move your car once you got a space. Bar very expensive for what were dowdy surroundings devoid of atmosphere.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
High quality hotel, spacious room, central location. Recommended.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Good central location
Cons: Meal service Potatoes not served until meal almost finished
Had an excellent stay at this hotel Plenty of eating places and pubs nearby Had an evening meal in the dining room but was very surprised by the £9.50 service charge
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Visiting Family

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: Just a very classy hotel
Location: Near the centre of Durham. Plenty of exploring is possible.
With a busy day ahead of us, the room provided us with an oasis of calm and we slept well there the night before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new zealang

Brilliant location once you can find it

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Not that l could see
Location: Very central and all attractions walkable to
Excellent hotel best in Durham once you get to it .Not easy to find if you have been there before
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Comfortable and close to City

Posted Oct 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Car parking
Stayed after settling in son into University Stayed at hotel before Staff lovely Room lovely Only 2 flies in ointment were the price of parking My husband paid £31 by phone as there was nothing to say residents got it for £7 Other thing was receptionist took a booking for the restaurant for Sunday night but when we got there it was closed and is every Sunday night. However the Manager and staff were very helpful and the food we did get in the bar was very good
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Overpriced

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Perfectly reasonable but considerably overpriced. Paid almost £300 for superior room for one night which should have cost £100.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a refurbishment

Posted Sep 28, 2017
The room was clean, but very dated. The air conditioning was non existent and the windows would only open a fraction, overlooking a noisy flat roofed building. The hair dryer was broken. The shower was dreadful, the water dripped out! Definitely not worth the price we paid. Definitely not what you'd expect from a Marriot hotel.