Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fürstenfeldbruck, Bayern

Hotel in ruhiger Lage

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: freundlicher Service
Cons: Kontinentales Frühstück wurde zwar angeboten, aber kein Toast, Brot oder Brötchen (Semmeln) vorhanden.
Location: Golf spielen
Nur zur Übernachtung bei Dienstreise genutzt. Kaffee und Tee war auf dem Zimmer. Zimmerservice war gut.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berks

Great facilities and quiet location.

Posted May 30, 2016
Lovely grounds and great leisure facilities (golf, spa, swimming pool, beauty treatments, walks). Didn't eat dinner there, but the cooked breakfast was hot, tasty and nicely prepared. Double room in the main hotel was quiet. A little on the small side, but everything worked and it was clean and comfortable. The hotel is looking a little tired in some communal areas, but not enough to mark it down. We did get woken up by a fire alarm going off at 5:00am, but these things can happen anywhere. A convenient and lovely out of town location and a good price. We visit family in the area regularly, so we will be booking again. We enjoyed our short stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Very nice, well appointed period building set in a lovely location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Midlands

Disappointing

Posted Oct 23, 2015
Pros: Staff friendly. good location for us
Location: Only minutes off A1\M1, 10 mins from National Rail Museum Shildon which is small overflow from York.
Room was very small and felt cramped. The bed was too short our feet were hanging out. Covers missing off shower taps. Full Breakfast £12.50 but on our deal it was £10 each tere was no butter just sunflower spread. service was quite slow, didn't get what we ordered. Had much better for £5 at hotel in Gretna previous week.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Wonderful hotel - perfect for quiet weekend away

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: the rooms are quaint and mostly nicely kitted out
Cons: the bathroom was a bit sparse, and could have done with a face cloth, a soap and some more toiletries for the bath etc
Location: great location, great for walking around the area
enjoyed the 3 days and 2 nights there, rooms are old fashioned but that's what's charming about it, loved it
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from county durham

Nice hotel shame about the room

Posted Aug 24, 2015
I know how Harry Potter feels now, room was like a cupboard and the ensuite unbelievable if I had been a big lady I would never been able to use the facilities....... Very disappointed not value for money
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

ANice property but very poor standards of hygiene.

Posted Jul 27, 2015
Booked a " feature room " the Thursday to arrive on Saturday after a 7 hour drive. Told on arrival that the wedding party that was going on had already booked the feature room and we could have an alternative room . Disappointed as the wedding had clearly been booked months if not year in advance. The alternative room was a disabled room without a bath. I had paid extra for this hotel as it had a health suite and the benefit of s bath , I have a slipped disc and a bath / hot tub were ideal after a long drive. We asked to be moved to somewhere else because if this and because the room was pretty much grubby and bland for the £130 paid. We were then taken over to the granary suite, this sounded like a nice gesture and we agreed. Up 2 stone flights if stairs and into a loft conversion with a great feature of the Mill workings in the room . However the finish and cleanliness of the room was terrible. After a 7 hour drive , moving rooms once already we were in no fit state to complain or leave at 11.30pm. The carpets were heavily stained, loads of dead spiders / cobwebs and black mold/ peeled paint around the bath. The state of the room lead us to not want to use the bath or the hot tub / pool in fear of getting ill. I complained the next morning and subsequently have received a refund of £25 from Expedia, but an email from the manager saying that the room was clean, had just been decorated and due to being an old room cobwebs were inevitable. I live in a 500 year old house an
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Derby

Good hotel, clean and friendly staff

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Great hotel, two options for dining. Restaurant was ok, fairly expensive and not best service. Pub was better. Rooms cam be quite noisy but obviously this is also dependent on the guests, had one noisy night with interrupted sleep and one great night with no interruption. Beautiful location. Close to Darlington which was what I needed.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

I really liked this hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Pool, restaurant on site, view from my room in the morning of the golf course.
Cons: Signage to get there
Location: Bit of of the way, and couldn't tell you what there was to do nearby as was just there for a business trip but would definitely stay again.
I stayed here for business in Durham and it was perfect with the car (a bit off the beaten track). Lovely staff, nice quiet facilities, lovely dinner, and nice swimming pool. Just what I needed!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My kind of place to stay

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: I got a quiet room on 2nd floor (well apart from some inconsiderate wedding guests at 1.30am on the Sunday. The room was comfortable and spacious
Location: See above
I loved it. Quirky, oldy worldy building. Liked proximity to A1. Liked swimming pool and grounds to walk in. Never been to that area so explored Durham and Beamish