Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel ok . Just as well we were next to the a1 so

Posted Jun 26, 2017
It was good cause we wanted to get away. However glad it was next to the a1 so we could get away from the hotel as it was boring. But thanks for allowing dogs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

good comfortable stay, but, room for improvement!

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
Room was comfortable, bit of a damp/stale whiff about it but put that down to the wash basin being in the bedroom and not in with the shower room. Staff were pleasant and polite. Breakfast was decent although not enough staff on to cope when busy! Housekeeping- did not clean my room one day, not the best service!
3 out of 5
by Graham

Run down

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Staff very friendly, breakfast good, evening meals terrible, room smelly as dog friendly and no rooms available that are not animal friendly, heating in a lot of rooms do not work, hotel generally run down but as stated cannot fault the staff.
4 out of 5
by Fiona

Friendly Staff, clean room, bit noisy.

Posted Mar 29, 2017 on Hotels
Looks Ike the hotel has been refurbished, nice and clean, airy rooms and a great shower. Our room roadside was noisy. The meal in the restaurant was disappointing, slow, meat not great quality. Breakfast was nice, hot and an ample choice.
4 out of 5
by ALLAN

mini weekend review.

Posted Mar 28, 2017 on Hotels
Room was fine, clean, quiet, shower fine. late returners in corridor a little noisy. Weakness for us was the dining in at evening, food delivery was slow and the cooking and presentation were disappointing. Breakfast was fine. stars if the weekend must go to the bright and friendly staff.
5 out of 5
by Jackie

Posted Mar 27, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely room and staff very pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK Midlands

Great stopover in the North East

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night whilst visiting family in Darlington. Safe environment for single female traveler. Friendly and efficient check in, room spotless. The room was a little too warm for me and had trouble cooling it down. Breakfast excellent. WiFi that works. Dog friendly a real bonus.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel!

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were lovely and very accommodating. Room and bed were a great size. Very quiet hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Good stopping off place on A1

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: Good Stopping off place
Cons: Someone needs to overhaul the heating system
Location: Not far from Durham, closer to Darlington
Unfortunately our room was like a sauna when we entered it. I set the thermostat as low as it would go and switched on the fan. It took me ages to get off to sleep, I woke about 4.00am with a headache caused by the heating system still blowing hot. I switched it off completely and opened the window which meant that I had to then contend with the noise from the traffic on the A1. I seem to remember this happening the last time I stayed at this hotel and mentioning it to the staff. Obviously there is something not right with the heating system which is fine if you find it easy sleeping in a sauna.
4 out of 5
by helen c

Convenient location

Posted Feb 17, 2017 on Hotels
Convenient and comfortable place to stay before going on to funeral the next day in Gateshead