Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scotland

Holiday Inn, Newton Aycliffe

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Pros: good quality. friendly staff. well located. car parking was free too.
Location: handy for the motor way, Darlington and nearby villages.
it was extremely cheap and excellent value for money. Breakfast was good quality and value.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Not bad if you're stuck for a room

Posted Aug 2, 2016
Pros: The location
Cons: They could clean and turn around rooms properly. That would be a start.
Location: Location is good, we stayed for Kynren (A fabulous show), Darlington is close, Durham Beamish Museum is only 30 mins
The hotel was clean, however didn't like the layout, the wash basin is in the bedroom and not the shower room, which disturbs your partner if you need to get up in the night. Although there are plenty of sockets they are located too close to the desk top so any moulded plug, laptop, straightners, chargers etc won't plug in and I had to ask for an extension. There is no chance of raising anyone on front desk or housekeeping so be prepared to walk to reception for anything you need. We asked for tea bags and milk on our way in one night and were asked for our room number, it never arrived! We asked that our room be cleaned on going out, we came back to the bed not made, the cups dirty, the shower mat removed but not replaced and no replenishment of toilet roll, although they had replenished the tea and milk on this occasion. Not somewhere I would choose to stay again, although location was good and it was clean on arrival. Breakfast staff were lovely, so a big thank you to them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R. North London

1st stay at a Holiday Inn ....won't be our last !

Posted Jun 4, 2016
This hotel was very clean ,comfortable and staff are very helpful and polite
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Good basic hotel. Staff nice and tasty breakfast

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Booked when visiting friends nearby. Location handy for motorway and easy to find. Clean hotel, staff nice and breakfast tasty with a good choice. My only complaint is the sink which is in the bedroom and not the bathroom. I woke my husband up brushing my teeth snd having to leave the bathroom to wash my hands felt a bit unhygienic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwickshire

Posted Oct 26, 2015
The staff were so friendly and kind, taking customers' needs and comfort into great consideration. We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfast had sufficient choices from English to continental, including fruits and yoghurt. There is even a gym for fitness and healthy lifestyle. It was the best that I have stayed so far.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Good

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Staff, cleanliness, facilities
Cons: Signage from the road
Great staaf, very helpful. Quite a distance from Darlington. Not very well signposted. But overall really good stay. Good value for money
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle upon Tyne

Convenient Hotel by the A1

Posted Sep 25, 2015
Pros: Convenient by the A1
Cons: Incorporate wash hand basin into the showroom.
Good, clean Hotel in good state of repair. Very convenient by the A1. Friendly staff and an excellent breakfast. Rated disappointing due to the wash hand basin not benign the showroom but in the bedroom. Not very hygienic or convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for touring the north

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Pros: It was new, so everything looked great, spic-and-span.
Location: We pulled in here after spending a day touring the Dales and before going onto the Roman sites further north. It was very convenient.
What a find! This is a brand-new hotel off the M1. I thought it would be noisy, but it wasn't at all. The facilities were immaculate. The room was clean as a whistle, roomy, well-appointed. The buffet breakfast was excellent. Easily the nicest place we stayed in during a two-week trip in the UK.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to motorway, easy to find

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Ensure there are stocks of all breakfast choices, eg yoghurts, fried bread.
We stayed here for 3 nights in August. Friendly staff, clean room and choice of hard or sof pillows in the room. Unfortunately some of the digital (freeview) channels were unavailable and when I tried to re scan, the menu button wouldnt work so couldnt re scan anyhow! Breakfast was good except on the last day there were no yoghurts available. We would go back again.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No air-con!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
It's obvious that the standard line/response when questioning the lack of air conditioning in rooms is that 'there's a problem with it, we will report it to maintenance and give you a fan' before id even finished what I was saying.. Yes the hotel offers air-conditioning but clearly these are only in the communal areas i.e. The reception, gym, bar and corridors...there was definitely none in the rooms and although there is a thermostat/unit to adjust the temperature, this can only be heated up, not cooled down and in very hot weather this isn't acceptable. We had the same problem in the Premier Inn but at least they refunded us for the lack of sleep and uncomfortable night with the heat.... Check air-con facilities in the rooms before staying at the Holiday inn during the summer months!!!