Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Birkenhead

Honest Lawyer Review

Posted Dec 1, 2017
Pros: oom
Cons: Restaurant choice and hotter breakfast.
Location: Location out of the way but easy to find. Only there for 1 complete day to visit Beamish Museum. Well worth it.
Rooms very clean and with all facilities. Found restaurant expensive with poor choice for plain eaters Cooked breakfast was only warm although the choice was good. .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heathrow

Good stopover

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Very comfottable room. Quiet despite being next to a msin toad. Wonderful sjower - up to German dtandards! Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Country setting, yet convenient for Durham

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff
Cons: nothing, really: it's a very solid 3 stars, worth slightly more in my view
Location: Country location on the edge of a village. Very convenient for Durham, and also ideally situated for walks in and around the beautiful Wear valley.
We were made to feel personally welcome, despite the hotel being very busy with a wedding party when we arrived. The room was very comfortable, and the slight quirks with plumbing clearly explained ("please run shower for 90 seconds before use to ensure water is at the correct temperature"). Staff were all friendly and helpful at all times, even when very busy. We really enjoyed our 3-night stay and will use this hotel again when visiting Durham.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Handy For Durham and surrounding villages

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Large hotel/motel. Where we could park outside our room. Room was a little bit dated in decor and could do with brightening up, but definitely served it's purpose.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Excellent hotel in convenient location

Posted Nov 2, 2017
Pros: See above.
Cons: Could use a brighter colour paint for the outside.
Location: There are many excellent eating places in and around Durham. The botanical gardens next to the Park and Ride are excellent and worth a visit.
Clean and well maintained hotel with plentiful and friendly staff. We had a large room in the main building and this was comfortable, well furnished and with a large four poster bed.The breakfasts were excellent and evening meal very good.As parking in Durham is not good it was good to have a hotel only a mile from the Park and Ride station and would recommend this way of visiting the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Convenient for attractions in the area

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: We liked the location as it was easy to find and convenient to the places we wanted to visit. The food was very good, and staff lovely.
Cons: Whist the general cleanliness was good, there was still room for improvement around the edges, the carpet was practical rather than pleasant.
Location: The hotel is near Durham, Durham castle and cathedral also Crook Hall are fabulous, Beamish is a joy, but there are many other great places to visit.
The hotel was very convenient and easy to find, although it is on a busy road, the noise didn’t impact as the room we stayed in was at the back of the hotel rather like a motel style. The parking was very good, the staff were all friendly and professional and the food was very good. All in all we had a comfortable stay, the bathroom was spotless, but the room was starting to look a little tired, the desk chair had seen better days for instance, it wouldn’t put us off returning however as the service was very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Staff were wonderful, went out of their way to help.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from surrey

Great hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Friendliness of staff. Within easy reach of Durham City centre.
Cons: Lower the mirrors in the rooms.
Stayed two nights while we were seeing family. We stayed in one of their chalet type accommodation. These are seperate to the main building. Staff couldn't be more helpful. Breakfast had plenty of choice with quality cooked produce. Rooms were very clean and the only downfall was the mirror above the dressing table was too high up so you couldn't sit and do your hair or make up. Overall though a very good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rutland

Clean basic hotel

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Staff very friendly and helpful, room a little tightened up, but clean and beds comfortable. Downside was the breakfast very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire

Hotel close to Durham

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Pros: Location was good for us. We were able to relax and recover from our busy days out in the comfort of our comfortable, compact room.
Cons: The hotel filled all our needs and we only stayed two nights.
Location: Located the hotel very easily. Durham by local transport, every 7 minutes directly opposite the hotel- saved looking for parking in the city.
Good food and hospitality. Great helpful Reception Staff. As with most hotels some staff have different attitudes to guests but generally most were friendly. It was good to see the Manager being very 'hands on'. Great to see. The bar was very quiet, so we didn't use the facility.