Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

our new year eve stay.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: It was peaceful in our little rooms.
Location: A park and ride was available into Durham. We enjoyed the shops, a river walk, the castle and cathedral. The Indian called Panash was very good too.
We enjoyed 1night at the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Aberdeen

Ideal for the road warrior

Posted Dec 23, 2015
Pros: Also the fish and chips from the restaurant was excellent
Cons: Wifi access
Location: Easy access to Darlington and industrial areas of Teeside/Newcastle.
Park next to your room, minimum faff and attentive staff makes this a great option for the executive on the move.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol from Strathcarron

Good location for travellers

Posted Nov 8, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms were clean and quiet. The staff were lovely and helpful. The shower eventually become hot but it had to run for ages first and the pressure was very low. The bar needs a bit of updating, and the table was sticky. The breakfast was expensive and over priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Sarah from Hebden Bridge

Better for pleasure than business

Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
Lovely people nice rooms great service the wifi in the room was intermmitant which was really annoying as I was trying to work. Too be fair though I didn't complain so I didn't give them a chance to improve it and I'm sure they would have gone out of their way to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent find

Posted Oct 23, 2015 on Hotels
This was a real find. We had booked a superior room and were very pleased with the room which would be best described as plush. Very comfortable, large with a substantial ensuite bathroom. There was some traffic noise as it is besides an A road but not much as heavy double glazed windows and thick curtains. If anything the room was too warm and cosy and we had to turn the heating down. The only really negative point was a disturbance caused by other guests - part of the risk of staying above the pub, but this was dealt with very well by the management. If you don't need to be in the heart of Durham then this was very convenient for access.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mixed feelings

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
We had I night at the Honest Lawyer as we made a flying visit to Durham. It was early evening when we arrived so we booked a table at the hotel on check in and then went to our room. This was the disabled room. On first opening the door there was a smell of damp which appeared to be coming from the bathroom. We opened a window and left the door open whilst we unpacked. We left the window slightly open whilst we ate and it wasn't too bad when we got back. Overall cleanliness could have been better but it was OK. The food was super. We all enjoyed everything that we had and would recommend eating there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Comfortable and convenient

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Went up for a family weekend; the hotel looks a bit tired from the outside, but the rooms (interconnecting) were warm, comfy and shower was excellent. It was also near town centre, a short taxi ride away. Staff were helpful, although bar was a bit noisy in evening so we didn't eat there.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Di from Reading

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very dissappointed price did not include breakfast, this was not made clear when booking and breakfast was very expensive. Also, only one towel in bathroom for two people
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kerry from australia

Great for a nights stay

Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
it was good for a night stay. Unfortunately the Wifi did not work from our room. The restaurant had very good food and service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Marcia from Belém, Brazil

Charming place to be in Durham

Posted Sep 2, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay in the North of England! Durham is a charming historic city, and the hotel is very comfortable, although a bit far from the city center. Very nice staff and accommodations.