Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from whangarei, nz

Nice hotel, good facilities in a pretty town.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
We enjoyed ourselves at this very nice hotel with good facilities eg pool & gym and comfortable beds.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nightmare getting in to the room

Posted Apr 11, 2016
Had to go back to reception 5 times the card would not operate the door. Hotel receptionist extremely unhelpful!!!! And lazy. Hope Duncan sees this as I'm sure he wouldn't be happy if he had experienced such a farce after a long day at work
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 27, 2016
After travelling five hours for a uni open day, we were very happy to find such comfortable beds and clean rooms. The only issue was that there was no room service, but overall we were very pleased.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from south shields

Fantastic hotel. Staff were extremely friendly

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Had a lovely relaxing stay. Room was very spacious and clean
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2016
The room had instead of a double bed two singles pushed together. Wasn't very comfortable. Also the walls were very thin.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and tired hotel

Posted Nov 17, 2015
We found our stay at the hotel to be functional and not much more. The communal areas and the room were tired and shabby, with worn carpets, suspicious unpleasant white marks on the sofa/bedspread and holes in the bedding. The room was a fair size and had everything we needed. The staff were pretty much none existent. Every time we went to reception we were greeted with a scribbled note saying that they were elsewhere. When checking out we couldn't find anyone at all and ended up leaving the keys. We made use of the pool at the adjoining leisure centre which was a nice contrast to the hotel. The facilities were modern and will maintained with friendly staff. The pool was busy which limited swimming but had a nice friendly atmosphere. Parking at the hotel was convenient and felt secure. We got a taxi in to Durham for our evening meal for £7 each way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel was ideal for us to visit Durham Uni

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: Clean tidy and comfortable, good location ideal for cheap night visit to uni.
We arrived late, staff was very welcoming,room was clean and comfortable. Shower nice a big, tea coffee etc in room. Free parking, close to bus stop which we used to go into the city to visit the university open day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Canada

Modern hotel connected to spa

Posted Aug 4, 2015
We have been staying in tiny rooms close to train stations. I couldn't find one available in Durham so I booked the Hotel Bannatyne which necessitated a bus ride. It was worth it. It is a lovely modern facility and hotel guests can use the pool and gym across the parking lot. Breakfast wasn't included and the cafe prices were very reasonable. It was a treat to have a spacious room and an ensuite with modern fixtures.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Forest

Hotel great dining not such a great experience

Posted Jul 7, 2015
The staff at the hotel were helpful and the facilities were clean and we would definitely stay again. However, the breakfast was a different experience. When ordering I explained that we had to check out by 8.30 the staff said they didn't open until 8am, it was already 5 past 8, my breakfast came at 8.25 and although the food was good I was uable to enjoy or finish, the rest of my party had their breakfast in pleanty of time to both eat and enjoy. I felt victimised.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

convenient hotel to A1(M)

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: The convenience off the A1(M) and the fact it had a health club next door
Cons: complete remake of the Hotel facilities, and a receptionist more attentive to the client than her mobile phone
Location: No idea as this was a business trip, there is however a small retail park about 700yds away with the typical shops including pizza hut and KFC
the hotel was very basic, the room was very dated and sparsely decorated, the bed mattress was lacking any springs whatsoever and the room had no airconditioning. No onsite eating facilities but that was clear from the details on the web, the only good thing was the gym etc a short walk across the car park and was to be expected.