Ratings based on 984 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great central hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2017
Only a short walk from the centre of Durham, this hotel is in a great location. We stayed in a business class room which was very spacious and had everything you need. Breakfast was good too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrogate

Five minutes to the city walking. Lovely clean hot

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Good breakfast. Car parking is Eight pounds a day. Lots to do in the area. Not far to the coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County Durham

lovely modern hotel overlooking the river

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: modern and clean
Location: The location is fantastic ...right on the river and close to the center of Durham
We were staying in Durham for a wedding at nearby Crook Hall . Our stay was brief but enjoyable with a lovely spotlessly clean room overlooking the river ! Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

perfect location

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: Style, comfort, staff and location
Cons: Can't think of anything
Location: We were at our daughters wedding at Crook Hall so it was the perfect location
Everything about the hotel was lovely. Unfortunately, when I entered the bathroom in the morning I didn't see, but felt water underfoot and found myself paddling to the sink. My pyjama bottoms and slippers were soaked and have had to be thrown away. We were checking out immediately so didn't want to make a fuss. Other than that we couldn't fault the hotel at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what we needed

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Hotel had excellent location, great facilities with friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hull East Yorkshire

great hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent special staff
Cons: I don't think there was anything that could have been improved
Location: a prime location just a short walk to the beautiful centre of Durham
We spent the weekend of our Golden Wedding anniversary at the hotel, the staff made it very special with a surprise gift of 5 large chocolate covered strawberries. We celebrated our anniversary in the hotel restaurant with and excellent dinner and a surprise gift of chocolates. thank you to all the staff who made our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but a bit stuffy atmosphere

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Comfortable but heating system too dry. Good choice at breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel a number of times, good central location, friendly staff and good gym and spa facilities. The upgraded room fees per night are expensive and not really worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Nice hotel, but the bed and pillows hard and uncomfortable. Loud constant buzzing noise in the room
5 out of 5
by Christine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels