Ratings based on 890 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Outside of the center, overpriced, not comfortable

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Free parking.
Cons: Service, rooms, prices, availability of everything, attitude of staff, you name it, it all sucked, for $200 bucks a night.
Location: The location is mediocre, about a 15 minute walk from anything worthwhile.
This was a lousy deal for the 200 bucks. Not in the center, terrible beds, they didn't even give you breakfast, unless you were willing to spend nearly 50 dollars for two adults and a child. Totally lousy deal, many better bargains in town, and we couldn't turn our TV off, the bathroom alarm went off, there was no mini-bar in the room, a Coca-Cola at the bar was five dollars.....this place SUCKED! A total rip-off, and not even any bellhops to help you with your bags. Absolutely awful, avid it like the plague.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Albert, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear you were dissatisfied with your stay. We apologize you were disappointed with the cost of breakfast, as well as the bed and TV in your room. We appreciate you bringing all of these matters to our attention and have shared them with hotel management to improve our guest experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotlan

Raddison for a wedding.

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Location: lots to do in Durham City and surrounding location. we did not have time to venture out other than to the church on Friday.
overall it was very good. however I was not happy with the car park charge. we arrived at 1.40 am on the Friday morning and left mid at 11.45 on the Saturday and was charged £16 for the parking. having paid for the hotel we should not be charged for parking. it is unacceptable. The staff were very friendly and the catering for the wedding was good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

pleasant stay

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet room, friendly reception staff and good breakfast. Hotel pool small but pleasant.
Cons: Much to my regret, the coffee served at breakfast was plentiful but weak, had to find a coffee shop for a decent expresso afterwards
Location: Hotel convenient for the town centre, cathedral and station, everything we needed within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet weekend break

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Spa
Cons: Breakfast not piping hot
Location: Close to Durham city the gala theatre etc
Brilliant room, spa has good facilities got an upgrade which gives free parking and free drinks so worth while asking
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from north west

super location

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed and room service.
Cons: More information (printed matter) re hotel details.
Location: At side of river and handy for all Durham facilities without being in noisier parts.
We had a very nice overnighter here. Great location on riverside. Super comfortable beds and no noise. We loved it and plan to return.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from england

Lovely break

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: Warm comfortable and close to town centre
Cons: Prices!
Location: Plenty shops nearby and lovely chinese restaurant just 5 mins walk along the river
Lovely hotel, enjoyed a 2 night break, very expensive so didn't eat there but most hotels are which is a shame as customers would spend more time and money there if the prices weren't so high
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

In general it was a good experience.

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Location: Good location.
The bed was not very comfortable and pillows were very flat and hard gave me a neck ache the next morning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Exc proximity to theatre & 'interesting' nightlife

Posted Oct 25, 2016
A more impersonal & efficient hotel. Not as friendly as previously experienced in Durham but Dom the barman being the exception.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Situation.
Cons: More offer leaflets.
Location: Central to the city with view of castle and cathedral. Near Crook Hall.
Spacious room with river view. Airy lounge area. On site parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south England

service excellence

Posted Oct 10, 2016
Location: Beamish museum is a must do as is the Cathedral
Great location, great facilities and great staff service - nothing was too much trouble
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Meggan, Hotel Management
Dear Alan, Thank you for your fabulous review, delighted you enjoyed the Cathedral and Beamish, certainly some great sights in the North East. Hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area. Kind Regards, Meggan