Ratings based on 969 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what we needed

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Hotel had excellent location, great facilities with friendly helpful staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hull East Yorkshire

great hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Pros: Excellent special staff
Cons: I don't think there was anything that could have been improved
Location: a prime location just a short walk to the beautiful centre of Durham
We spent the weekend of our Golden Wedding anniversary at the hotel, the staff made it very special with a surprise gift of 5 large chocolate covered strawberries. We celebrated our anniversary in the hotel restaurant with and excellent dinner and a surprise gift of chocolates. thank you to all the staff who made our stay memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but a bit stuffy atmosphere

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Comfortable but heating system too dry. Good choice at breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice central hotel

Posted Feb 6, 2017
We have stayed at this hotel a number of times, good central location, friendly staff and good gym and spa facilities. The upgraded room fees per night are expensive and not really worth the money.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham

Posted Jan 24, 2017
Nice hotel, but the bed and pillows hard and uncomfortable. Loud constant buzzing noise in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the centre of town

Posted Jan 16, 2017
This is a chain hotel with a personal touch and very professional staff who actually seem to enjoy their work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We love the Blu radisson and come every year

Posted Jan 10, 2017
We always check out the shops in Durham then chill out in the hotel then go out for a meal and enjoy the nightlife
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Liverpool

1 adult 3 children

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: After getting off the train, I used maps on iphone, and it took me in the opposite direction through and up Durham. Not uder control of hotel!
Location: River walk, town, Cathedral, Weers, Salmon cork screw. We enjoyed the town center.
We caught a train and walked to the hotel. Kids 9,8, and 5 and a stack of hand luggage plus a pram. I was able to store the luggage and use the lobby to wait for grandparents to arrive. Staff were welcoming and had a 'no problem' attitude. Room was good. loads of sleeping room. Breakfast was free for the kids, which they loved. So did I. Again, I was able to store stuff until 1530 when we were picked up again. My sister who was picking us up had no trouble parking. Room check out at 1200 was very convenient. Thanks to the Australian girl on reception.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel shame about the customer service

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Waited over 30 mins to check in .. I booked a king size bed to be greeted by 2 singles... Bathroom flooded overnight... Breakfast was cold and over packed.. Then checked bank and they over charged me but on checkout she did say they correct amount to pay..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 17, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the multiple issues you encountered during your recent stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments and rest assured that this would be shared with the hotel's management so we can continually improve our services. If you think that you may have been overcharged, feel free to bring this up to the hotel's attention. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Radisson Blu Durham

Posted Dec 30, 2016
The hotel is very pleasant however the service was poor. Maintenance confirmed that the heating wasn't working because all guests were trying to get increase the temperature in their rooms. It was -1 degrees centigrade. We were then going to be charged a surplus for a complimentary drinks voucher at the bar - we had ordered 2 glasses of wine. Waited 20 mins to be seated for breakfast. Staff in the respective departments seemed unsure of their own and other available facilites i.e: we were room only and wanted to buy breakfast. We were wrongly told by one member of staff that A La Carte was not available for breakfast. He said he was going to check and provide a menu, but sent a manager over instead. She also said there was no A La Carte but when asked to check, she subsequently provided one ! Very disappointing !
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2017 by Customer Care, Hotel Management
Dear Cath and Alex, Thank you for your review. We regret to hear about the disappointing service you received throughout your stay. We apologize you were dissatisfied with the service at breakfast, in the bar, and when reporting that your heating wasn't working. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and have shared your feedback with hotel management to improve our guest experience.