Ratings based on 433 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newton aycliffe

Uncomfortable Temperatures in bedroom

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Well this was supposed to be a treat for my sister and i with my 2 nieces but it certainly wasn't 4star treatment. The room had plenty of dust around especially the lights. I have never been in a 4star where there is no temperature control it was so hot with the 4 of us. I did ring the reception and a chap came and i asked why it was so hot in the room and that it was impossible to sleep. He said he would get a fan we waited and waited and he never came back. We never got the relaxing overnight stay. I felt like because we had a voucher that we got a poor room. I won't be doing it again as it was supposed to be a relaxing overnight stay as I have just lost my mam. I did mention when handing keys in but they just said sorry to hear that then that's it.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

Old and tired

Posted Jul 30, 2017
A rare escape from the kids we were hoping for a bit of luxury for two nights. I booked a deluxe room. There was. Itching deluxe about the room we were given. It was dark, small, smelled foisty and the view was of a back alley containing wheelie bins. Nice. Also it was on the ground fooor on a main corridor. I went straight back to reception and asked for a different room. The receptionist was very pleasant and obliged. The new room was on the third floor. The car park view was a bit better and the room smelled a little better too. It was still, however, in desperate need of a refresh. The carpet was crunchy underfoot, the walls really needed a lick of paint and the furniture was old and battered. I returned to reception and queried if this was typical of a four star deluxe room. She confirmed it was. I can't possibly have been the first to think the rooms were a bit shabby. Ive stayed in better two star rooms. With apparently no spare rooms to upgrade us to we made do. They had apparently lost our dinner reservations, then later found two for the same night. We had dinner in the rib room. The food was lovely but again the surroundings were tired and in need of a refresh. We paid over £25 for our almost cold breakfast in the carvery. Not the best by any stretch, shocking for the price. Again, nowhere near four star. ordered room service, they brought my husbands but forgot mine. Spa was lovely and the only saving grace of our stay. wouldn't go back,Rockliffe hall is better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from whickham

Lovely hotel very near to Durham

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
We had a very relaxing stay at Ramside hall after a full on 60th birthday. We had spa treatments and took full advantage of the first class spa facilities. We dined in the Asian fusion restaurant and had a delicious breakfast one morning. All the staff were helpful and friendly but still professional. We both came home feeling refreshed and brand new. We had a mid week break which I would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Best hotel we've stayed at yet

Posted Jul 19, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Location and grounds of hotel was fantastic and there was plenty to see and do around Durham Newcastle area
From the moment you drive up the well manicured driveway towards the beautiful entrance and the hotels bently on its stance.You then enter the beautiful reception area to be greeted by friendly staff who go out of there way to make your stay memorable.The rooms with there facilities was fantastic we had full use of the spa facilities which we didn't use even though they looked fantastic.The meals were fantastic our only complaint was having to leave at the end of our stay.
5 out of 5
by Colin

Fantastic stay

Posted Jul 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for leisure weekend

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, Hotel Room, Spa, Golf Course and the feeling like your staying at a Castle.
Cons: Breakfast area, too dark and stuffy
Location: Great location, affordable tax fare into Durham or catch bus at end of drive. Plenty of places to visit and things to do.
Hotel was in a lovely area, Golf course and Spa Facilities. Lovely looking hotel, we had a room in the new part on the ground floor. We could not fault it. It was perfect and spacious. Even the sun was out for the weekend for us. The main part of the hotel is in need of refurbishing, albeit still very nice. Breakfast could be in a better location, but then I suppose in an old listed building this could be quite difficult. The spa is a must and my husband said the golf course's where impressive. If visiting Durham and then onto see the Kynren Show, this was a perfect location. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Durham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel, loved everything about it

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Ebookers
Had one night here .. good food , staff very helpful, pool and sauna was lovely ! Beautiful rooms ...
5 out of 5
by Karina

Posted Jun 20, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, Tidy , Quiet - Food in the Steakhouse/ Grill was very good. Would stay again
5 out of 5
by Norman

Ramside Hall eve od wdding stay

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Lovely hotel in a beautiful setting. Would certainly use it again