Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from durham

Old and tired

Posted Jul 30, 2017
A rare escape from the kids we were hoping for a bit of luxury for two nights. I booked a deluxe room. There was. Itching deluxe about the room we were given. It was dark, small, smelled foisty and the view was of a back alley containing wheelie bins. Nice. Also it was on the ground fooor on a main corridor. I went straight back to reception and asked for a different room. The receptionist was very pleasant and obliged. The new room was on the third floor. The car park view was a bit better and the room smelled a little better too. It was still, however, in desperate need of a refresh. The carpet was crunchy underfoot, the walls really needed a lick of paint and the furniture was old and battered. I returned to reception and queried if this was typical of a four star deluxe room. She confirmed it was. I can't possibly have been the first to think the rooms were a bit shabby. Ive stayed in better two star rooms. With apparently no spare rooms to upgrade us to we made do. They had apparently lost our dinner reservations, then later found two for the same night. We had dinner in the rib room. The food was lovely but again the surroundings were tired and in need of a refresh. We paid over £25 for our almost cold breakfast in the carvery. Not the best by any stretch, shocking for the price. Again, nowhere near four star. ordered room service, they brought my husbands but forgot mine. Spa was lovely and the only saving grace of our stay. wouldn't go back,Rockliffe hall is better
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from whickham

Lovely hotel very near to Durham

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
We had a very relaxing stay at Ramside hall after a full on 60th birthday. We had spa treatments and took full advantage of the first class spa facilities. We dined in the Asian fusion restaurant and had a delicious breakfast one morning. All the staff were helpful and friendly but still professional. We both came home feeling refreshed and brand new. We had a mid week break which I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for leisure weekend

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, Hotel Room, Spa, Golf Course and the feeling like your staying at a Castle.
Cons: Breakfast area, too dark and stuffy
Location: Great location, affordable tax fare into Durham or catch bus at end of drive. Plenty of places to visit and things to do.
Hotel was in a lovely area, Golf course and Spa Facilities. Lovely looking hotel, we had a room in the new part on the ground floor. We could not fault it. It was perfect and spacious. Even the sun was out for the weekend for us. The main part of the hotel is in need of refurbishing, albeit still very nice. Breakfast could be in a better location, but then I suppose in an old listed building this could be quite difficult. The spa is a must and my husband said the golf course's where impressive. If visiting Durham and then onto see the Kynren Show, this was a perfect location. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Durham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Excellent modern hotel with great golf.

Posted May 20, 2017 on Wotif
Friendly efficient service throughout our stay. The staff could not have been more obliging. Sleeping in a large, modern hotel room with an excellent bathroom, playing golf on well designed and immaculately maintained golf courses and dining in a no fuss carvery made this short break absolutely perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth another visit

Posted May 15, 2017
Expensive hotel and can be quite noisy overnight and early morning, but nevertheless a great. The best deal though is the food. If you decide you fancy A carvery between 3-6pm it includes Sunday dinner, homemade pies, salads etc, and a pudding for £8:95. If you decide to eat later8:30-10pm it 2 meals for £10 and the carvery is to die for. The spa is amazing with a huge pool and saunas. The only downfall is if you want to use the outdoor pool etc you have to pay a futher £30pp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County durham

Nice but dated

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice room but a little dated. Lovely bathroom but put off because the bath wasn't clean at all. It clearly wasn't cleaned properly. The room was a superior room. Booked for 2 adults and 2 children aged 1 and 6. Boy and girl , but had to share the beds with them as a 1 year old too small to stay in her own bed and cot hire was an extra 15 pounds. They clearly knew what age group I had booked for therefore should have prepared accordingly. Hard pillows, but overall a nice stay and staff very friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay near Durham

Posted May 14, 2017
Fantastic hotel, mattress not the comfiest. Lovely spa facilities.
5 out of 5
by andrea smith

Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
fantastic
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barnsley

Beautiful hotel, great facilities

Posted May 6, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: everything
Cons: couldn't fault the service
Location: Great meal out in Durham, and many places to grab a drink
Easily checked in, great room and great experience. absolutely will be back
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: spa
Cons: no
Location: durham cathedral close by and durham town
spa was great easy to find beautiful facilities lovely location would definitely come back, staff were very polite and the restaurant was really good the best fillet steak would highly recommend, loved the mud bath treatment too, very relaxing just what we needed, although we didn't use the golf facility but it looked very good