Ratings based on 404 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from whickham

Lovely hotel very near to Durham

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Everything
We had a very relaxing stay at Ramside hall after a full on 60th birthday. We had spa treatments and took full advantage of the first class spa facilities. We dined in the Asian fusion restaurant and had a delicious breakfast one morning. All the staff were helpful and friendly but still professional. We both came home feeling refreshed and brand new. We had a mid week break which I would highly recommend.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for leisure weekend

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Staff, Hotel Room, Spa, Golf Course and the feeling like your staying at a Castle.
Cons: Breakfast area, too dark and stuffy
Location: Great location, affordable tax fare into Durham or catch bus at end of drive. Plenty of places to visit and things to do.
Hotel was in a lovely area, Golf course and Spa Facilities. Lovely looking hotel, we had a room in the new part on the ground floor. We could not fault it. It was perfect and spacious. Even the sun was out for the weekend for us. The main part of the hotel is in need of refurbishing, albeit still very nice. Breakfast could be in a better location, but then I suppose in an old listed building this could be quite difficult. The spa is a must and my husband said the golf course's where impressive. If visiting Durham and then onto see the Kynren Show, this was a perfect location. We would definitely stay here again when visiting Durham.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth another visit

Posted May 15, 2017
Expensive hotel and can be quite noisy overnight and early morning, but nevertheless a great. The best deal though is the food. If you decide you fancy A carvery between 3-6pm it includes Sunday dinner, homemade pies, salads etc, and a pudding for £8:95. If you decide to eat later8:30-10pm it 2 meals for £10 and the carvery is to die for. The spa is amazing with a huge pool and saunas. The only downfall is if you want to use the outdoor pool etc you have to pay a futher £30pp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County durham

Nice but dated

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice room but a little dated. Lovely bathroom but put off because the bath wasn't clean at all. It clearly wasn't cleaned properly. The room was a superior room. Booked for 2 adults and 2 children aged 1 and 6. Boy and girl , but had to share the beds with them as a 1 year old too small to stay in her own bed and cot hire was an extra 15 pounds. They clearly knew what age group I had booked for therefore should have prepared accordingly. Hard pillows, but overall a nice stay and staff very friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay near Durham

Posted May 14, 2017
Fantastic hotel, mattress not the comfiest. Lovely spa facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: spa
Cons: no
Location: durham cathedral close by and durham town
spa was great easy to find beautiful facilities lovely location would definitely come back, staff were very polite and the restaurant was really good the best fillet steak would highly recommend, loved the mud bath treatment too, very relaxing just what we needed, although we didn't use the golf facility but it looked very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Lovely spa

Posted May 1, 2017
Very friendly staff. Beautiful spa. Food disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

OK for a wedding

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Don't pay for the extra Spa pass is it means nothing as every one and his dog just walks in and out as it isn't monitored by the staff, out door pool and jacuzzi full of drinking kids. OK for a wedding but give it a miss if you want a relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Yorkshire

Overnight stay for my husbands birthday

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The drive up to and overall appearance of the the hotel on arrival is stunning, fantastic service at reception and concierge service. Our room 309, although a family room and we were only a couple was excellent, comfortable, spacious and everything we needed and the bathroom was luxurious with espa toiletries. Robes and slippers were provided in the room for spa use too. We ate from the carvery on the evening and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. We paid extra to enter the spa although the pool and sauna are included in the tariff. Unfortunately the spa area was very overcrowded but we managed to enjoy what was there. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Fantastic hotel, really enjoyed our stay, Staff pleasant Would definitely stay again Would definitely recommend to a friend
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2017 by Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us, We appreciate your feedback.