Ratings based on 445 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from southshields

Nice hotel shame the reception staff are so unhelp

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Reception staff are unhelpful and have an unfriendly manner
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice stay.

Posted Oct 21, 2017
Pros: Everything is quality, bedding , bathroom and fixtures.
Cons: Carvery organisation leaves a lot to be desired. Serving staff doing their best, paying for each course at a time , ridiculous.
Location: Have been intending to visit Durham for years, so glad we did. Lovely city.
Throughly enjoyed a two night stay. Staff all very obliging. Used the spa which was superb.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wales

Comfort with excellent facilities.

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Excellent room with all the comforts you would expect. Clean well equipped spa facility, and grounds kept to a very high standard. A restful 3 day break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hartlepool

Hotel Location and beautiful scenery

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Beautiful place with friendly and helpful staff and will deffinatly be back again. Meals were exceptional,room was 10/10 overall experience, one happy customer many thanks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very good leisure facilities but would not stay ag

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Have stayed a few times in this hotel but will not return bar area terrible very stained seating felt unclean breakfast average only saving grace are excellent leisure facilities
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Superb place to stay

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Spent a few days in this hotel whilst in the region. A great place with engaging cheerful staff and wonderful facilities. Room was beautifully presented and food was excellent - we had breakfast and used room service)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Practical

Posted Oct 7, 2017
Ideal for access to local transport links. Fantastic facilities, with access to the spar & golf course.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely spa hotel close to Durham city

Posted Oct 2, 2017
Cons: Staff could have been a bit more helpful
Wonderful stay, very impressive property. Amazing spacious room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Supposed to be relaxing?

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Pros: Meal
Cons: Decide if it's a relaxing break or a party venue! Cannot do both..
In 45yrs this is only hotel I have ever left in the middle of the night. Myself and my wife (7 mth pregnant) booked into the hotel last min when someone offered to have our twins for a night on the BH Weekend. We were in desperate need of a relaxing break Spa- waited ages for a drink then with everyone at the pool watching, were refused access to a more suited pool (for my wife) because we hadn't upgraded our access (we were never told otherwise we would have). I had tried my armband beforehand and it worked on the access pad. Simply told 'yeah, it does that' asked our room no. and said 'can you go back and wait over there till I check that your allowed in'. 1hr passed, he never came back and we left - Very awkward and embarrassing. The evening meal was nice. We headed back to room at 10pm for a good sleep! That simply DID NOT happen. At midnight, after hours of external floodlights glaring past the curtains in our room and rowdy drunks screaming and shouting both outside and the in the corridor I went to the reception to complain. We were exhausted! Apparently it was the golfers (nothing to do with serving them drink till all hours) The night staff said they would sort out and simply didn't. At 1 am my wife was crying, we were tired / stressed and I started to pack our bags. A lot of arguing in between (not enough characters to write about), paid £130ish and left. Told Manager would call next Day, 4 Weeks later still waiting! Disgusting!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cumbria

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Hotel and staff were very very nice. Staff were child friendly. However the Pool times were a bit too restrictive for families with children. We traveled 4 hours as traffic was bad and out daughter was so upset that we got there as 6pm and kids were not allowed in pool then. Also it was a bit noisy at night, could here drunk people chattering in corridors. Basically a lovely place catering very well for groups and couples but not as family friendly.