Ratings based on 283 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A night away

Posted Oct 27, 2016
Pros: Amazing food
Cons: Early check in
A beautiful hotel rather confusing which is the main entrance. Staff very helpful and outstanding hotel. The superior room very clean but electric heater in room broken rather cold.A also because an old building we heard the room above walking all night. Would return however in a suite. The rib room steak was outstanding and would travel just for the food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from c


Posted Oct 22, 2016
Location: Durham city centre, spa onsite, golf course on site
Amazing night spa was amazing deluxe room was to die for and the steak restaurant was amazing definitely would come back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

More like a 3 Star

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Grounds & spa
Cons: Cleanliness, noise level, physical banner ads everywhere, beds.
Location: 2 miles out of Durham next to busy road.
Very noisy, needed maintenance and better cleaning, mattresses and pillows uncomfortable. Surface luxury. Nice enough, but does not justify the cost. Staff were kind enough to let us move room due to noise but think walls in modern part of the hotel just too thin, so noise still woke us.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Great stay with family .Definitely will return

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Pros: Felt lavish and very clean
Cons: Nothing to point out.
Location: You'll need your car but taxi's are cheap into Durham.
Had two nights stay with family and wish we'd stayed longer. Plan to return just the two of us to make more use of the facilities. Only tiny point was there was no information on facilities in the room. IE times children could use the pool etc. Great stay though .Will return
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cambs

Fantastic hotel, My new favourite hotel in Durham

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The room was immaculate, the view was excellent. The bed was very comfortable, the shower was awesome.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newcastle

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Fusion restaurant was amazing food, spa beautiful and pool staff great.
Cons: The rooms in older part of hotel are awful, full of mold and condensation running down the windows. Need total revamp.
Overall nice stay would stay again. New part of hotel far superior to other end.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from wakefield

Very nice hotel, excellent amenities

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Our anniversary and enjoyed it very much, lovely hotel , very good service, very nice room would come again
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glasgow

Excellent relaxing hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Fantastic, only down side was lack of mini bar fridge in room. Had my 7 month old baby with me but had no where to keep her food and juice chilled. Other than that staff were very accommodating.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from darlington

Lovely hotel and spa

Posted Aug 30, 2016
When we went a wedding was on and the guests opposite us were very noisy all night. We addressed the duty manager who was aware of this and said that staff had asked them to quieten down. I think after this experience it may be a good idea to give guest 2 warnings and on the third asked to leave as it's unfair to other guests to have to endure this when you have planned a relaxing break
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Lovely 2 night stay

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Location: Dalton Park for shopping, Durham Cathedral and Castle for sightseeing.
Lovely hotel. Room large with comfy bed. Nice toiletries in the bathroom. Made use of the spa area, relaxed with a magazine by the pool! Hotel is easy to get to with plenty of parking. Would definitely return.