Ratings based on 397 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely worth another visit

Posted May 15, 2017
Expensive hotel and can be quite noisy overnight and early morning, but nevertheless a great. The best deal though is the food. If you decide you fancy A carvery between 3-6pm it includes Sunday dinner, homemade pies, salads etc, and a pudding for £8:95. If you decide to eat later8:30-10pm it 2 meals for £10 and the carvery is to die for. The spa is amazing with a huge pool and saunas. The only downfall is if you want to use the outdoor pool etc you have to pay a futher £30pp.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from County durham

Nice but dated

Posted May 14, 2017
Nice room but a little dated. Lovely bathroom but put off because the bath wasn't clean at all. It clearly wasn't cleaned properly. The room was a superior room. Booked for 2 adults and 2 children aged 1 and 6. Boy and girl , but had to share the beds with them as a 1 year old too small to stay in her own bed and cot hire was an extra 15 pounds. They clearly knew what age group I had booked for therefore should have prepared accordingly. Hard pillows, but overall a nice stay and staff very friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Short stay near Durham

Posted May 14, 2017
Fantastic hotel, mattress not the comfiest. Lovely spa facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

lovely hotel

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: spa
Cons: no
Location: durham cathedral close by and durham town
spa was great easy to find beautiful facilities lovely location would definitely come back, staff were very polite and the restaurant was really good the best fillet steak would highly recommend, loved the mud bath treatment too, very relaxing just what we needed, although we didn't use the golf facility but it looked very good
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Lovely spa

Posted May 1, 2017
Very friendly staff. Beautiful spa. Food disappointing
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

OK for a wedding

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Don't pay for the extra Spa pass is it means nothing as every one and his dog just walks in and out as it isn't monitored by the staff, out door pool and jacuzzi full of drinking kids. OK for a wedding but give it a miss if you want a relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Yorkshire

Overnight stay for my husbands birthday

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The drive up to and overall appearance of the the hotel on arrival is stunning, fantastic service at reception and concierge service. Our room 309, although a family room and we were only a couple was excellent, comfortable, spacious and everything we needed and the bathroom was luxurious with espa toiletries. Robes and slippers were provided in the room for spa use too. We ate from the carvery on the evening and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. We paid extra to enter the spa although the pool and sauna are included in the tariff. Unfortunately the spa area was very overcrowded but we managed to enjoy what was there. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Fantastic hotel, really enjoyed our stay, Staff pleasant Would definitely stay again Would definitely recommend to a friend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, great facilities for golfing.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids, aged 5 and 3. We were unaware on booking and disappointed to find out that the swimming pool times were very restricted for kids especially during easter holidays. Would not recommend the hotel for staying over with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great one night break Nice pool Nice restaurant Nice room Friendly staff Easy to get to Close to Durham