Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kent

Lovely hotel close to the A1

Posted Jul 19, 2016
Stayed here to break up a journey to Scotland. Hotel and staff lovely, the spa was really relaxing especially after a long drive. We had dinner in the fusion restaurant which was excellent.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from West Yorkshire.

Relaxing 2 night stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The spa, the room and the food.
Cons: The Pemberton carvery room is looking a little tired now. Drinks are very expensive.
Location: The hotel isn't within walking distance of anything interesting nearby..you need a car to get around. Durham is about a 10 minute drive.
This has always been a beautiful hotel, we have been going for 25 years....we were extremely delighted at the new spa and the new premier rooms. food in the Grill room and Fusion was gorgeous..if a little on the expensive side, drinks are also very expensive..£3.00 for a coffee in the Pemberton which wasn't even very nice. We were so happy with our overall stay that we have booked to stay again at Christmas.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from rover

Overnight stay

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Excellent facilities staff good Phone system and procedures need improving (reception not diverted on the night )
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chester

Lovely hotel close to motorway and city of Durham.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Pros: Overall appearance was excellent and it was very clean and plenty of parking spaces.
Cons: Internal directions to the hotel restaurant a little confusing finding your way in and out.
Location: Perfect location to motorways,well sign posted to Durham and places of interest.
We were not happy with a member of staff on reception,but overall found other members of staff,pleasant and helpful. The staff at the golf clubhouse were particularly pleasant helpful and accommodating and would recommend without hesitation this side of the hotel complex.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 6, 2016
Hotel was dated, but clean. Use of the gym, pool and sauna facilities was a nice touch.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northumberland

Not what I expected

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Convenient for the event attended.
Cons: Skills of some of the staff. Temperature of the cooked breakfast.
Hotel expensive and breakfast not included on overnight price. Facilities were good, some staff excellent but some were either on too much of a hurry or lacked interpersonal skills. The cooked breakfast was only just warm.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from beverley

Nice clean hotel with 2 golf courses

Posted Jun 24, 2016
Pros: Very close to A1
Cons: Bit dissapointed with service at breakfast
Played the Cathedral course well worth a round . Bar prices are a bit high , the spa was very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Short break

Posted Jun 5, 2016
Pros: Lovely location, friendly staff, close to where family still live
Cons: Everything seems ok
Location: Visited friends and family, visited metro centre
Staff fantastic, room fantastic, fantastic meal all ruined by some totally mindless yobs that decided that they and 15 of their friends would have a party in the room next door, so loud we actually thought it was the disco for the wedding party that had been there the day before. Credit to the hotel night porter who whilst on his rounds heard the racus and alerted the duty manager who confronted the bedroom disco party and asked them to leave then had to threaten getting the police. The duty manager was so apologetic to another guest as well as ourselves who had complained, he fully explained the situation and offered us a complementary visit, unfortunately this wasn't suitable for us at this time so a reduction on the bill was accepted
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lowestoft

Great Hotel, shame about reception attitude

Posted Jun 1, 2016
Pros: Clean, comfortable and good value
Cons: Attitude of reception staff to clients
Recently stayed at this Hotel. I arrived early, just after midday and was informed that my room was not yet ready as it had not yet been cleaned and booking in was at 3pm. Whilst at reception I overheard reception staff on the phone enquiring with domestic cleaning staff checking the early availability of other rooms, some of which were available. I was informed by reception staff that if I returned to reception at 1pm they would check to see if my room was ready. Having driven 250 miles, a 5 hour journey from home to the hotel, I returned to wait in my car in the car park. At 1pm I returned to reception, only to be informed that my room was still unavailable. No effort was made to offer any alternative room which may have been available and consequently I had to meet friends for an evening party without being able to freshen up and change!!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

Posted May 17, 2016
Great facilities Fantastic food Very relaxing weekend