Ratings based on 344 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sheffield

Great. Lovely hotel, excellent Spa complex

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Pros: The spacious room with a large, comfortable bed.
Cons: Food and drink prices are a bit daunting.
Location: Durham city is close. Visit the Cathedral and castle or just mooch around the shopping area. Makes a good parents base camp during Uni visits.
Had a 2 night mid-week break. Durham is 5 minutes away by car but park and ride stop is also close if you want to bus it in. The Spa is brilliant and free for hotel residents. The room was big and comfortable with a large bed. Staff are pleasant and efficient. The hotel has a carvery which is not well publicised but offers a good, early evening meal alternative for the more budget conscious of us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice relaxing break

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Bed in room was smaller than we expected.Goods in room were overpriced
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from durham

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Quick check in very relaxing and good food. Comfortable and clean rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from South Yorkshire

Nice Hotel... Except the Inferno Rooms

Posted Feb 19, 2017
We thought the hotel looked great & the spa but our room was absolutely boiling, couldn't turn down the radiator & the window was broken so we barely slept. Also the wifi didn't reach our room so I couldn't get any work done on the night either. Not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Food

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Sadly the food that we experienced was a let down. The first night we tried the Carvery...we looked but didn't stay! The food on offer was congealed or dried out. The cleanliness behind the carvery area was extremely poor. We then went to the Fusion restaurant which was mediocre, not great food. The staff were friendly but we didn't receive the service you'd expect in a 4* hotel. The wine ordered was plonked on the table and that was that.... We loved the hotel. Room was very comfortable and the spa was amazing but we ate out for the rest of our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Chill out weekend

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Great spa facilities and room was perfect with enormous bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing Break

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Stayed for a romantic break. Everything was up to the usual high standards at the Ramside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for golf spa or gym

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Service in the restaurant first class food served was cold waiter handled everything in a very professional and pleasant manner, checking both in and out easy, room was of a first class standard, will defiantly return this time with my clubs
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from sandhurst

It was OK.....

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Hotel ok. Nothing special. Been to better in the area. Room excellent. Clean and tidy. Rest of hotel other than spa in need of upgrade. Spa a bit of a rip off. Paid for the weekend and not allowed in all areas. And certainly not paying £25 a head to visit two other pools after paying near on £400 for a weekend. Other local better hotels include this. U need to book restaurants a year before u arrive in hotel. Take note. Tried to book both steak and Thai. Were told thai full and steak house not until after 9pm. Went to look at spa where the Thai restaurant was located. Turned out thai was empty and they could infact seat us despite being told otherwise... Anyhow. Overall it was OK. Would go back but only if nothing else available in the area....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located great spa facilities tiired in places

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Well located great spa facilities tired in places and had to queue to check in and out !