Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sunderland

OK for a wedding

Posted Apr 22, 2017
Don't pay for the extra Spa pass is it means nothing as every one and his dog just walks in and out as it isn't monitored by the staff, out door pool and jacuzzi full of drinking kids. OK for a wedding but give it a miss if you want a relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north Yorkshire

Overnight stay for my husbands birthday

Posted Apr 18, 2017
The drive up to and overall appearance of the the hotel on arrival is stunning, fantastic service at reception and concierge service. Our room 309, although a family room and we were only a couple was excellent, comfortable, spacious and everything we needed and the bathroom was luxurious with espa toiletries. Robes and slippers were provided in the room for spa use too. We ate from the carvery on the evening and the food was very nice and reasonably priced. We paid extra to enter the spa although the pool and sauna are included in the tariff. Unfortunately the spa area was very overcrowded but we managed to enjoy what was there. All the staff we encountered were helpful and polite and we will definitely return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017
Fantastic hotel, really enjoyed our stay, Staff pleasant Would definitely stay again Would definitely recommend to a friend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Nice hotel, great facilities for golfing.

Posted Apr 14, 2017
Booked a family room for 2 adults and 2 kids, aged 5 and 3. We were unaware on booking and disappointed to find out that the swimming pool times were very restricted for kids especially during easter holidays. Would not recommend the hotel for staying over with children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Great one night break Nice pool Nice restaurant Nice room Friendly staff Easy to get to Close to Durham
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh, Scotland

Hen Weekend

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Not a lot
Cons: The comfort of the bed and the quality of the breakfast.
I was booked into Ramside Hall to join my future daughter in law and her friends for a Hen Weekend. I do have to say I was disappointed with my stay as although the room was spacious the bed was not comfortable and I did not have a very restful sleep. My main complaint about my stay was on arrival we were all told that we had a complementary spa access so with excitement after checking in I went over to Spa Area all set to enter when I was told by Spa staff it was fully booked and I could not get into spa area until 6.30 pm. I would have thought as a paying guest I would have been able to enter the Spa. We were all booked to have a meal in the Fusion Restaurant at 8.00 pm so needless to say I missed using the Spa. The breakfast the next day was not particularly exciting either. I would not recommend this hotel and I was also handed over an invoice from the Reception staff at Departure where I paid £80 but in fact I had paid £102 so I assume this is your commission for me booking this hotel through yourselves. I stayed in room 227 for your information. Yours sincerely Marilyn Ritchie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Love this spa hotel, easy access into Durham city to explore. Spa facilities excellent. Formal and informal dining facilities. Accommodating to families. Have been several times, definitely return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Slightly dated decor in the rooms, could do with an update but lovely comfy rooms and overall beautiful hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ramside hall

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Enjoyed stay overall, only negative room was very cold and no radiator in bathroom made the temperature in the room in general uncomfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

excellent spa facilites

Posted Mar 27, 2017
spa facilities and location grounds excellent. rooms spacious but a little dark despite lots of lights. 3 Restaurants on site with good choice of food. Fusion was superb and service was excellent. Rib steakhouse although steaks were excellent waited 1 hour 10 mins and given booking wad 9.30 was late to eat once arrived. Breakfast is self service but disappointed as food was warm and quite hard from lights. Second morning ordered from cook to order menu and was much better.