Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from york

The old house

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and beautiful grounds. Lovely spa.
Cons: Stop the doors banging
Location: Lovely walks. We went to the park and ride and went into Durham for the day.
We upgraded into the old house which was lovely but very noisey floorboards outside and above which kept us awake. There were 2 parties happening so was probably busier than normal.. The bed was masssive and very comfortable, 4 poster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice hotel facilities are excellent

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Stayed for 25th wedding anniversary thought room could have been cleaner and more facilities in room, but bed was really comfortable and enjoyed stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Large hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Hotel facilities, warm staff and good food
Cons: Electronic entry room cards which gave out too often. We think that they were wearing out even when not placed near a mobile 'phone or other device.
Location: Near Durham and Shildon Railway museum
Christmas four day break was very good. Hotel staff are warm and welcoming. Food very good apart from Gala Dinner on the evening of Boxing Day where it was average at best. The main restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner on Boxing Day so perhaps this dinner was not supplied by them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Very pleasant. Tidy, spacious room; nice pool and spa and fantastic food at the restaurant. Recommend the blade of beef and pulled pork! Staff friendly and approachable. The hotel is a something of a maze but that's not necessarily a criticism...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from sunderland

Weekend break

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Lovely open fires. Nooks and crannies to sit in.
Cons: More staff on bar at busy times
Location: Beautiful grounds
Lovely relaxing break. Staff friendly and helpful. Pool and sauna etc nice. Food bit expensive but very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016
We had a perfectly fine stay for a wedding. The hotel rooms and bathrooms are dated and tired - I think worth only £80 per night (for two people) including breakfast (which was okay), but we paid more than this hence the low rating. If you can get a cheap deal, it's okay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from k

Very nice hotel. Nice premises. Good breakfasr

Posted Oct 14, 2016
The room was the cheaper one. Below ground with a window looking at a ramp. However the price was ok. The room and bed were comfortable. My only complaint was the bathroom exhaust.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tasmania

Looks can be deceiving

Posted Aug 20, 2016
Pros: The exterior facade & grounds.
Cons: 1st, A friendly welcome, Plumbing, functional lift, staff awareness to the daily problems (non function lift as example)
Location: Ask reception, like hell.
The very efficient greeting was brrrr, very cold. I was so looking forward to the stay at this hotel, for the exterior photography looked so appealing. Don't be deceived by the promotional pictures, both on line nor in print. We had a staff member escort us up and down many corridors and stairways, in a newer part of the hotel. We eventually arrived at a non functional lift! (the lift, we were told, was out of order) Why the staff member was not aware of the problem is beyond belief !! On with the expedition, luggage still in tow, & more stairs, before we arrived at the allocated room. I entered the room and if it was going to be this room, first impression took over. It was nothing but a very cheap motel room at a high cost per night, with 3/4 of the window views taken up by an embankment. We said this is not on! The staff member phoned the "cold greeting department" and was told we could have a room on the ground floor, toward the front of house, with no non functioning lift to worry about. Brilliant !! This room appeared much better for the price, but it was designated dissabled persons,neither of us are. (we felt uncomfortable, as it may be required) After all the hiking around the hotel I needed to use the bathroom. Wow, do they have a plumbing issue, a flood all over the floor. Then the shower base started to gurgle. My partner lifted the grid to see what the cause was, only to reveal what could assume to be pubic hair blended with soap, quite revulting!,,!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Perfect special occasion venue.

Posted Aug 8, 2016
A serene location to enjoy a friend's family celebrations. Food was tasty, staff friendly and room very comfortable. A lovely swimming pool and facilities with terrific gardens to walk around. On a positive, it was dog friendly, which is great but service was a bit slow in the evening when we ordered a bar snack.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North East England

Nice Hotel in beautiful surroundings

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Room and surroundings
Cons: Pizzas can make better ones myself
Very comfortable stay at Redworth Hall, room was comfortable and clean apart from cobwebs on the ceiling and walls, bathroom was clean and spacious. Bar only has two choices of draught lager and was quite pricey, breakfast was lovely however on the evening I ordered a pizza for supper which was poor quality for the price. Overall enjoyed our stay.