Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Leicestershire

A beautiful stately hotel, but a bit tired.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: Beautiful building in a nice location.
Cons: needs major investment to bring it right up to date.
Location: Lots to do although all would require a car!
This is a majestic property in a good location not far from the M1. It has all the facilities but requires some major investment to bring it up to a high standard. The public areas are pleasant and the pool is nice enough - there is a little note to say that there is a new jacuzzi on order. Overall the hotel is adequate as it is and it was very busy when we stayed. The food is fairly good, staff are very friendly and welcoming. The room was fine for us, a family room with a double bed, a single and a put up bed and it was spacious. There was a tv in each room, tea, hot chocolate and biscuits too. The bathroom is very tired, although I believe it has been slightly updated, however it needs completely ripping out and redoing! Days of in consistent water temperature and a dangerously boiling hot tap ("only use the cold one"!!!) are no longer acceptable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from jackson, tn

Great place

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: Perfect for meetings, drinks, dinner. Rooms were clean and comfortable
Cons: Nothing
Location: Good location
Was there for business. Perfect for meetings, drinks, dinner. Rooms were clean and comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from county durham

Nice relaxing break.

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Wanted a local hotel that had pool and spa facilities. This hotel fitted the bill perfectly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely family friendly hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
With two small children we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mini golf swimming however soft play was out of order. Breakfast was delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family friendly hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great family room. Lovely grounds and helpful friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with a fantastic old rustic look.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great for a romantic getaway as it is hidden away into the woods. Great facilities and nice rooms. Keep using as it's good value for price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

No water at the Inn

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: We did have a bar meal on our first night there which was ecellent.
Cons: change of attitude from the management towards guests when they are not happy.
Location: excellent location not far from the motorway with easy access to Durham and Newcastle.
On arriving at the hotel we discovered there had been a burst water main and although it should have been mended that day it was in fact not repaired until well into the following day and it was many hours later that there was any decent hot water. Although we can appreciate it was not the hotels fault in any way their lack of concern for the guests was disappointing. At no time did we receive any apologies or offered a reduction/alternative accommodation in one of their other hotels within the group. We are still waiting a response from the email we sent them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

A lovely country hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Stayed at the Redworth for one night to celebrate our anniversary. It is such a beautiful building with lovely grounds, however the inside of the hotel is in need of a little work. It has plenty of old world charm which is great, but there was flaking paint in out room and our bathroom was quite old and basic, which was a bit disappointing. I can't fault the staff however who were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matlock

Good food and kind to dogs

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Dog friendly and food
Cons: fittings in the room a little tired
Location: Good for Durham and nearby coast
Had a 4 day break at the hotel. Staff very friendly and arrangements for our dog worked well. Food was excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pretty old manor house in a lovely setting

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The gym and pool.
Cons: Update the decor
Location: Don't know. I was there for work.
The hotel is beautiful on the outside. The inside needs some updating. The lift stopped working, with me in it. Luckily the doors opened about three minutes later but I would not trust the lift to get into it again. My room was OK, but curtains were torn in places. Decor quite dated. No thermostat to control heating and my room was hot. In January, I had to keep both windows open just to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.