Ratings based on 279 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely family friendly hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
With two small children we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Mini golf swimming however soft play was out of order. Breakfast was delicious
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good family friendly hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Great family room. Lovely grounds and helpful friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel with a fantastic old rustic look.

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great for a romantic getaway as it is hidden away into the woods. Great facilities and nice rooms. Keep using as it's good value for price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

No water at the Inn

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: We did have a bar meal on our first night there which was ecellent.
Cons: change of attitude from the management towards guests when they are not happy.
Location: excellent location not far from the motorway with easy access to Durham and Newcastle.
On arriving at the hotel we discovered there had been a burst water main and although it should have been mended that day it was in fact not repaired until well into the following day and it was many hours later that there was any decent hot water. Although we can appreciate it was not the hotels fault in any way their lack of concern for the guests was disappointing. At no time did we receive any apologies or offered a reduction/alternative accommodation in one of their other hotels within the group. We are still waiting a response from the email we sent them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle

A lovely country hotel

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Stayed at the Redworth for one night to celebrate our anniversary. It is such a beautiful building with lovely grounds, however the inside of the hotel is in need of a little work. It has plenty of old world charm which is great, but there was flaking paint in out room and our bathroom was quite old and basic, which was a bit disappointing. I can't fault the staff however who were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Matlock

Good food and kind to dogs

Posted Jan 29, 2017
Pros: Dog friendly and food
Cons: fittings in the room a little tired
Location: Good for Durham and nearby coast
Had a 4 day break at the hotel. Staff very friendly and arrangements for our dog worked well. Food was excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Pretty old manor house in a lovely setting

Posted Jan 25, 2017
Pros: The gym and pool.
Cons: Update the decor
Location: Don't know. I was there for work.
The hotel is beautiful on the outside. The inside needs some updating. The lift stopped working, with me in it. Luckily the doors opened about three minutes later but I would not trust the lift to get into it again. My room was OK, but curtains were torn in places. Decor quite dated. No thermostat to control heating and my room was hot. In January, I had to keep both windows open just to keep the room at a comfortable temperature.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from york

The old house

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff and beautiful grounds. Lovely spa.
Cons: Stop the doors banging
Location: Lovely walks. We went to the park and ride and went into Durham for the day.
We upgraded into the old house which was lovely but very noisey floorboards outside and above which kept us awake. There were 2 parties happening so was probably busier than normal.. The bed was masssive and very comfortable, 4 poster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Nice hotel facilities are excellent

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Stayed for 25th wedding anniversary thought room could have been cleaner and more facilities in room, but bed was really comfortable and enjoyed stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Large hotel with excellent facilities

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pros: Hotel facilities, warm staff and good food
Cons: Electronic entry room cards which gave out too often. We think that they were wearing out even when not placed near a mobile 'phone or other device.
Location: Near Durham and Shildon Railway museum
Christmas four day break was very good. Hotel staff are warm and welcoming. Food very good apart from Gala Dinner on the evening of Boxing Day where it was average at best. The main restaurant was closed for lunch and dinner on Boxing Day so perhaps this dinner was not supplied by them.