Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Roger M.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

near Durham

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The food was outstanding. Some of the best meals we've had in the UK, we enjoyed at the Avenue Inn.
Cons: The cramped conditions limit mobility in some rooms. A disclaimer for people who are tall or have mobility challenges might be in order.
Location: Great access to Durham. The Town of High Shircliffe is nice, but there is little else around except for this inn.
The Avenue Inn is a restored public house with outstanding food and great service. Because it was a public house, some of the spaces are cramped and have low ceilings. But the Village of High Shircliffe, is close to Durham making it easy to access the city.
5 out of 5
by LESLIE

Good dtay

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comfy bed. Could use a fan in this room as it faces west. Good pub not far on the Cam. Was able to watch boat races.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Decent enough

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
The venue is decent enough. I'm 6'4" so putting me in room 6 (the loft) wasn't great as I baged my head on the beams around 10 times! Outside of this it's a nice pub with reasonable accomocation and a nice atmosphere with helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard rooms with pub and restaurant

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Right by the road so easy to find and free street side self parking. A pub and restaurant is downstairs so it may be a bit noisy if you like peace and quite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff excellent breakfast convenient for Durham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming atmosphere, wonderful food

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: A few miles outside Durham, but bus that runs regularly into Durham, with stop just across the street.
I loved staying here, but it was not close to the city center. If you come, be prepared to take bus into Durham ( a pleasant experience, by the way).. But if you are looking for a quiet room and yet lively dining room experience, this really fits the bill.Seems to be a local favorite,always a good sign of good food and quality service. Staff was very accommodating--a plus.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice country inn

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
Nice country inn with lots of character. Excellent breakfasts. Very good public transport into Durham city (2 miles away). Very nice staff. Will stay again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very nice 2 night stay

Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
Try to get a room on the 1st floor,as the attic rooms have a very low beam.
5 out of 5
by Susan from Leyland, Lancashire

Posted Aug 15, 2016 on Hotels
Was used for a 2 night stay whilst visiting/sightseeing the city centre. Could not fault anything, room very comfortable & clean, staff very friendly & helpful, meals excellent. Would certainly recommend The Avenue Inn and would stay again if ever revisiting the area.