Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really impressed for the price!

Posted Mar 8, 2018 on Hotels
Room was lovely. Breakfast was amazing, the shower was in a little cubicle which seemed to turn the shower into a mini steam room! This also meant the mirror in the bathroom wasn’t steamed up! I would definitely stay here again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

First class all round - would recommend.

Posted Feb 26, 2018 on Hotels
Top class throughout, Excellent spacious and well equipped room. Local pub with plenty atmosphere. Excellent choice of food at reasonable cost. Parking a bit limited, but overall well above standard at this cost level.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Hotels
An ideal base for visiting Durham. Quiet, clean accommodation of a high standard. Both breakfast and evening meals were very good and the real ale was in good condition. Staff were pleasant and efficient so all in all a real gem!
5 out of 5
by Roger M.

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from USA

near Durham

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: The food was outstanding. Some of the best meals we've had in the UK, we enjoyed at the Avenue Inn.
Cons: The cramped conditions limit mobility in some rooms. A disclaimer for people who are tall or have mobility challenges might be in order.
Location: Great access to Durham. The Town of High Shircliffe is nice, but there is little else around except for this inn.
The Avenue Inn is a restored public house with outstanding food and great service. Because it was a public house, some of the spaces are cramped and have low ceilings. But the Village of High Shircliffe, is close to Durham making it easy to access the city.
5 out of 5
by LESLIE

Good dtay

Posted Jun 18, 2017 on Hotels
Comfy bed. Could use a fan in this room as it faces west. Good pub not far on the Cam. Was able to watch boat races.
4 out of 5
by Paul

Decent enough

Posted Jun 15, 2017 on Hotels
The venue is decent enough. I'm 6'4" so putting me in room 6 (the loft) wasn't great as I baged my head on the beams around 10 times! Outside of this it's a nice pub with reasonable accomocation and a nice atmosphere with helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Standard rooms with pub and restaurant

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Right by the road so easy to find and free street side self parking. A pub and restaurant is downstairs so it may be a bit noisy if you like peace and quite.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2016 on Hotels
Friendly staff excellent breakfast convenient for Durham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming atmosphere, wonderful food

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Location: A few miles outside Durham, but bus that runs regularly into Durham, with stop just across the street.
I loved staying here, but it was not close to the city center. If you come, be prepared to take bus into Durham ( a pleasant experience, by the way).. But if you are looking for a quiet room and yet lively dining room experience, this really fits the bill.Seems to be a local favorite,always a good sign of good food and quality service. Staff was very accommodating--a plus.