Ratings based on 178 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Torture

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything
Location: The location was nice
The bed belonged in a torture chamber, I ended up sleeping on the quilt in an attempt to reduce the pain from the springs sticking into me, fully clothed to keep warm, finally got about two hours sleep. My wife and I felt as though we had been run over by a truck in the morning. The owner didn't care about our discomfort and did not offer a refund of any sort. The room was VERY basic and needed a good clean. Needless to say we didn't stay the following night, so we incurred extra costs for alternative accommodation.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leicester

Uncomfortable location and very poor accommodation

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Terrible bed. Terrible shower. No bulb in bedside lamp. Inadequate car park used by drunken people to smoke, shout, swear, argue until very late.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A PR problem

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Pros: Close to Durham city centre
Cons: more comfortable mattress.
Location: ?
I chose this B&B because Booking.com stated that the breakfast was included in the price. This is not entirely accurate. The cold breakfast (Cerials, juice) IS included in the price but the cooked breakfast is not. This was disappointing. The cooked breakfast itself was wonderful, beautifully cooked and cost £3.95 which was good. My point is that i came away with an ambivalent attitude to the Bay Horse and this could be so easily avoided. I would suggest adding £4 to the price and having every customer go home extremely happy.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy to find, nice quiet location

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: the staff were extremely helpful. Easy to find & very convenient parking.
Cons: the restaurant was not open for evening meals - this should have been explained before we booked.
Fairly comfortable bed. Good check in service. Lovely welcome at breakfast & very nice cooked breakfast. Shame we weren't told that the restaurant was not open for evening meals
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Basic but good value for money

Posted Mar 31, 2017
The room was definitely described as more luxurious than it was, but to get such a good value room so close to Durham was excellent. Facilities were basic and the en suit wasn't the cleanest, but I would stay there again due to Location and price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great overnight stay

Posted Mar 27, 2017
Pros: The price was very good.
Cons: As above, covers on the bed bases would have improved the look of the room.
Location: Driving distance to Durham suited us.
Booked a family room for an overnight stay. Room was spacious and adequate for our needs. Very clean and well presented without frills. Covers on the bed bases might improve the look of the room. Ensuite had all we needed and had both a bath and shower. Complimentary continental breakfast was adequate and lady who attended us was very pleasant and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Definitely value for money

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Great staff, very accommodating and room was beyond what was expected with lots of little details making it so much more pleasant. Would stay again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice room, clean bedding and very comfortable.

Posted Mar 18, 2017
The accommodation is basic with no frills but this is reflected in the price ,which is very good value for money. and includes a continental breakfast. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. Very hospitable. The location was near to the village of High Brandon and not too far from the City of Durham and local landmarks. The scenery around was beautiful. My only criticism would be the mould in the shower but I understand that these are in the process of being replaced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from stoke-on - Trent

Local to Durham

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Quiet pub separate bock for accommodation good and comfortable. Broken tile on base by the shower needed repair as could have caused cuts to feet apart from that ok for a night
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Birthday in Durham

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Rooms need updating
Really nice staff and great food, went to Durham for a Birthday party