Ratings based on 229 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good value hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The room was a very good size and clean with en-suite bathroom. The staff, especially the night receptionist were very friendly and helpful.
Cons: The shower, although functional could be slightly improved. The room (although non-smoking) still carried a faint odour of (old) cigarettes.
Location: It's not too close to Durham centre, but if you have a car it's less than 10 mins drive.
This 'motel' style hotel was a pleasant surprise. The overall value for money considering its RELATIVE closeness to Durham centre is a good selling point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lincoln

Good value but needs updating

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Room was ok but quite basic, would definitely benefit from some redecorating
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire

Clean and warm room

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Pros: Very private
Cons: No
Location: Excellent location
Very nice and comfortable definitely recommend, the room was warm and very clean, the chalet was very private and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. Would definitely stay at this hotel again
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edinburgh

Good value for money

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Pros: Inexpensive, but good value.
Cons: Shower tray needs some attention, and not all the sockets worked, but there were plenty for our needs.
Location: We used it as a base for travelling into Durham. One bus took you right into the city centre
Got a last minute deal, so never got a chance to review the place before I booked it. For the money, it is excellent value. Continental breakfast was included, but for £3.95, you could get a cooked breakfast. We went for the cooked breakfast. Perfect, set us up for the rest of the day. Shower was a bit tired and bed a bit wobbly, but let's get real, for the money we paid, it was all,we needed. Would have no hesitation in going back. The inn was a short bus ride from Durham
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paisley

Very good value for money

Posted Nov 13, 2017
Pros: Clean and comfortable .Parkingg close to room..No stairs to climb..Animals welcome - saw people with dogs
Cons: Fruit available with breakfast and veg with bar meals
Location: Not had time to investigate
Difficult to find hotel but very pleasant.Food was very good but lacked fruit and veg
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from yorkshire

Friend!ly

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Stayed 3times now first stay in twin beds not comfy but spotless clean, nice n warm on arrival, lovely cooked breakfast .really friendly staff. 2nd stay dbl. bed different room lovely comfy nights sleep,room nice and warm on arrival both times, b.fast plenty of it but not as nice as first time as very greasy (different cook) .3rd visit different dbl.room cold on arrival only a plug in heater but warmed quickly but also went cold quickly when moved it to warm bathroom. Chose to have continental breakfast which is included in price ,overall this hotel is really good value for money and will defo recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good price

Posted Nov 6, 2017
Was good value for money the staff were more than friendly and accommodating. The place is a relaxed atmosphere and extremely dog friendly, which is what we look for when booking places to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from west midlands

Easy to find

Posted Nov 4, 2017
Nice place good room nice ploeple. Never stayed there before and have booked in for a further 2 weeks
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Welcoming and friendly staff made the experience

Posted Nov 1, 2017
Lovely place for a one-night-stop, the rooms were clean and spacious, lovely little pub attached and the staff were brilliant and engaging. We talked about our upcoming travels and she had some wonderful suggestions for the next places we were visiting.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

visiting relatives in the area

Posted Oct 21, 2017
I found the hotel to be more than adequate for my needs , Comfortable chalet with en suite, T.V. etc nice and cosy Ample flat level car parking outside chalet. Choice of breakfast , continental or full english. I only used the chalet for sleeping over but still found the staff to be more than helpful. will stay there again in the future.