Ratings based on 204 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from telford

Very friendly pub

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: Quiet and all on the flat
Accommodation very convenient especially for older customers. Good parking too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight stay

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Good for an overnight stay. Room spacious with kettle and tv, comfortable bed. Bathroom fine, toiletries provided, bath as well as shower. Negatives - rooms are non-smoking but guests are allowed to smoke outside of front door and the smell goes through to the room. Our room had a strong smell of stale cigarettes for the duration of our stay which was very unpleasant and would deter me staying there again. Minor but noteworthy, there's no plug near the mirror if you need it for drying hair. Positives - very good value for money, nice food and lovely staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scottish highlands

Bay horse overview

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Friendly owner, decent accommodation, lack of catering for evening meal was a disappointment, had to go out for food after a long road trip, but overall good value & would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Southampton

Posted Sep 8, 2017
I've stayed here twice now.been a pleasure both rimes. Staff r really helpfull and friendly.the room is excellent value.will b staying here all the time I visit durham.would highly recommend to any 1 .only a 10 min bus ride to Durham.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from leicester

Came home early !!!

Posted Aug 3, 2017
Resteraunt not open-only available food on arrival was chinese !! Road outside noisy! Beds uncomfortable and room not clean. Walls paper thin so could hear everything nextdoor !!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lancashire

Lovely hotel excellent food good location grea p

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Great hope to visit again soon.especially beamish and keilder .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Parking and the space in the rooms.
Cons: Restaurant is a little expensive with not a big choice .
Location: It's a good position for Durham centre.
It's ok I have been their 3times before its good and clean at a very good price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newbury

An Inn in a Quiet Location Close to Durham

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Cons: The room did not have anywhere to store my clothes so I lived out of the case.
Location: Durham was an easy drive to the Park & Ride with frequent coaches to town - £2 for the whole day. Durham is great. Cathedral and Castle fab.
It was easy to find and there was parking right outside the room. I paid single occupancy and was given a twin room that was roomy and had an good bathroom ensuite. The only food was breakfast so I had to get food elsewhere the first night although a fish and chip service from Durham was available. Not much character for Brandon village - ex mining, but beautiful country in the surrounding area. There was a cheerful greeting for breakfast. A limited selection of cereals and juice but plenty of toast was on offer. I did not have Full English but the plates going past me to others looked good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Barrow in Furness

Nice little Hotel

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Only about 10 minute drive from Durham but also they is a bus stop only a minutes walk from hotel into the City if you'd prefer. Perfectly placed for us as only 3 minute drive from our daughters and partners house so great when visiting our grandchildren. The breaskfast included is a nice touch, which is toast and cereal with tea or coffee, and also fruit juice. Cooked breakfast is available at only £3.95 but as yet we haven't tried it. The bar has a varied amount of drink and is reasonable priced. The rooms are nice, this was our 4th stay and the beds seem to vary this time the mattress was a little soft for me, but still comfy, the carpets could maybe do with a update, and maybe a touch of decor touch up, but at the price of £35 you can't moan about it really.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bedford, UK

Quirky inn just outside Durham

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Very good value, but it is kind of cheap for a reason. No frills, beds are rather small, some TV channels non-existent or tricky to find, one light bulb was totally missing and the light fitting in the bathroom didn't have a cover on it. It was a bit disappointing to find on arrival they weren't doing food - and to find that the only real ale on pump was one brewed 200 miles away in the same town we live in, rather than something local. :-) The wi-fi was up and down a bit, though more up than down. But on the positive side, service was friendly and helpful, the room was a decent size, and breakfast (though basic: juice, choice of two or three cereals, lots of toast and tea/coffee) was nicely done - you could get a cooked breakfast for a few quid extra, though we didn't. And it was great value overall compared to the usual budget choices. The Bay Horse is about 15 minutes drive from Durham city centre, so a good base for exploring the city.