Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sens

Excellent rapport qualité - prix !

Posted Sep 28, 2016
L'accueil dans cet hôtel qui fait aussi pub et restaurant est très chaleureux. Les chambres sont assez spacieuse et la literie confortable, même si cela semble un peu vieillot...(c'est peu être à la mode en Angleterre..?) Toutefois, pour ce tarif on y est bien mieux que dans une chaine d'hôtel style F1... Bref pour un séjour sans se ruiner sur Durham et sa région, je recommande vivement cet hôtel !
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from N. Lincs

Dog friendly

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Being dog friendly was the main criteria for us. The Inn was easy to find and well placed for our trip to Beamish. Staff great and meals excellent as well as good value. Room rate very reasonable. Well placed for sightseeing in County Durham. Will definitely use this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent value for money

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Rooms basic at this price but clean and have everything rooms twice the price have. Landlady very friendly and helpful and Also dog friendly. Good full English breakfast for £3.95. Pub lounge and restaurant very smart indeed. Ideal location if visiting Durham
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bay Horse Inn

Posted Sep 5, 2016
We couldn't fault the friendly welcome & help offered by staff. Other hotels could learn from them. We had an evening meal & cooked breakfast. Very nice, generous portions and incredible value for money. The room was very clean as was the linen. Unfortunateley the en-suite needed replacing as it looked shabby and the bedroom needed decorating. All clean but a bit shabby. The smell of shake & vac nearly knocked you over backwards when you entered the room. If the latter could be addressed I would recommend this hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Not the top but not bottom of rooms,lovely staff.

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The staff and location.
Cons: Perhaps the bathroom.
Location: Nice and quiet and close to Durham city centre I.e cathedral,castle and 30 minutes from seaside.
Rooms were clean and adequate and a good location with parking.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely staff lovely place comfortable clean kettle

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Perfect stay bargain, staff lovely, little gem of a place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northampton

Best to Durham and Beamish open air museum.

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Met by very friendly helpful young lady . Landlady also extremely friendly and nothing too much trouble. Only comment would be shower cubicle and ceiling needs attention(black mould). Otherwise everything about our stay brilliant especially the food.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

perfect, fantastic value for money

Posted Aug 19, 2016
Kay (the Manager)and the rest of the staff here could not be more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. We stayed one night prior to visiting the university. Rooms were basic, but perfectly clean. The food was fantastic. Service was impeccable. Fantastic value for money, we shall definitely use again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from godalming

Amazing value for money

Posted Aug 15, 2016
A really great surprise when we actually arrived. Very spacious room which was extremely comfortable. The restaurant offered an evening meal, which was ok but nothing more. The free breakfast was fine but the full cooked breakfast was excellent value.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great value

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Pros: Value for money
Cons: Just a bit more TLC in rooms
Location: Near to Durham for the Cathedral and Castle.
Many improvements since our stay 3 years ago (new landlady since last December). Staff very friendly and efficient. Room was large with two single beds but could do with a couple of bedside cabinets and some pictures on the wall. Food was good. Overall we enjoyed our stay for one night and wouldn't hesitate to return.