Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
38% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Newly refurbished and much improved from pictures on the website. Friendly welcome and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A lovely surprise!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The food and the location!
Cons: The rooms (which are the next to be renovated so that's wonderful!)
Location: Location is about 5 mins away from Durham city centre and is close to the train station so transport links are really easy.
We booked this hotel for an overnight business stay, and after reading the reviewson Trip Advisor, we were dreading our stay. I am pleased to say that we were taken aback when we arrived, as downstairs showed nothing of what we had read! The restaurant has just been renovated which is lovely and inviting, and the manager informed us that the accommodation was next to be spruced up. The rooms were quite dated, but we could see from downstairs the standard at which the rooms would be brought up to, so we would be very happy to visit again and see how lovely the place has turned out to be! It's wonderfully close to Durham city centre and the train station, and it was very easy to get taxis. Food at the hotel was amazing and excellently priced; moreover the staff were all friendly and welcoming and we were well looked after. The only downside I think is that the new place (La Spada) doesn't reflect the old establishment of the Lambton Hounds Inn; I would get rid of the old Trip Advisor as it is probably letting the new place down enormously! Would thoroughly recommend and would happily visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Homely and welcoming

Posted Jan 7, 2017
I stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast. I found the owners and staff very warm and welcoming, my case was taken up to my room for me. It is now under new ownership and they are in the process of refurnishing, the restaurant and bar areas are lovely. I was informed that the onsuite bedrooms will be refurbished in the near future, they are at present comfortable and clean but a little dated, the ensuite has a bath with a shower over it plenty of hot water for a good soak. The breakfast was lovely and you had plenty of choice, freshly cooked and tea or fresh coffee. I had eveningears and can only say the food was superb again cooked fresh and decent portion size, the restaurant was full with people waiting in the lounge area which speaks for itself to the quality and service. I would highly recommend the La-Spada the new name for the Lambed Hound Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 21, 2016
After booking this hotel for my work colleagues, they arrived at around 6pm to find the hotel under refurbishment with no recollection of my booking. They were told that the room was still available but there would be no breakfast due the kitchen being closed. They were then shown to the room to find no heating at all in the rooms due to the refurbishment. I think that if the hotel was closed then they should have notified the booking agent to stop people booking at the hotel for the period of time they were refurbishing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tired and basic. Not Value for Money.

Posted Sep 15, 2016 on Hotels
No lobby. Greeted by a barmaid who checked my booking between serving pints. In the room, a bedside light with no powerpoint within reach of the short flex! Room short on power points anyway. in the bathroom, a cracked sink and a shelf under the mirror that was loose and sloped badly.Bed was freshly made, but not more than 5/10 comfortable. Cooked breakfast: meagre. Friendly service though. Would I stay at the LH again? Not if I had a choice!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: the staff were friendly
Cons: a total overhaul needed
the room was basic it smelt musty the bed was so hard the floor would of been more comfortable it wasn't very clean and there was no tea sugar or milk to have a cuppa
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2016
Friendly staff, clean, good food, but overall average
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016 on Hotels
Very basic
4 out of 5
by Mrs Kathleen O from Nottingham

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
This was a comfortable place to stay and the staff were very helpful