Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
40% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food in the restaurant was great and good value
Cons: Checking the room before the guests arrive would have shown a non working side light & bathroom strip light
The room was a bit on the small side for a double room, the decoration of the en suite was shabby and of a very poor standard. There were a few issues: A bedside lamp with no bulb, the strip light above the sink in the en suite was not working and the sink plug was broken. All these issues are easily fixed had the room been checked before our visit !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells Somerset

No longer the Lanbton Hounds Inn.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We stayed here for 2 nights for our grandaughter's graduation. It is now an Italian restaurant with accomadation. We didn't eat there but the room was newly refurbished and very nice with a very comfortable bed. The 2 Italians that I assume are the owners were really very nice and were helpful. It was fine for what we wanted, clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ignore previous reviews !!

Posted May 31, 2017
This hotel was once from what I believe a dive ! Not any more it's changed owners changed its name and it's amazing Italian restaurant down stairs food is very good , hotel rooms just had refurb and really are lovely , breakfast best one I can recall having whilst away from home , perfect if you off to beamish museum , or going to local concerts , we will back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic housekeeping

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: See above
Location: Location not the best but Durham great venue, Beamish not far away either.
No hot water in basin or bath, had to fill bath using electric shower. Other guests we were with had the same problem. Decor unfinished, and bedside lamps but no bulbs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Newly refurbished and much improved from pictures on the website. Friendly welcome and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Ideal for business - great food.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Lambton has had a change in ownership and is now La Spada and in the process of renovation. Despite this I was given a warm welcome and given a room away from the work in an annex due for renovation shortly. The room was clean and comfortable, more than adequate for my needs. The great thing is that the restaurant has already been completely revamped and is now an Italian. The food was excellent and well priced with very good service - bliss!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A lovely surprise!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The food and the location!
Cons: The rooms (which are the next to be renovated so that's wonderful!)
Location: Location is about 5 mins away from Durham city centre and is close to the train station so transport links are really easy.
We booked this hotel for an overnight business stay, and after reading the reviewson Trip Advisor, we were dreading our stay. I am pleased to say that we were taken aback when we arrived, as downstairs showed nothing of what we had read! The restaurant has just been renovated which is lovely and inviting, and the manager informed us that the accommodation was next to be spruced up. The rooms were quite dated, but we could see from downstairs the standard at which the rooms would be brought up to, so we would be very happy to visit again and see how lovely the place has turned out to be! It's wonderfully close to Durham city centre and the train station, and it was very easy to get taxis. Food at the hotel was amazing and excellently priced; moreover the staff were all friendly and welcoming and we were well looked after. The only downside I think is that the new place (La Spada) doesn't reflect the old establishment of the Lambton Hounds Inn; I would get rid of the old Trip Advisor as it is probably letting the new place down enormously! Would thoroughly recommend and would happily visit again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scarborough

Homely and welcoming

Posted Jan 7, 2017
I stayed for 2 nights bed and breakfast. I found the owners and staff very warm and welcoming, my case was taken up to my room for me. It is now under new ownership and they are in the process of refurnishing, the restaurant and bar areas are lovely. I was informed that the onsuite bedrooms will be refurbished in the near future, they are at present comfortable and clean but a little dated, the ensuite has a bath with a shower over it plenty of hot water for a good soak. The breakfast was lovely and you had plenty of choice, freshly cooked and tea or fresh coffee. I had eveningears and can only say the food was superb again cooked fresh and decent portion size, the restaurant was full with people waiting in the lounge area which speaks for itself to the quality and service. I would highly recommend the La-Spada the new name for the Lambed Hound Inn.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing

Posted Nov 21, 2016
After booking this hotel for my work colleagues, they arrived at around 6pm to find the hotel under refurbishment with no recollection of my booking. They were told that the room was still available but there would be no breakfast due the kitchen being closed. They were then shown to the room to find no heating at all in the rooms due to the refurbishment. I think that if the hotel was closed then they should have notified the booking agent to stop people booking at the hotel for the period of time they were refurbishing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 31, 2016 on Hotels