Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
42% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham

Family West Midlands

Posted Aug 1, 2017
Pros: Safe car parking a rear. Really friendly helpful staff (Roberto and his wife were really helpful helping us arrange our visit)
Location: Handy to explore Durham
A budget hotel, ideal for stop over, we booked the family room, functional, clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and accommodating. We did not use the restaurant because we were visiting family, it was very busy, highly recommended by the people we spoke too, so book early if this part of your trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: The staff were friendly and welcoming, the food in the restaurant was great and good value
Cons: Checking the room before the guests arrive would have shown a non working side light & bathroom strip light
The room was a bit on the small side for a double room, the decoration of the en suite was shabby and of a very poor standard. There were a few issues: A bedside lamp with no bulb, the strip light above the sink in the en suite was not working and the sink plug was broken. All these issues are easily fixed had the room been checked before our visit !
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wells Somerset

No longer the Lanbton Hounds Inn.

Posted Jun 30, 2017
We stayed here for 2 nights for our grandaughter's graduation. It is now an Italian restaurant with accomadation. We didn't eat there but the room was newly refurbished and very nice with a very comfortable bed. The 2 Italians that I assume are the owners were really very nice and were helpful. It was fine for what we wanted, clean and comfortable with friendly staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ignore previous reviews !!

Posted May 31, 2017
This hotel was once from what I believe a dive ! Not any more it's changed owners changed its name and it's amazing Italian restaurant down stairs food is very good , hotel rooms just had refurb and really are lovely , breakfast best one I can recall having whilst away from home , perfect if you off to beamish museum , or going to local concerts , we will back !
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

One night stay while attending a nearby wedding

Posted May 30, 2017 on Hotels
The Lambton Hounds is obviously undergoing renovations- it's primarily a restaurant and all the signage refers to La Spada Restaurant which is a bit confusing. My room had been recently decorated with new carpet and curtains, and nice cushions but mismatched bedside lights, and was in a separate building two doors along the road from the restaurant/main premises. There was no hot water for the washbasin or bath, although the electric shower worked OK. Breakfast was good, but slow probably because ten of us in my group all arrived at the same time!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic housekeeping

Posted May 29, 2017
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: See above
Location: Location not the best but Durham great venue, Beamish not far away either.
No hot water in basin or bath, had to fill bath using electric shower. Other guests we were with had the same problem. Decor unfinished, and bedside lamps but no bulbs.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Watching widnes away

Posted May 23, 2017 on Hotels
I stayed here with friends for the rugby magic weekend in Newcastle, getting back and from Newcastle to Durham was no problem we got a bus,we enjoyed our stay and would book again next year if the magic weekend will still be held in Newcastle
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Newly refurbished and much improved from pictures on the website. Friendly welcome and helpful staff.
4 out of 5
by Christopher

Ideal for business - great food.

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
The Lambton has had a change in ownership and is now La Spada and in the process of renovation. Despite this I was given a warm welcome and given a room away from the work in an annex due for renovation shortly. The room was clean and comfortable, more than adequate for my needs. The great thing is that the restaurant has already been completely revamped and is now an Italian. The food was excellent and well priced with very good service - bliss!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent

A lovely surprise!

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: The food and the location!
Cons: The rooms (which are the next to be renovated so that's wonderful!)
Location: Location is about 5 mins away from Durham city centre and is close to the train station so transport links are really easy.
We booked this hotel for an overnight business stay, and after reading the reviewson Trip Advisor, we were dreading our stay. I am pleased to say that we were taken aback when we arrived, as downstairs showed nothing of what we had read! The restaurant has just been renovated which is lovely and inviting, and the manager informed us that the accommodation was next to be spruced up. The rooms were quite dated, but we could see from downstairs the standard at which the rooms would be brought up to, so we would be very happy to visit again and see how lovely the place has turned out to be! It's wonderfully close to Durham city centre and the train station, and it was very easy to get taxis. Food at the hotel was amazing and excellently priced; moreover the staff were all friendly and welcoming and we were well looked after. The only downside I think is that the new place (La Spada) doesn't reflect the old establishment of the Lambton Hounds Inn; I would get rid of the old Trip Advisor as it is probably letting the new place down enormously! Would thoroughly recommend and would happily visit again!