Ratings based on 76 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Glasgow.

Dissapointed. avoid

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Good pub at the bottom of the hill, the way the hotel looked, great potential.
Cons: Our toilet leaked and was wasn't fixed to the wall, room carpet was dirty, soft furnishing also dirty, the shower was so small I couldn't move in it.
Location: Location was good, with a supermarket just over the back and as mentioned a good pub at the bottom of the lane.
Venue has visual appeal, let down by a lack lustre performance by the staff. The overall feeling we had when we left was that everything was too much trouble....even though I had discussed the hot tub on the phone with the hotel, (They promoted it on the website) it was covered over and when I mentioned it at 6.30pm, we were told it could only be used till 9pm? then a feeling of 'It's too much trouble to remove the cover'. Breakfast was to 9am, with no exceptions? best avoided.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

B&B with out breakfast!

Posted Aug 6, 2016
Cons: A suitable maintenance program should be instigated in addition to a checking procedure. The sink within the bathroom was leaking
Location: The location was good for our purposes.
Family room was lovely, saying that the sink in the bathroom leaked at the bottom, so had water running out over the floor. The place was clean and comfortable and the staff very friendly.
3 out of 5
by Paula

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Frances

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
facilities perfectly adequate for what was required, but a few 'niggly' problems that shouldn't arise. Your website defines the Old Mill, Yarm as a Bed & Breakfast establishment - it wasn't until we received receipt for 'booking' from hotel, that we realized it was 'Room' only with Breakfast as an optional 'extra'! It was no 'big' deal, but should be made clear on your www.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK


Posted May 23, 2016
Turned up, told room was trashed from previous guests. Offered 2 bed apartment ten minutes drive down the road, not very clean, middle of housing estate, no amenities near unless you can drive. Ended up cancelling and requesting a refund, over an hour drive wasted, founded somewhere else to stay the night who after hearing this story upgraded our room free of charge. Will not be returning.
3 out of 5
by GLowe from Cleethorpes

my review

Posted May 11, 2016 on Hotels
I thought that the room was overpriced for what it was, bathroom was tiny, a corner sink that was only designed for washing hands really. Breakfast was significantly overpriced at £8.40 in my opinion and finally my laptop screen was bigger than the TV. To top it all off there was a sign to ask for a donation if you used any of the tea and coffee provided in the room.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from york

Nice hotel in nice surroundings

Posted Apr 7, 2016
I was under the impression the cost included breakfast it did not and the proprietor was asking for another £8.49 each Although the room was comfortable it did look as though it could do with decorating
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Burnley


Posted Mar 22, 2016
Wonderful hosts. Lovely place to stay. Big good cooked breakfast. Would highly recommend this listing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Feb 8, 2016 on Hotels
The room itself was clean but shabby but the real let down was breakfast, everyone had to sit around a big table and one harried woman was trying to cook breakfast for the guests. The table was full of dirty plates from where people had finished but no one had cleaned up. No cutlery, no plates, tea & coffee if asked for a few times and toast that was stone cold and hard!
5 out of 5
by Paul from Leeds

Brilliant, Friendly Hotel

Posted Dec 13, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent, friendly hotel. Perfect for business or leisure.