Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from channel isles

Traditional hotel with a modern twist

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Very comfortable, had obviously been upgraded. Modern and on trend. Lovely staff, great breakfast and delicious home cooked food in the bar area- well done!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Manchester

Family Visit - convenient location , nice staff ,

Posted Jul 4, 2016
Pros: Friendly, helpful, clean
Cons: Restaurant needs Master chef, missing an opportunity here for locals as well
Location: Close to infrastructure, local shops, quite
Pleasant stay, would stay again. Very helpful staff, nice atmosphere and great beer garden
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
I arrived and they put me in a single room, when I had booked a double. The restaurant stops serving food at 9pm. This is unusual. The chef/cook is very friendly, but one morning he was there and another day, it took so long that another table offered me their coffee pot! One day there was a large flask of coffee, another day it wasn't there. There wasn't a lot of cereal and the toast was a bit hard. I'm sure it was just because it's low season. ...still.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

REFURBISHED

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel had just had its 'makeover' and while this has significantly improved the rooms and the bar/restaurant area, there were a few teething problems, i.e. no heating, breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Overall much improved but prices have gone up a lot and a some of the character has gone now Eric is no longer there. Will be interesting to see it on our next visit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Closed for renos

Posted Oct 8, 2015
Pros: A lovely Victorian building set in it's own grounds
Cons: Facility was "tired" & in need of upgrades, which seem to be happening now.
Could only stay 3 of the 9 nights booked, no fault of staff who were excellent, hope they all come back after the renos are completed, especially Kevin & Anna. Hotel group owners did advise of closure & were very helpful, a complimentary dinner & bottle of wine was a nice touch arranged by them. Good selection of beers & wine were available in the bar. Will consider returning another time when upgrades are completed if room rates are competitive.
4 out of 5
by J B from Notys

JB Notts

Posted Oct 24, 2014 on Hotels
Woul go back again
3 out of 5
by BL

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol

Terrible, Disgusting, Smelly Parkwood Hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Knock the place down and rebuild
Location: Plenty to do and see and enjoy in Teesside but MISS- OUT on a visit to the Parkwood Hotel
We walked into the Parkwood Hotel and were disgusted by the quality and condition of the entrance and reception area. The smell was immediately offputting. When shown our room it basically was appalling from all aspects of what you would expect from even a NO STAR hotel. Smell, decoration, cleanliness, bed and bedding, the bathroom --oh my God I would not let a dead cat sleep in there !!!! WE immediately asked ( Politely ) for a refund or part refund and left to find other, any accomodation. Needless to say we have not received a refund or heard from the Parkwood Hotel Management
2 out of 5
by Mike from Telford

4 day stay

Posted Sep 7, 2014 on Hotels
Upon arrival reception / bar could not find the keys to the rooms. When asked what time I wanted breakfast I said about 7.30am, this was met with a look as if I had questioned her parentage. Reluctantly we agreed 8am. Even at that time the breakfast consisted of a very poor selection one had to beg a milk jug from another table, overall very poor. Talking to another guest he stated that another guest had had to go without breakfast as he needed to be on the job for 7.30am. Got the overall feeling that nobody cared. When leaving had to find somebody so that I could pay my bill and in the end the chef had to do it even though she was unsure as to how much and how to use the credit card machine.