Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from n ireland

Hotel cleanliness

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Bath was dirty ,did nt use it. Whitestreaks in bath where cleaner was merely poured in exposing the rest of the bath as dirty. Told reception on arrival. Not interested. Most breakfast mugs had lipstick stains on them all three mornings.
1 out of 5
by Andrew

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by Suzanne from Lincolnshire

2 night stay

Posted Dec 31, 2015 on Hotels
Nice clean hotel. Bar was closed during our stay which was a disappointment. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Neil from Pinner

Lovely

Posted Oct 30, 2015 on Hotels
Nice to take a break from modernity and remember a time when life was much easier! Who cares if the decor is circa late 1990s? What matters is the hotel remains in good nick, which it is :-)
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Rachel from Hereford

Good nights sleep.

Posted Oct 24, 2015 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable night in this hotel after an exhausting days work. Nicely appointed room in an interesting hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brilliant little bolt hole and a gem at the price.

Posted Oct 21, 2015
Pros: Clean and comfortable.
Cons: Bar prices a little step and not in keeping with the other aspects of value.
Location: Handy to the A1 and local attractions around Durham and the river.
We stayed for just one night and only needed a bed to put the heads on. The hotel is an ex-RAF officers mess and has been restored to a lovely condition. Nothing too flash but warm, airy, comfortable and excellent value. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The food is good value too. Well worth a visit, if only to read the story of the place.
3 out of 5
by Craig from Ayr

You get what you pay for

Posted Oct 19, 2015 on Hotels
Tired hotel. Couldn't get on the wifi, bed was rock hard, shower stuck on scalding hot, breakfast was really poor quality. Best stick to a Premierr Inn
2 out of 5
by Ryan

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
Need to borrow a Hoover and duster. The cobwebs on the pelmets had cobwebs on them. The smell of the room was equivalent to my grandads shed. Sheets clean, one bed had an orthopaedic bed. If that's what a spring sticking in your back all night is supposed to be. The water was hot, just a shame the shower head wouldn't let it flow.