Ratings based on 1,145 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

All Decked Out for the Holidays

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Mid-week in early December the Inn's rates are terrific, so if you've been meaning to spend a night or two in Durham at a great old hotel all decked out for Christmas, this is the place. It's location on the southwest edge of Duke's campus means that the Duke University Chapel (read Gothic cathedral), the Sarah Duke Gardens, and many of the medical facilities are within hiking distance for those who love a good morning walk in a wonderfully serene environment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely getaway

Posted Dec 12, 2017
The hotel is elegant and posh. The staff were wonderfully personable and helpful, every singe one of them. We had to stay in for bad weather and the restaurant accommodated us at the last minute and we had an excellent meal. Location for touring Durham, Duke, Nasher, Hillsborough and Chapel Hill is prime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philly

Classic hotel with gold course

Posted Dec 8, 2017
Pros: Comfort
Cons: Location is on Duke campus, but other than campus nothing else in walking distance. However, plenty of free parking so don't have to valet
Location: Duke campus
I have stayed here several times, always a pleasure. Nice amenities. Good bar and good restaurant. Rooms with comfortable beds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte

Posted Dec 3, 2017
I have attended meetings here over the years, but this was my first opportunity to spend the night. The room met but did not exceed my expectations. The staff was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2017
There was hair in the shower when I arrived to my room. The price was not worth it. But I can check it off one of my Duke basketball fan wish list. Won’t stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your most recent stay. Our sincere apologies that your visit was not what you were hoping. This is certainly not a reflection of our standards. We have addressed this issue and reviewed it with our housekeeping team. We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future. If there is anything I can do to assist in the future please let me know. Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Cons: curb side service
Stayed during fall break. At 10:30 am Sunday asked for a courtesy car to take us to the duke field hockey fields - 4 men standing (bellhops) no one would take us instead they called the taxi over to take us for a $20 dollar taxi charge - the courtesy car was sitting there -unacceptable for a hotel of this stature. Totally ridiculous.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2017 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Our sincere apologies that this situation was not handled better. The hotel shuttle van is available to all our guests upon requests. We do recommend making reservations with our bellmen to secure transportation. The hotel shuttle is limited to 6 passengers so availability is restricted. It is likely the hotel shuttle was already booked during the time that you were interested in leaving the hotel and that is why they provided a taxi. I apologize that this was not communicated properly and left you feeling like we were not accommodating your request to the best of our ability. We have discussed this with our staff in hopes that this lapse in communication does not occur moving forward. Again, our sincere apologies. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Great golf course view from room. Very relaxing stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review of the Washington Duke Inn & Golf Club. We are glad you enjoyed the golf course view from you room and had a relaxing stay. We hope you will return soon and often! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Nice hotel, good location. Beds were not comfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2017 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your feedback! We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the Inn and our convenient location. We apologize for the discomfort you experienced with the bed in your guestroom. Should your travels bring you back to the area, we hope you will consider staying with us again! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services
5 out of 5
by james

Posted Sep 10, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 15, 2017
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Iconic hotel and golf course

Posted Sep 9, 2017
My wife and I were in Durham for a medical appt and procedure. We spent two nights. We were treated very well. Hotel, grounds and golf course are well maintained. Short walk to the Duke campus. 3 mile walking path adjacent to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 14, 2017 by WashingtonDukeInn, Hotel Management
Dear Wes, Thank you for your review! It was our pleasure to host you and your wife while visiting the medical center. Our guests comfort is our top priority and we are happy to hear that you received great service from our team and enjoyed the Inn's amenities. Should your travels bring you back to the area, please know that we would be honored to have you back! Anna Marie Lawson Director of Special Services