Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco CA

Close to airport with shuttle

Posted Jan 16, 2018
During a recent snowstorm in MN I decided to move to a hotel that was closer to the airport for an early morning flight. The staff was excellent and very helpful and the hotel was lovely. I also liked that there was a restaurant right across the parking lot. I will definately stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from eagan

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Beautiful hotel Clean , comfy & convienent ~ Nice overnight stay with my boyfriend We watched the Vikings win in our comfy bed than swam & went in the hot tub Than walked to lone oak & the Volstead for dinner & drinks Perfect 🤗
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 13, 2018
Rooms are very clean hotel staff is nice continental breakfast is good beds are comfy pillows are nice TVs good I have nothing bad to say about this place at all of the nice bar right across the street It would have been nicer to be closer to downtown but that’s what you get when you check in late
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This hotel was perfect location

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: Clean and comfortable
Location: There are restaurants and pubs and short drive to the MOA. Oh and I even found an outlet mall nearby.
Blocks from work and nice hotel and places to eat within a block, breakfast in the hotel. Thanks for the great stay!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Karen Peters, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - Thank you for the great 5 star review. We loved that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities that our location provides. Thank you for being such a great guest and we will see you again when your travels bring you to Eagan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fargo

Great newly renovated hotel near the airport & MOA

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Super clean newly renovated hotel. Comfortable bed and beddng. The pool was very nice and a comfortable temp considering the outdoor temperature was below zero. The hot tub was blistering hot and I really should have mentioned it to the desk personnel. Our skin was bright red after just a few minutes in it. That's not healthy. The breakfast was fine and plentiful, the standard options. There was a shuttle-i assume to the airport-we didn't need it as we had our own car. Good places to eat just across the street. Will put this on our list of places to stay when in the Cities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Karen Peters, Hotel Management
Dear Angie - Thank you for the great comments about our newly renovated hotel. We love that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We apologize about the hot tub and looked at that right away when we heard the comment. We truly appreciate you being such a great guest. We hope you come back and enjoy us again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Almost 5 stars

Posted Jan 1, 2018
Pros: The staff. Breakfast included hot items, hot drinks available all day. Swimming pool pleases the kids. Computers available. Touch pad to access room
Cons: A second chair so 2 people can sit together to eat takeout meals. The computers in the breakfast area may be temp. They need a separate room.
Location: Near St Paul. Downtown the Ordway Theatre, Excel Centre, River Centre and Science Centre are all close together with lots of parking.
This hotel has been renovated - they are in the last stages. We entered into a spacious lobby equipped with an area to obtain hot drinks all day. Attached was a larger area with tables and chairs obviously used for breakfast and available for snacks and socializing. There were also a couple of computers. We had a large, comfortable room with new furnishings that included an electric privacy screen at the window. There was a desk that pulled out into a table for meals although there was only one chair. LG TV with large screen and ports to plug in games and other electronics. Lots of outlets for recharging electronics. Clean comfortable bed. The room seemed to be well sound-proofed and we heard nothing of our neighbours. Well appointed bathroom with two types of shower heads. The big drawback was the telephone - it didn't work and because we had car trouble we really needed it. The man who came to service the phone found a problem with the incoming line and beyond his scope. The hotel was fully booked so there were no spare rooms. I spent about 6 hours in the lobby making and receiving phone calls and waiting for car service. The staff were very accommodating, they had a shuttle and offered to take us anywhere we needed to go. I saw a variety of staff treat guests with the utmost care and courtesy . New staff coming on duty let us know they were aware of our situation and ready to help where they could.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Karen Peters, Hotel Management
Dear Margaret - Thank you for the great comment about our amenities and how you and your family enjoyed them during your last stay. We love that you were able to have a comfortable stay and that you were able to enjoy yourselves. Thank you again for being a great guest and we hope to see you back again soon.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Eagan, Minnesota

Complaint on room reservation

Posted Dec 31, 2017
Pros: Location: It was close to the airport and we flew out the next day.
Cons: Give customers the room that they originally booked.
Location: Location was next to several restaurants within walking distance and since we did not have a vehicle that was nice.
We reserved a King Bed Non-smoking room through Expedia and when we got to the hotel they put us in a Queen room. When we complained they said that because we had booked with Expedia we got bumped to a different room. We believe this is poor business for both Expedia and the Hampton Inn. We would not stay here again and maybe not go through Expedia because we did not get the room that we had reserved.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Karen Peters, Hotel Management
Dear Lynn - We are so sorry about this room type mix-up. We truly strive to make sure each and every guest has a comfortable relaxing stay. We hope you try us again when your travels bring you back to the Eagan area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Needed to stay near my son in Eagan. This hotel fit the bill.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2018 by Karen Peters, Hotel Management
Dear Guest - Thank you for your 4 star review. We are happy that you enjoyed your convenient stay and we hope you come back to try us again. Thank you for being a great guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from golden valley mn

Nice remodeled room

Posted Dec 10, 2017
Nice pool nice newly remodeled room great breakfast
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jessica , Hotel Management
Lynn, thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review! I am glad you had the opportunity to stay in one of our newly renovated rooms. We hope to get the opportunity to have you as our guest again soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 10, 2017
I ate waffels and a dohnut? Watched tv on TWO tvs , twas awesome,
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 19, 2017 by Jessica, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your feedback is great! You cant go wrong with waffles, donuts and TV. I am glad we were able to provide these for you. We hope to get the opportunity to have you as a guest again soon!