Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful but unstructured

Posted Aug 18, 2017
The setting and scenery from the room were breathtaking, but the little details were not looked after very well and the staff were not very helpful and one was somewhat hostile. The wifi was down for two days, and the front desk staff would not listen to multiple requests to fix it. I heard other guests complaining about the wifi as well and I ended up racking up data roaming charges on my phone because they refused to even attempt to fix it for two days. The spa was highly unstructured with no well identified waiting area, and no easy way to identify the spa staff (nobody was wearing a uniform). When I went in for a massage, my masseuse was loudly smacking on gum, and acted very passive aggressively when I asked her to please throw away the gum. I found it really unprofessional to go into a setting that is supposed to be all about relaxation while making a horrific amount of noise with gum, and then to respond in a very defensive way when your guest makes a small request. It made the entire experience very uncomfortable and felt like a waste of time and money, as it was the opposite of relaxing in the end. I would go back, but I would prepare to have no wifi ahead of time despite it being advertised as free with the room. I would also skip the spa, the whole spa experience made the vacation worse than if I had just skipped it entirely.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

They'll take your money and screw over your kids.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
I was driving around Ontario with my kids, and booked Sir Sam's. knowing that my kids love the swimming pool, I called in to the hotel prior to arriving in order to confirm the closing time of the pool. Upon hearing that I had children, the receptionist politely told me that Sir Sam's is an adult resort. I wasn't aware of that at the time of booking, so I mentioned that in such case I would simply cancel my reservation.The hotel staff advised me that they would make an exception, and urged me to visit...so I did.We checked-in, my kids were on their best behaviour. Having travelled the globe, my kids are seasoned travelers and behave better than most adults. Nevertheless, I was approached by the hotel staff the following day and told that they had received 'complaints from some of the guests'. I was quite in shock, because the previous evening all of the wait staff in the restaurant, plus a few of the guests made a point of coming up to me and complimenting me on how well behaved my children were. Mentioning this contradictory statement to them generated a response of 'oh no, your kids are well behaved. It's just that this is an adult resort, and people coming here don't want kids around.' I proceeded to explain that I was quite aware of that, and was prepared to cancel yesterday but was encouraged BY THEM to come. I felt like a 2nd class citizen; they took my money, refused me the facilities, and screwed over my kids. I want my money back...nothin but crickets from mgmt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Quiet and serene setting.

Posted Jul 31, 2017
Nice and quiet. Spa is excellent. On the downside there is a lack of detail regarding room maintenance and tidiness around the grounds. Lunch wasn't available some days which was disappointing. Overall a nice spot!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Evan, Hotel Management
Good to Hear that you had a good time at the spa. Your room maintenance and ground keeping issue has been addressed to the concerned department. We look forward to your next visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful view on quiet lake

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: The free use of water activity items. The quiet atmosphere,
Cons: Getting a reservation in the restaurant for dinner. We checked in around 6pm and could not eat at the restaurant that day.
Loved this little inn. It was very quiet and relaxing, which was exactly what we were looking for. The option to swim in the pool or lake was great and they had a paddle boat, canoes, kayaks or paddle boards readily available to use at any time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Evan, Hotel Management
We are happy to hear about your overall experience at Sir Sam's Inn & Water Spa. I am sorry that we couldn't accommodate you for dinner. We do require advance reservations as our restaurant provide very unique service. Looking forward to your next visit
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bolton

Big Hype, Big Dissapointment

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Rooms very outdated : no A/C, TV was smaller than a computer monitor, 3 channels with no, or snowy reception, poor quality of matress. Couldn't get early dinner reservations for our 2 day stay and ate at local restaurants (only available time was 8:15) Staff were pleasant but couldn't accommodate early dinner. Room location provided a beautiful view of water and sunset. Daniel's boat tour was relaxing and informative.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 14, 2017 by Evan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. As we are on a remote location we do have challenges on TV reception once in a while but we are looking at upgrading our TV and waiting for Fibre Optics to come in our area so we can have better channels for our guest. Great that you enjoyed your boat tour with Daniel. I hope when you come back next time you will have a better experience with us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from norwood, on

Not what was expected. Looked better in pictures

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Too overpriced for what you get. Floors were dirty, mold in shower, bed very uncomfortable. No privacy, you can hear person in next room stirring their spoon in their coffee cup. Sounds like like people are in your room with you. Not very romantic I would say. If you think The Keg is expensive, wait till you get your dinner bill from here!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Evan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. Sorry to hear that we have not exceeded your expectation. I have forwarded all your concerns to our team members so we can rectify the issues you have mentioned in your review.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a three-star hotel

Posted May 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Needs some TLC
Location: Haliburton is a nice town - the main town area is 20 minutes away. Good eateries, some good shops and scenery.
Great location, nice scenery. Place needs a renovation. Glen Eagle room with the cabin-like ceiling is nice, but it's noisy. You can hear all the footsteps and conversations of neighbors. Sort of eliminates the purpose. Wifi in the room is virtually non-existent. Very strange configuration for changerooms and water spa. Not connected to each other so you need to ackwardly walk through carpeted hallways to get to the waterspa. Wood around ensuite-jacuzzi was rotten. No shampoo in the room. Went to canoe and they only had only one intact paddle. Shorter girl/staffer was friendly and bar area was nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2017 by Evan, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are in the process of doing some renovations. Wi-Fi is a challenge as we are on the top of the lake so we have to work with what we have unfortunately. You shampoo and Canoe was addressed to our concerned team. Please give us an opportunity so you can come and enjoy Sir Sam's Inn in the near future
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was ok...

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: It was a great location and I'm sure it's beautiful in the summer.
Cons: WiFi
Location: We were there to go dogsledding at Winterdance, it was amazing. I highly recommend this activity!!
Early, easy check-in. Lovely fireplace to have a drink in front of. WiFi didn't work, only got 2 tv stations - Cottage Life and Showcase. While these were minor issues in the grand scheme of things as I wasn't there to just watch tv, for the price of the room it would have been nice to be able to watch the news.
5 out of 5
by Trevor

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on Hotels
Stay was just what we needed. Quiet and comfortable with all amenities at our disposal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

great in most, room was a little dated

Posted Jan 16, 2017
meals were wonderful, menu amazing, staff great, hotel wonderful but a little un kept, dated and for the cost of the room the details were a little overlooked.... meaning the carpeting was a bit stained and old in our room, furniture in our room was very old and dated there were a handful of lights not working in the bar area and for example the darts were all broken ... but overall it was lovely.