Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Earnewald stopover

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The room had a balcony onto the lake. The food was good quality in traditional Dutch local style.
Location: The hotel is right on the Princenhof Lake in the Alde Feanen National Park. An interesting area of fens and boating.
Stayed at this hotel one night on tour of the Friesland area on the way to Het Loo Palace. It was off season but still interesting.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Clean Room with deck overlooking water

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
We enjoyed the very clean room and the view from the deck. Staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has good food. The hotel is a little dated and could use some air-conditioning. Otherwise we had a great stay! Very central to the friesland area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland, UK

Lovely location. Relaxing waterside spot.

Posted Jan 18, 2016
Only 20 mins from Leeuwarden GTC Expo. Nice to find a rural waterside location to relax before going to town. Very enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Canal views and lovely immediate area.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: Location. Room.
Cons: Nothing springs to mind.
Location: Cannot comment as we were just passing through.
Stayed one night enroute. Had a canal side room with balcony on 2nd floor. Excellent. Restaurant was fine as were the staff. It was a quiet period and I suspect in the high season it may get a bit crowded and noisy. Short walks along the canal passing boating marinas and small village with a few restaurants (most closed when we were there in April). No complaints.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A pleasant hotel in a quiet location

Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels
Pleasant reception staff and a lovely quiet location. On the basis of past reviews we booked a room with a lake view, and this was a good choice.We enjoyed watching the ducks making their way across the ice on the lake.Parking and breakfast were included in the price, making it a nice stay en-route to our destination.
5 out of 5
by Yvonne from Spain

Fantastic food!

Posted Dec 29, 2013 on Hotels
Just 10 minutes outside of Leeuwarden, a beautiful rural setting next to a canal with sailing excursions in the summer. We ate dinner there every night and can't say enough good things about the food and the service. Will definitely return in the summer!
5 out of 5
by rotterdammer from rotterdam

Nice getaway

Posted Dec 17, 2013 on Hotels
Very nice location in the middle of the woods. Quite and peacefull place. We asked for an extra table and some chairs to work at the room, and they created us a lovely small office in the room :) Great experience.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful starting point for nature hikes

Posted Jun 21, 2012 on Hotels
Looked for hotel close to swimming pool in Drachten and found this one. Spacious, quiet hotel at the border of National Bird sanctuary and water side. Boat rentals available next door.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Germany

Travel with dog

Posted Jul 27, 2017
During our vacation wie got a message that it is not allowed to leave the dog in the appartment and go outside of the hotel. Then it wasen't able for us to visit the small Museums in the village :-( This information wie could't found in the Homepage, or in the information map in the room. To change the rules during the vacation is a no go. Positiv was the very good Restaurant the nice personal and the hotel is closed to the sea. Negativ: dog not allowed to leave it alone in the room for some hours. In our room we could hear everything which appears around us ( in the room above the bath and steps of people. Outside closing the "night door" ... ). My wife Wakes up many times in some nights.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mooie locatie

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: Mooi hotel met een mooie ligging aan het water en voor liefhebbers van fietsen een mooi landelijk gebied.
Cons: De bedden, deze zijn zeer zacht
Location: Perfect gebied voor water en fiets recreatie.
Het hotel heeft een mooie ligging aan het wateren ligt net buiten het dorp (loopafstand). De kamers die uitkijken op het water hebben een zeer mooi uitzicht.