Ratings based on 1,425 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

expensive, disappointing room.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Our room was not ready when it said it was going to be ready, and because we needed it right away they moved us to a smaller room, although I was told it was the same quality. We paid over $500 for a room pretty much equivalent to a motel 6. You're paying for the proximity to the beach, which is nice, but not worth $500. At least get some decent coffee in the lobby if you're going to charge that much.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. For early arrivals we do our very best to have their room ready, however this is not always possible. The complimentary coffee that is served in the lobby each morning is the Hyatt brand standard which many guests particularly enjoy. Thank you again and we hope that you had an enjoyable experience in Santa Barbara.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from LA, CA

Very noisy A.C. unit

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Unacceptable noisy A.C. unit for such premium price / hotel. According to the hotel engineer, the unit is not broken; this is how it is and I think he is right, all the a.c. units look the same and like new, just this is how it works. Mislead information, we took balcony with mountain view, we got balcony with parking view...
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 11, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. I'm terribly sorry for the experience you had with our air conditioning unit. Please let us know the next time you choose to visit Santa Barbara, and we will ensure that you have an excellent experience with us.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2017
NOT PLEASED AT ALL FOR THE AMOUNT I PAID. OUR ROOM WAS BARELY CLEANED. THE WATER SMELLED AND WE FOUND BUGS IN OUR ROOM.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Great Stay

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Hotel staff, pool, bar, restaurant, drinks.
Cons: N/A
Location: Across the street from the beach; on Cabrillo; Downtown and Waterfront Shuttle bus stop right in front of hotel.
My girlfriend and I stayed here for one night. One of the major highlights of our stay is the staff. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, all of the staff we encountered was very attentive to our stay and accommodating. The front desk staff changed our room from the first floor to the third floor facing the beach at no additional cost. The pool bar staff, Jordan specifically, gave us a free dessert for my girlfriend’s birthday. We appreciate our stay and home to return soon!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona.

Convenient

Posted Aug 23, 2017
This hotel could use a facelift and an interior remodel. It's a fabulous location and the hotel staff was great. Definitely recommend this hotel and location for your stay in Santa Barbara.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible experience at an overpriced hotel

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Pros: Vicinity to the beach
Cons: Cleanliness, management
This is one of the worst hotel I have ever stayed. It does not deserve the Hyatt name and should go back to being a motel. The first thing we noticed was feces in toilet. This is totally unacceptable and down right disgusting. Called front desk and was told we will get $100 food credit as compensation. I was waiting for the manager to call and explain how this could happen but never received a word from the manager. For $450 a night, the room is dated and the AC is extremely loud. Do not stay at this poorly managed hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am sorry to hear of your experience upon arriving to your guest room.We have made adjustments in the way that we inspect rooms prior to our guest's arrival and we are confident that any future oversight in room readiness has been eliminated. Our hotel is also in the planning stages of a renovation which will surly address any issues of being dated. We do hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palm desert

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Our room was dirty, lots of hair in the toilet, you pay for the location only. One star hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 29, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for sharing your recent experience. I am sorry to learn of the cleanliness issues you encountered, as that is not up to the high standard we hold ourselves accountable to. We have made adjustments in the way that we inspect rooms prior to our guest's arrival and we are confident that any future oversight in room readiness has been eliminated. We do hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara and look forward to seeing you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dublin, CA

Great hotel with a great location

Posted Aug 15, 2017
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: More kid friendly food options by the pool
Location: Great view of the beach and many restaurants nearby
Stayed here for just one night while passing through but could have stayed much longer. Spent the afternoon at the pool. The staff was friendly and served up delicious cocktails and food. Could have used a few more kid friendly options on the pool snack menu but we made do. The rooms are clean and comfortable. We have stayed here several times before and will do so again when we are in the area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Very disappointing

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Great location
Cons: Renovate the hotel. Hire more professional staff.
Hotel is dated, poorly maintained, and shabby. Unprofessional waiters in the restaurant. Obnoxious, loud, unruly crowd at the small pool. For the money we paid ($600/room), this was a big disappointment and a waste of money. Gives Hyatt a bad name.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts with us. Please know that each one of issues you mentioned are in the action stages and is already in progress for us as we are in the planning stages of a renovation that will surely address each one of your concerns. We hope to see you again soon for a much more pleasant stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach.

Posted Jul 23, 2017
Hotel hasn't been updated. AC was so loud, pillows smelled bad and carpets were so dirty. We paid over $500 per night and had a terrible experience. Couldn't believe this is Hyatt.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by Chris, Guest relations manager, Hotel Management
Hello and thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we feel badly that our hotel did not live up to our expectations and hope that you had a wonderful time in Santa Barbara.