Ratings based on 1,470 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Nice location, you can hear the waves if you open the windows, pretty cool view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to beach

Posted Dec 6, 2017
Really enjoyed our stay. So close to the beach. Historical hotel. Very quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2017
My selection on Expedia showed an ocean view room, But our room faced the parking lot.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Down graded dew to no room availability

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Booked a double queen bed for a family of 4. Got A king bed. I talked to hotel the day before saying we will check in at midnight. Still they didn’t have the room we book, so they transferred us to a different location. A big downgrade! Then didn’t clean the room until I asked them to come at 6pm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Posted Nov 21, 2017
Staff was pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean but they could use an update. Overall positive experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hyatt stay

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Over all nice place beautiful views of water rooms need upgrading disappointed restaurant was not open for dinner because it was “ off season “
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Whittier, CA

Disappointed

Posted Nov 10, 2017
Totally disappointed although it is near beach oir experience sucked! We went on a Friday night. Paid about 250 only to have an escalator right outside our room. They were working, banging on pipes til 1230am and again at 6am the following morning. To bad hotel refuse to refund us claiming I have to take it with expedia.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Not as described

Posted Nov 7, 2017
Pros: Proximity to beach.
Cons: Just about everything. See above.
The picture of the room on the site was NOTHING like the room we were given. It had no balcony. The one window looked out at at Motel 6 parking lot. The air conditioner was so loud we had to turn it off (only way to do so was to climb on to the bedside table). The shower curtain was hung so that it naturally slid inward on both edges so there was no way to keep it sealed/closed so bathroom floor got soaked. We were never told about any complimentary breakfast or coffee service. The fact that we "upgraded" to this hotel because we thought it would be a nice treat made it even worse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Nice out of the way hotel

Posted Nov 5, 2017
Pros: Clean, quiet, great location
Location: Wharf is within walking distance, train station within minutes of the hotel, nearly renovated downtown area is nearby.
This hotel is quiet and far enough away from the downtown area to get some good rest. Beach is right across the street. We took the train up from San Diego. From the train station it was a five minute Uber to the hotel. Staff is very friendly and accommodating. We had a beach facing room with balcony. I would stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Louisville, KY

PARKING FEE OUTRAGEOUS

Posted Oct 23, 2017
Pros: Beautiful old hotel, with nice updates. Friendly staff!
Cons: Parking fee of $28/day should be disclosed when booking.
Location: Very close to the wharf, the zoo, and a short drive to the Botanic Gardens, which was beautiful.
What they don't tell you when booking, is that there is a $28/day parking fee! And the fee is the same whether you valet or self-park. Another negative during our stay was that there was road construction taking place all week. When we were trying to enjoy the pool, there was constant noise. I know this isn't the fault of the Hyatt, but it made our overall visit unpleasant. Also, the hot tub was broken for a bit, but was promptly repaired. The staff was pleasant and helpful.