Ratings based on 1,855 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Loved the view as well as the room and the total experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Leandro, CA

Lots of room, lots of people.

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Maintenance.
Location: Within walking distance of beach and State Street restaurants.
Lots of noise all night long. Pool too crowded. Carpets worn. Rooms large. Staff friendly. Wired internet did not work. Wi-Fi required many log-ins. Parking expensive. Mobscene much of the time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

my room was in front of the beach amazing

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: everyting
Cons: what i saw nothing
Location: The pier was a walking distance
The food, the people, the hotel, gardens and everything was perfect i recommend
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Once lovely hotel but needs updating

Posted Aug 9, 2017
Great spot by the beach and a lovely pool. But....Rooms and corridors very tired. Only place we've stayed that didn't offer free wifi, parking was expensive yet plentiful and breakfast far too expensive for a family with kids at $25 a head. Would recommend staying nearer downtown.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Old Hotel

Posted Aug 7, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: everything
the rooms were way outdated and full with mosquitoes , room facilities are very poor . over priced for what you pay , even my kids rated it as 1 star hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland Oregon

Great pool and location

Posted Jul 28, 2017
We had an amazing stay. It felt like a luxurious hotel. Beautiful grounds, lobby, pool and delicious food. We asked for a cot and got a bed on wheels - much nicer than I expected. We rented a surrey from the hotel and were able to walk to the pier, beach and State Street easily. Only complaint was the room smelled a little musty. I know it is humid there but the smell took away from the nice room experience. It did go away when the air conditioner kicked on. Staff was wonderful. We got the free hotel shuttle to and from the airport. Great service! I would definitely go back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marin County, San Francisco

Great value for the location - would return!

Posted Jul 26, 2017
Pros: The vibe and the grounds were very relaxing. Staff were really good without being patronising/ obsequious.
Cons: If the hotel meals were maybe 15% cheaper it would be a 10/10 stay.
Location: Its Santa Barbara! A great base for a Universal Studios / LA day trip, and of course you can walk to the beach form the hotel in your swimsuits!
This hotel was a relatively last minute booking for our family of four who stayed comfortably in a resort facing room. Very impressed with the facilities and grounds for what we would have paid three times as much for in other places.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach

Posted Jul 23, 2017
No wine glasses in our room to enjoy the fine wine. Room service was limited and we eventually gave up waiting for glasses. Very limited pool service and limited towels that required a ticket. Security appeared to be an issue due to the number of homeless drifting into the lobby to use restrooms. No complimentary coffee in the lobby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Decent hotel, great location

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Overall, the hotel was great. Staff was friendly. Checking in was easy and quick. We ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant twice and that was also amazing. My only complaint was that the wing of the hotel I was staying in had a weird smell (it was the small, one story section close to the pool). I thought about requesting to change sections once I arrived but ended up just pushing through as we weren't in the room most of the time. I would stay at the Fess Parker again but would request another building.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Beautiful out front - beyond that - not so much

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: The look from the front... that's all
Cons: Read my above comments
Location: Beautiful and close
The hotel is beautiful upon arrival. It is in a great location for the beach and town. Bellman and valet are nice. Beyond that, I'll never stay there again. Pool was dirty both in the water and around the edges. The bathroom was that of a two star hotel. Shower nozzle needed to be replaced months before we checked in. Paint and floor grout were in disrepair. Even though it was a holiday we still needed to be on line for work... it was all but impossible the entire stay. Connecting to the hotel network was all but impossible, or, if we did connect we were constantly being kicked off the network. If we were lucky to connect for a few minutes we'd have terribly slow data. Phone calls to the front desk and the tech support service yielded little to no help at all. Nice looking from the photos on line. Beautifully situated location. Terrible hotel for the impression given