Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NW Oregon

Beautiful beach, fabulous chef

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Location: ATV rentals. Kite surfing &lessons. Fishing. Cabo Pulmo is an hour drive south where there are several dive, snorkel, whale tour companies.
This place grew on me. Initially I was disappointed that it was nowhere near as "lush, tropical" as the pictures showed, until I realized that all of Baja is desert. It is well designed & maintained, with direct proximity to a great, LONG deserted beach. (During Easter the beach is covered with tents and campers, and at all times there are ATVs) Ones experience here will likely be based upon time of year visited, busier in fishing season. In Feb it is nearly empty, very peaceful, no insects, baby turtles hatching. Most days were good for sunbathing, a few were too windy, but then you can watch the kite surfing. The staff were exceedingly considerate of my elderly mother, and gracious at all times. Food was somewhat limited in choices but unusually well prepared and presented, top flight chef. My bed was hard, my mom said hers was comfortable. The walls are thin, so a different time of year could be noisy. The resort is very good for limited mobility guests, although our room (#49) had a single step up between the beds and the table/entry area (tripping hazard and wheelchair inaccessible). WiFi seemed to be functional only in the restaurant. A few miles north are lots of restaurants, small shops, adequate supermarket. Driving a rental car was easy and safe. We toured some Cabo all-enclusives and decided this little resort is by far better (and cheaper.) Just realize it is 40 years old and adjust expectations. Perfect for us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Eatonville, Wa

Always Great!

Posted Feb 14, 2017
We've stayed here numerous times. The rooms are basically the same. Though they are not fancy, they are clean. The difference between standard and premium rooms are their location to the pool and restaurant. What sets Hotel Buena Vista apart from other resorts is their commitment to their customers and it keeps their clientele coming back. Hotel Buena Vista is where you would want to stay for a relaxing vacation or if you want to experience fishing in Mexico.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel

Posted Jan 15, 2017
In its day it would have been a beautiful place to stay but it is run down. It is kept pretty clean but the beds and bedding are so old that it is hard to get past this. Having said that we are accustomed to different level of accommodation and for a 2-3 star place I'd say it is fine but we are definitely 4-5 star travelers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego ca

Hotel on hot springs!?

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Awesome hotel in a great location. Super mellow away from cabos spring break parties. I definitely loved the pool and hammocks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Families With Children Will Love Buena Vista

Posted Jan 31, 2016 on Hotels
I traveled with my brother to the hotel on the way to La Paz from Cabo San Lucas. The hot tub online looked inviting especially for our muscles that were sore from walking around the uneven streets of Cabo. But alas, the hot tub had turned into a kiddie pool with kids having fun jumping in with inner tubes. The ocean is beautiful, albeit a bit rocky and warmer than the swimming pool. The dining room is a bit too well lit for dinner and the food, although tasty was not piping hot. A good place for family with children more than older adventurers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Quiet family run

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pros: Quiet, friendly staff (and guests), Family and kid friendly.
Cons: Pool area repairs
Beautiful grounds, good service from very friendly and helpful staff. Some areas around the pool needed repair, but I understand this is scheduled to be completed in a few months. Rooms are nice but fairly basic. Wifi worked well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Love the little hotel.

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Kid friendly. Relaxed. Nice grounds. Great pool and hot tub. Nice staff at restaurant and bar.
Cons: keep the hot tub as hot at night as in the day
Location: nothing in Buena Vista except houses and the hotel and wonderful beach. Los Barriles is 5 minutes by car and has lots of restaurants and stores.
Good for family with little kids or people who want a relaxing vacation away from it all. Giving it 4 out of 5 since it's not a luxury hotel. It's an beautiful little hotel from the 50s when fishing was popular so it's not high end finishes, but the grounds are beautifully laid out. The location is great on the beach. The pool is fun with swim up bar and elevated hot tub by the pool which makes it easy to watch kids in the pool while in hot tub. The included breakfast was the best I've ever had at a hotel for an included breakfast.
5 out of 5
by George from Oceanside

Love this place

Posted Dec 17, 2015 on Hotels
The wonderful staff and location of the hotel are what makes this place great. It's not the newest, but my wife and I love the location and are always well looked after. The hotel sits on a hot spring and we love swimming in the ocean out front, digging our feet in the sand, and feeling the hot spring come out. We use the hotel for our home base a couple times a year for adventures in the area... to surf the East Cape, fish, and dive.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mostly pleasant stay

Posted Nov 19, 2015 on Hotels
We have been spending two nights at the Buena Vista Resort for many years. We enjoy the quiet location, friendly staff, and well maintained landscape. The pool is kept very clean and there is a nice mineral pool. This is a dated 70s style place with no television, refrigerators, coffee or microwaves in the rooms. The decor and bathrooms are dated but room price reasonable. There is free wifi in certain areas. The hotel and grounds are kept clean. We have always booked a room that includes breakfast which is from a menu that we like. We also order some drinks and snacks during our stay. The only thing that bothered us this time is that some people who do not stay at the hotel come into the common room in the afternoon where there is a bar, couches and big screen TV and smoke cigarettes and cigars. It makes the room very unappealing to guests. They should be asked to smoke outside because it really ruins the atmosphere. They came in both nights we were there. Some people come to this place for the fishing.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent getaway for our group of 6 friends

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Our group of friends enjoyed relaxing by the pool and on the patios outside of our rooms. Poolside food and service were excellent, ditto for the complimentary breakfast. Accidentally left some valuables behind in one of our rooms and we were notified immediately by management who secured out items in their safe until we can return to retrieve them.