Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Portland OR

Some issues but overall good vacation with toddler

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Grounds and pools were beautiful
Cons: warmer water in the pools, safer kids playground
Location: Great for kite surfers, wind surfers, SUPs.
Overall, I do think it is a great hotel. It is a beautiful place but not quite suited to our situation of family vacation with a 2.5yr old toddler. We were pleased by the size of our room and location - it had beach view and lovely balcony. Unfortunately railing design was not at all toddler friendly which caused concerns as did the fact she could unlock door and escape! Beds are not fantastic as per other reviews. Also - if you are vegetarian like me, ask for a room not overlooking the fishing display arch! Pool and grounds are very beautiful and there is very easy beach access. unfortunately the pool is cold and the beach's sand is painfully course and not good sandcastle material! However, my toddler still enjoyed splashing lots, just not swimming. I loved the swim up bar though and there is also a large Jacuzzi with sea views which makes up for a lot! The kids playground is pretty unsafe, with rusty exposed nails which I let them know about. It is also located in pretty much the most dangerous location with lots of rusty utility covers. However, my daughter still enjoyed the swings and the playhouse - we just had to watch like hawks! The local area is pretty quiet but enough restaurants / bars to keep you happy for a week. If you are a kite surfer or a windsurfer, you will be in heaven here!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from WA

beautiful setting but lacking maintenance

Posted Jan 16, 2016
The location is beautiful and the hotel has great potential. The gym looked like it had never been cleaned and consisted of mostly broken equipment. The young staff and maid service was very good. The breakfast was good but dinner place was very bland and overpriced. They had Pickleball courts painted on the tennis courts but no mention of it on their website and no paddles to use or rent. The beds were ancient and uncomfortable. For the price, it should all be improved upon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice beach front hotel!

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: This property felt like a surfer/fishing resort.
Cons: The rooms are clean and the property is well kept but it is minimal and a little dated. You spend so little time in the rooms it isn't an issue.
Location: We walked down the beach to Vela Sports and got windsurfing lessons from two instructors. Both boys loved the experience!
This was our first visit to Los Barilles and this hotel. We were looking forward to Windsurfing and the wind did not disappoint. It was a little cooler than we expected and with the wind you had to really want to get in to the water. It did not bother our 10 yr olds and it was a quick jog from the beach to the hot tub. The food and staff were excellent. I imagine in the summer and peak season this beach and hotel are the place to be.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An OK hotel in a remote location.

Posted Dec 31, 2015
The town is small and this is the biggest hotel. There's nothing really to do there unless you fish or kite surf.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful area and a great family stay

Posted Dec 25, 2015
Loved the experience. Great staff, very helpful. Quiet area for a wonderful family stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Wendy from South Central California

NOT a $120 /night value, but great property.

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
I arrived to find my room hot, not prepared for my arrival, parking access to my room blocked by employee construction trucks, and the bed extremely hard. Internet did not work in the room, but I was told "reception was excellent in the Lobby Women's rest room". I complained about my room, and was moved to an oversized beach view room with two queen beds, and two single beds. The Queen bed I slept in was extremely comfortable. The hotel pool bar was the only bar open, but the service was adequate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WV

Posted Jun 15, 2015
Great pool, good bar, excellent staff. Beds could use a little work though another in our group stayed in a new room which was much nicer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: Lovely staff. Beautiful, though remote location.
Cons: Be nice if there were hot showers. But cold showers were ok.
Location: This area is for fishermen.
It was a colorful but isolated resort. Mainly for fisherman and people that want to hang out poolside.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas, NV

Nice hotel on the beach. Great food and service.

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: The beautiful pool and view. Also the food and restaurants.
Location: The hotel is located in town and on the beach. Rent a quad to get around. Also go to to Lazy Daze outdoor beach bar and play some volleyball.
We had a wonderful time. Beautiful pool and swim up bar. Great restaurants and service with fabulous food. The hotel staff was very helpful getting us Quad rental to get around town and along the beach. It's a small town and we weren't sure what to expect. It was a pleasant surprise. Also a must to visit just down the beach is a beach bar with volleyball called Lazy Daze!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Paradise and disappointment

Posted Apr 23, 2015 on Hotels
We loved it- the only problem was there was construction by the main area that we would have liked to relax. It's sad to take a family vacation and have great expectations from previous years and then to be treated poorly. No one let us know when we booked it and Eddie the manager was not sympathetic to it and didn't care to accommodate us. Fortunately, Lisette helped us get a room away from the noise- but it was a room that was less money and we couldn't get reimbursed because hotels.com will not help out with that. I think that's the worst part about using hotels.com is that once they have your money they don't care what happens on your stay and the resort cares less about you because you booked it independently. Also, upon arrival, if we had wanted to change our location because of the construction we would have lost all our money thru hotels.com.