Ratings based on 26 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Granite Bay, CA

Perfect, quiet, unique solitude

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Pros: The solitude
Cons: Breakfast meals were very small.
Location: Long walks on beach, abundant sea shells
Loved the solitude! Employees were all great. Clean rooms, neatly kept grounds, views were awesome, and the night sky and stars probably the best I have ever seen. Not many places where the stars are eye level.
4 out of 5
by Cindy

Loved it!!!

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Quiet, secluded and oooohhhh so peaceful! The service was over and above what we could have hoped for. We can't wait to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth meeting pa

Beautiful location with breathtaking views

Posted Mar 10, 2016
We were a little nervous booking this off the beaten path hotel. Almost all the reviews we read were overwhelming positive but with only 24 rooms and 10 miles of curving dirt roads to the closest town "how good could it be". Well we were not in the least bit disappointed by anything. Despite booking a standard room we were given a premium room for our 11 night stay. There were very few other guests in the hotel and the staff catered to us as if they were our private concierge staff. Especially Alberto who was always willing to go out of his way and never failed to have a big smile. The food was good and very fairly priced but there were very limited diner entrée selections which was understandable given the number of guests. No night life to speak of - we were looking for a quiet serene place and this hotel was perfect for these things. If you choose to drive to this hotel from the airport I strongly recommend a four wheel drive vehicle and don't attempt the drive in the dark. The road for the final 10 travel miles is very rustic (packed earth/stones, huge grade changes and numerous pot holes). However once arriving you will be glad you made the effort..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

A wonderful getaway.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
The location of this place makes it unforgettable. The views are breathtaking, the snorkeling was incredible, and the beach was perfect. If you like tranquility then this is what you are looking for. As soon as we arrived, we knew we'd want to return again, and I'm never one to travel to the same place twice! The food served from the hotel was average, the drinks were good. The road from Los Barriles was a rough gravel road, we had a small rental car and made it fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Quiet, remote, lovely

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Old Mexico charm with new Mexico amenities! We fell in love with the place. Staff is friendly. Service is slow but hey who is in a rush? We plan to come back and stay longer😊 Bring a few snacks and a six pack! The meals are good. What more do you need? Oh, a good book!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No hot water

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Million dollar view but no hot water and was not fixed after we informed them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LA

Secluded hotel on the cliff overlooking coral reef

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location. Old school Mexican charm.
Great place for quite getaway. Staff were excellent and helpful at every need. The drive to hotel is on a dirt road. We made with little difficulty in small rental car. Snorkeling is first rate and literally right out you hotel room door. The food was good, you don't need to leave the property. A great relaxing trip after 4 night in Cabo.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Calgary

Jewel on the Sea of Cortez

Posted Nov 16, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location, quality food and service well above average. Rooms very nice spacious great views and all the things you'ed expect from a great place. Access via the paved road at the split is way cool and easier to drive (15km dirt road vs 5km) no 4 wheeling required! Wifi available ONLY close to reception which was fine. Meals staff location all very good and will stay here again for an extended stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort in a beautiful setting.

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Gorgeous location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Having someone contact me to confirm we were coming. My flight was delayed due to weather.
I was there for a family medical emergency and not on vacation so unable to enjoy the amenities. The location was beautiful but challenging to get to. A local person had to escort us up a dirt road during the night in order to find it. Expedia app did not help us with directions. GPS did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

For the 1 percenters!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location and staff are great!
As others have written, you need a suv for ground clearance to reach the hotel. We rented a 4x4 Jeep and had no issues. This hotel is off the beaten path with nice amenities and a great staff. We were there the second week in August and had the hotel almost exclusively to ourselves, which we really enjoyed. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We were able to snorkel, use the kayaks, walk the beach, swim, and relax under the palapa shades. They also have 4 wheelers that you can rent, but due to the heat, we decided not to. If you want a nice slow paced, relaxing vacation, then I highly recommend this hotel.