Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from plymouth meeting pa

Beautiful location with breathtaking views

Posted Mar 10, 2016
We were a little nervous booking this off the beaten path hotel. Almost all the reviews we read were overwhelming positive but with only 24 rooms and 10 miles of curving dirt roads to the closest town "how good could it be". Well we were not in the least bit disappointed by anything. Despite booking a standard room we were given a premium room for our 11 night stay. There were very few other guests in the hotel and the staff catered to us as if they were our private concierge staff. Especially Alberto who was always willing to go out of his way and never failed to have a big smile. The food was good and very fairly priced but there were very limited diner entrée selections which was understandable given the number of guests. No night life to speak of - we were looking for a quiet serene place and this hotel was perfect for these things. If you choose to drive to this hotel from the airport I strongly recommend a four wheel drive vehicle and don't attempt the drive in the dark. The road for the final 10 travel miles is very rustic (packed earth/stones, huge grade changes and numerous pot holes). However once arriving you will be glad you made the effort..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Idaho

A wonderful getaway.

Posted Mar 9, 2016
The location of this place makes it unforgettable. The views are breathtaking, the snorkeling was incredible, and the beach was perfect. If you like tranquility then this is what you are looking for. As soon as we arrived, we knew we'd want to return again, and I'm never one to travel to the same place twice! The food served from the hotel was average, the drinks were good. The road from Los Barriles was a rough gravel road, we had a small rental car and made it fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Quiet, remote, lovely

Posted Feb 18, 2016
Old Mexico charm with new Mexico amenities! We fell in love with the place. Staff is friendly. Service is slow but hey who is in a rush? We plan to come back and stay longer😊 Bring a few snacks and a six pack! The meals are good. What more do you need? Oh, a good book!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from LA

Secluded hotel on the cliff overlooking coral reef

Posted Nov 27, 2015
Pros: Beautiful location. Old school Mexican charm.
Great place for quite getaway. Staff were excellent and helpful at every need. The drive to hotel is on a dirt road. We made with little difficulty in small rental car. Snorkeling is first rate and literally right out you hotel room door. The food was good, you don't need to leave the property. A great relaxing trip after 4 night in Cabo.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort in a beautiful setting.

Posted Sep 26, 2015
Pros: Gorgeous location. Friendly staff.
Cons: Having someone contact me to confirm we were coming. My flight was delayed due to weather.
I was there for a family medical emergency and not on vacation so unable to enjoy the amenities. The location was beautiful but challenging to get to. A local person had to escort us up a dirt road during the night in order to find it. Expedia app did not help us with directions. GPS did not work.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Houston

For the 1 percenters!

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Pros: Location and staff are great!
As others have written, you need a suv for ground clearance to reach the hotel. We rented a 4x4 Jeep and had no issues. This hotel is off the beaten path with nice amenities and a great staff. We were there the second week in August and had the hotel almost exclusively to ourselves, which we really enjoyed. Everything was very clean and well maintained. We were able to snorkel, use the kayaks, walk the beach, swim, and relax under the palapa shades. They also have 4 wheelers that you can rent, but due to the heat, we decided not to. If you want a nice slow paced, relaxing vacation, then I highly recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from b

Remote boutique resort

Posted Jul 15, 2015
After we arrived on a very rocky dirt road the end result was amazing. We were greeted by an english speaking young lady who helped us. We had beautiful room, ocean view, amazing bed/linens and coconut candle and incense. Food was good with many options for dining. Hotel Dotson a private bay easily accessible from stairs on propert.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Awesome, for those seek magical experience

Posted Jun 25, 2015
Pros: Location, layout, access to beach, staff, peacefulness
Cons: Very important the road there is dirt, I drove there in a VW Jetta with no problem. Just chill and take some of the hills slowly. I recommend an SUV.
First the views, remote location and experience is awesome. Walking out of the hotel room on to the beach is wonderful. The beach is a coarse coral sand; sandals/water shoes are a must. Being there is better than the pictures. The staff was all extremely helpful and accommodating. All of the meals we had were delicious topped with a 270 panoramic view of the water, beach and mountains; just stunning. The afterglow of sunset, magical. My wife would rate the fish tacos at lunch as best ever! All of the meals we had were with fresh fish, so cannot speak to other proteins. Meals are priced at typical American prices, head into Los Barriles for a cheaper selection, 30 minute drive. There is a local mini-mart for cheaper beer. Do these things for the adventure of it and not cost saving… You just spent ~700/person to get there… Highly recommend adjusting the mental time to start the day with sunrise and long siesta mid-day. We did a mix of things, snorkeling, kayaking, rode quads, long walks, sea shell hunting, relaxing to the rhythm of the waves, star gazing at night… mixed in with romance Bring plenty of sunscreen, minor first aid kit with Bacitracin, Neosporin, and bandages of various size. There are Aloe Vera plants on the property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

STAFF AND ROAD

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Cons: THE ROAD
Location: NOT MUCH
EVERY ONE WAS GREAT,COURTEOUS, AND POLITE. , RESORT IS BEAUTIFUL, SUGGEST IF USING A RENTAL CAR GET A HIGH AXEL VEHICLE OR PAY THE HOTEL TO PICK YOU UP. ONCE THERE BASICALLY YOU ARE THERE UNLESS YOU ARE ADVENTUROUS ON THE ROAD TO LOS BARRILES. GOOD ATV AREA. FISHING IS A BIT MORE EXPENSIVE. OVERALL FOR THOSE WHO WANT AN EXCEPTIONALLY NICE PLACE AND VIEW AND RELAXATION THIS IS THE PLACE. YOU CAN ALSO FLY IN.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remote, deserted and run on a skeleton staff

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Rooms were comfortable
Cons: Food, internet
My second time at the hotel. It's in the middle of nowhere, which can be nice. The location is very nice, but there are many many great locations in Baja. The two big disappointments this time were the food and the internet connection. Internet was pretty unusable unless you sat by reception and even then it was very spotty. The food was overpriced and the 'catch of the day' was frozen from a packet. Neither the shrimp nor the fish were fresh - this from a hotel called Pescadero - give me a break!