Ratings based on 58 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Virginia, USA

Loved the Vida Soul

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Pros: The design and construction is different than your normal hotel. All concrete, but not industrial feeling. Very comfortable. The bed was excellent..
Cons: Nothing.
Location: The location, well off the beaten path, is refreshing and relaxing. Quiet beach, with lots of good shells. Thirty minutes from great snorkeling.
Great little hotel away from the rush of life. Cool rooms, good food, attentive staff, great location.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay in a pinch

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel wouldn't be my first choice in this area. Villa del Faro was much more comfortable. While the staff were sincere in their efforts to be helpful, the infrastructure was working against them. The room we had, directly above the restaurant, was too loud to be enjoyable. We could hear all conversations in the restaurant below.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Shangri la in Cabo

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: VIDASOUL is a rare eco-friendly gem on the beach. Lovely, clean and modern rooms. I nice wading pool, to cool off. And, an excellent restaurant.
Cons: VIDASOUL is slightly understaffed. Perhaps a concierge or office manager? Less confusion and more executive diligence would add to the comfort.
Location: VIDASOUL is on the beach and away from the worries of the world. But, Cabo Pulmo - San Jose Viejo - San Jose del Cabo - Cabo San Lucas - all close.
Like Shangri La, VIDASOUL is a hidden paradise. And like Shangri La, the journey there can be long and arduous but the rewards... well, you may never want to return to the real world again. VIDASOUL is everything you would imagine an escape should be. Go! Located steps away from a completely isolated beach, yet only a short distance from Cabo Pulmo snorkeling, scuba and fishing. San Jose Viejo and San Jose de Cabo are short drives and always fun. VIDASOUL is an eco-friendly hotel using solar energy and bio friendly waste technology. And that is something I greatly appreciate. The spectacular, clean beach at VIDASOUL extends for kilometers in either direction and can take days to explore. There are small boats, paddle boards and surf boards available for guest use. Also, bikes are available to explore the back country leading to the hotel. The Crossroads Restaurant at VIDASOUL is fantastic! Authentic Mexican cooking and just delicious; every bite. I was visiting VIDASOUL during the Christmas holiday and the holiday inspired cuisine at The Crossroads was just outstanding - delicious grilled lamb chops, prime rib, fresh catch of the day, everything amazing! VIDASOUL does take some effort to get to, but it is so worth the trip. I flew into La Paz, rented a car and made the three and half hour drive. Although it was a beautiful easy drive, I would recommend flying into San Jose Viejo. And be prepared - the last 25+ kilometers to the hotel are rough dirt road. Enjoy!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2017 by vinoramamama, Hotel Management
Thanks Kelly. We are working on that understaffed issue. We are looking for a very special front desk person now as you are correct, we are short handed.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Frankie from Lots Angeles

Retreat in Baja

Posted Jun 22, 2016 on Hotels
It's modern comfort and good food in Baja primitive enviroment
5 out of 5
by Lyndy from Portland

Romantic quiet hotel. Great for couple

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful crashing waves, beachfront modern hotel. Romantic for a Couple or anyone needing some time away from the hustle and bustle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2016 on Hotels
This would be a great place for a romantic weekend , very quiet and relaxing. Snorkeling 30 min away at Los Arbolitos beach. Nowhere else to eat nearby so with meals and taxes plan for over $250 per day for 2 people.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review.
1 out of 5
by Brenda from Canada

Scam

Posted Feb 23, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is not in the area where noted on hotels.com. The hotel is so far away from the downtown marina area that we were not even able to go. The cab would of been over $700 US dollars return. We didn't even go and are still waiting to hear from you people about a refund. It is located down a very poor condition road where you can't drive more than 15 miles per hour. Very disappointed with this.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 21, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
This guest never stayed at the hotel. She found out where it was and decided to cancel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Quiet and comfy

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Beds Design Location
Cons: Vary the seating Pool area smell
Location: With a pretty quick drive you can be at a great snorkeling beach.
Positives; Had the place to ourselves mid January. Hotel was clean, beds were comfy, rooms and hotel were quiet, beach was close-50 steps away close. Location VERY remote but COMPLETELY accessible sssshhhhhh DON'T TELL anybody hehehehe. Negatives: Hard to use the pool with the sulfur smell and to be perfectly honest, water was probably too cold (Ocean was warmer) Would be really nice to have comfy seating in rooms and spread over the hotel. The modern seating is suitable but I was looking for a place to lounge with some more comfort. Food was tasty but became repetitive
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
Sorry about the sulfur smell, we are required to have a black water reclamation system and every once in a while there can be a whiff from the reclaimed water, when the wind is going in a bad direction. This situation has been addressed.
4 out of 5
by Michael from Austin

Posted Jan 7, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel has great potential, only because it's not finished. Very comfortable beds, excellent views but just ok customer service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2016 by GM, Hotel Management
The hotel itself is finished and there isn't any construction at this time.