Ratings based on 602 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice room

Posted Nov 2, 2016
Pros: The room was very nice. Got $10 at casino for signing up for my choice and ended up cashing out at $20 when trying to quickly use the credits...
Cons: The food buffet was reasonable - $20... (won at the casino) I had the buffet and while there was a lot of food, it was buffet food... some good items if you look around, but not my style of food. Not a gambler at all so it suited me for a business trip but the casino atmosphere wasn't for me overall.
Location: Nothing real close... the area around it was a rough mix of industrial and older housing... It is a casino and that is what is there.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear James, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hotel room and that you experienced some luck on the casino floor. We will also be sure to share your feedback regarding the food quality at our buffet with our food and beverage team for review. Thank you again for sharing your review with us, and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kindly, Ameristar East Chicago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton Township, États-Unis d'Amérique

1/2 hr drive from downtown Chicago

Posted Nov 1, 2016
This rating is low because I reserved a suite for FOUR guests. The following day, I called the hotel, confirmed reservation w/desk mgr - after - I received the confirmation email. When we arrived, we were put in a standard room. When I provided the email, plus the name of the desk manager of whom I spoke to, the front desk on staff did nothing to accommodate original reservation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are disappointed to hear about your experience regarding your reservation. We strive to provide outstanding guest service in all departments, and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We have shared your feedback with our leadership to ensure a better guest experience in the future, and we hope we have the opportunity to host you again. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Loved the hotel, very clean and updated too. There was many food areas to choose from. Pizza, burgers, sea food, steak, pasta, chicken wings, and etc... I do wish they had a convenient store. If i could change something, it would be the area it's in. It's around a lot of factories and a boat port.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us. We are happy to hear that you had a great time during your stay and that you especially enjoyed the hotel and our dining options. We have shared your compliments with all appropriate departments, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Ameristar East Chicago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Clinton Township, United States of America

Very Disappointing

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Cons: Non-smoking floors and non-smoking rooms, STILL smell/smelled of smoke.
Location: Half hour drive to downtown Chicago (IL)
Booked online for FOUR adults and confirmed with hotel - same day! Desk Manager pleasantly confirmed everything! (I printed out reservation and email correspondence) At check-in, reservation was changed w/out permission, to accommodate only two adults; NOT four as originally reserved and confirmed. I presented the reservation and email, they wouldn't correct anything because they were "sold out" They Hotel had an incorrect address on file which was perplexing because the reservation and email did not. Valet took WAY too long to take the keys and give us a ticket. Only one Bellman was on staff, bags took WAY too long to come up to the room. Confirmed charges at check-out, next day "extra charges" appeared on credit card.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Lisa, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We pride ourselves with exceptional customer service, and we sincerely apologize that we did not achieve this during your stay. We have forwarded your comments regarding your reservation, valet service, and bell service to our hotel leadership for review and thank you once again for being our guest. Respectfully, Ameristar East Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

KA East Chicago

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Great Value. Off the Beaten track but well taken care of. Good amenities. Restaurants in the hotel are good (not great). Desperately needs a cafe!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Ken - We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind comments with us, and we are pleased to see that you enjoyed the amenities and restaurants for the value. We have forwarded your feedback to all appropriate departments, and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Best Hotel

Posted Oct 21, 2016
I loved everything about the hotel and my boyfriend and I got to sleep very comfortably.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Jennifer, thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had an amazing visit and that you loved everything about the hotel. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed a wonderful night of sleep during your stay. We have shared your compliments with our hotel leadership, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Denver

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Location: I loved spending time at Indiana Dunes, a short ride from the facility.
I arrived with a service dog, and they asked for registration papers, a violation of 2011 ADA. I searched everywhere for a check-out time, and it wasn't posted. I called front desk for late check-out, and they didn't indicate what the time would be. A few minutes before I was ready to leave my room, housekeeping, in spite of the "Do Not Disturb" sign, opened the door, startling me and my dog. A few moments later, I got a call from front desk asking if I was extending my stay. Only then did they indicate that late-check-out time was 8 minutes before housekeeping had entered the room. The facility was rough around the edges with peeling wallpaper and worn carpet. Pity, because the bathroom, usually the first area to show wear, was wonderfully luxurious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Roberta, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the Indiana Dunes and that you also enjoyed the bathroom in your room. Please know that we have shared your experience regarding your service dog and housekeeping with our hotel leadership to ensure a better experience in the future. We take this very seriously, and we do hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future. Respectfully, Ameristar East Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Numerous Problems, Management VERY Responsive

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Location: We were there to visit with our family and relax, and Ameristar Casino was convenient in its location and proximity to our activities.
We chose this hotel as in our travels, we have found that generally, casinos have beautiful accommodations and superb service--and the facility was indeed gorgeous. However, check-in was lack luster--our desk clerk was not very welcoming. Our initial impression of the room was very good (beautifully decorated and spacious!)--until we saw the bedside lamp--whose shade looked like it was punched in. We reported this, so we would not be charged for damage. Then we found that we could not easily access the cold water in the bathroom sink as the handle was extremely hard to turn. The next day, while I was brushing my teeth, I could not help but notice that the two lighting fixtures above the sink were covered with dust. Made a call to management and they IMMEDIATELY responded and sent up a crew of people to assess the situation. We were leaving for the evening and all these repairs had to be made while we were trying to get ready. I had asked housekeeping if our hotel room could be cleaned while we were gone--and they assured us that this would be done. Upon return (3 hours later), it had not been touched. Thus, we had to wait while a member of housekeeping cleaned the room--instead of being able to climb into bed and relax. Disappointing--but management was very responsive to our concerns and took immediate action.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Kiki, thank you for taking the time to detail your experience. We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our convenient location to your activities during your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering five-star service in all aspects of the guest experience, and we are disappointed to hear about the cleanliness of your hotel room along with the service from the front desk. We are pleased to hear that our management was responsive and accommodating in handling these issues, and we have also forwarded your comments to all appropriate departments. We do hope we have the chance to welcome you back again as our guest. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
The food was terrible the worst hamburger an nachos
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We strive to provide five-star service in all aspects of our business, and we are disappointed to see that we did not achieve this during your stay. We have forwarded your comments about the hamburger and nachos to our food and beverage team to ensure a better guest experience in the future, and we do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Respectfully, Ameristar East Chicago.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience. Will return in the future.

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Staff was extremely friendly. Rooms were beautiful and buffet was delicious. I definitely will go back and recommend to friends and family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your glowing review with us. We are very happy to know that you had a wonderful hotel stay and that you thought your room was beautiful. We're also pleased to hear that your meal at the buffet was delicious. Thank you again for your visit and your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back as our guest. Kindly, Ameristar East Chicago.