Ratings based on 669 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 15, 2017
The room was comfortable but the bathroom was fairly dirty and it didn't look like the room had been vaccumed in quite a while.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No nonsmoking

Posted May 15, 2017
Booked a room, requested nonsmoking, none left. They were out of nonsmoking early in the day. Seems like this happens all the time. Room was almost untolerable. Asked housekeeping to spray the room to deodorize, they never showed up. OK, I realize it is a casino, but elevators, lobby, room, and all public areas stunk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 11, 2017
Room walls are very thin. Can hear the conversation of the people next to you. Beds are very hard. Rest if the place is awesome. Big rooms, very nice bathrooms, like a big suite.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago., Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed staying in our hotel and that you liked the size of our hotel rooms. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Our room was very nice just needed cleaned a little better. Something had been spilled on coffee table from previous visit and was very obvious and also dusty along with other things in room. All staff were very helpful and extremely nice. Hotel was great only thing that would make it better would be a pool/hot tub! I like the restaurant choices felt like we had plenty options of food and was nice being right there on site. Casino was nice. Like the fact valet was included in our stay for free. Wish I could remember the girls name who checked us in cause I would give her some good critiques! She was more then helpful and made us feel welcome. I loved the deep tub in our room, also shower had great water pressure. Much better then any other hotel I've stayed in. We had a very nice little weekend get away and I'm pleased I chose to stay at Ameristar!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to detail your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you had an amazing visit and that you enjoyed your hotel room and our dining options. We are also happy to hear that the service from our team made your experience even more special, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from east chicago

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Nice Hotel but the walls are super thin I was playing my Bluetooth speaker and someone called the security I didn't like that as much suppose to enjoy your self not being bothered buy bitter people who don't no how to enjoy life
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 20, 2017 by Ameristar Casino Hotel East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Marquis - Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your hotel stay with us, and we will be sure to pass your feedback regarding the walls to the most appropriate department. We hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Note the location b4 booking

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
We booked this as a late night stop on our way home from Chicago. My husband was excited when he realized it was at a casino but after a quick visit into the casino we knew we were going to spend the entire time in our room. My rating is based solely on the room and the hotel's location. The room was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. The location and area is exactly what we expected for the address. As long as you are aware of your surroundings and only plan to use this as a sleepover it is a perfectly nice hotel. I wouldn't be in the area any longer than I needed to be tho and I am not generally particular about my neighborhoods... I also would not feel comfortable taking my kids or staying longer than over night. Next time we will pay a little extra for a different neighborhood and not as nice a room. We did feel safe in the room as a room key was required to use the elevator but we barely saw any staff anywhere except in the casino and had to wait for the front desk associate to show up to check us in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your hotel room and thought it was beautiful, comfortable, and spacious. We will be sure to share your compliments regarding your room with our hotel leadership, and we do hope that we have the chance to host you again in the future. Sincerely, Ameristar East Chicago.
5 out of 5
by Nanette

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent Accomodations
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Nanette - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are thrilled to see that you had an amazing time and that you thought the accommodations were excellent. We look forward to hosting you again in the future. Kindly, Ameristar East Chicago.
5 out of 5
by Shawn

Posted Feb 14, 2017 on Hotels
My wife and I had a great time at this hotel! Nice on the inside and friendly service!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 1, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Shawn - Thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We are very pleased to hear that you and your wife had a great time during your hotel stay. We are also happy to hear that you especially enjoyed the service from our team members, and we will be sure to share your compliments with the appropriate department. Thank you again, and we hope to welcome you both back again soon. Kind Regards, Ameristar East Chicago.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Will not return in the future. Will be stay at other casinos that area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Hello, and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are disappointed to hear that your experience was less than perfect. We pride ourselves on delivering exceptional guest service in all areas, and we are sorry that we did not achieve this during your stay. Please know that we value your feedback and have shared your review with our leadership for review, and we do hope that we have the opportunity to see you again in the future. Respectfully, Ameristar East Chicago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Frankfort, IN

Nice hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Convenience to casino
Would like to see extra toiletries in the restroom. We had a great stay! We will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Ameristar East Chicago, Hotel Management
Dear Holly - Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments with us. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great hotel stay and that you especially enjoyed the convenient access to the casino. We have also shared your suggestion about the toiletries with our hotel leadership, and we look forward to hosting you again in the future. Sincerely, Ameristar East Chicago.